1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Support Froyo Bugs and Questions - Post em Here

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Trident, Aug 1, 2010.

  1. Trident

    Trident Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    333
    Posts:
    3,035
    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010

    Jan 20, 2010
    3,035
    2,307
    333
    I wear many hats
    Virginia Beach, VA
    Post any bugs or questions you have pertaining to the 2.2 Froyo update for the HTC Desire here.
     

    Advertisement

  2. haris9

    haris9 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    52
    Joined:
    May 30, 2010

    May 30, 2010
    52
    5
    16
    no restore option in froyo. how would we back up our data? that is very strange in froyo.
     
  3. anoniemouse

    anoniemouse Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    153
    Posts:
    1,514
    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2010

    Jul 3, 2010
    1,514
    237
    153
    Button Moon
    If you have a card reader copy the contents of your sd card to your pc/laptop, format your sd card then copy the contents back & put it back in your phone.
    see if that fixes the sd card problem.
    For the other problems check through your settings make sure they seem correct.
    Was your phone previously a branded handset if so Did you do the update with a goldcard in the phone
     
  4. m0J03

    m0J03 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    41
    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2010

    Jul 31, 2010
    41
    5
    36
    Security Operative
    London
    i've got a similar problem;

    tried putting o2 settings on my phone today, was applying the settings, just as i'd filled in the last entry, the force close box popped up : the application Settings has stopped unexpectedly.

    restarted the phone hasn't done anything, took settings off the kill list, didnt make a difference. anyone have a clue?
     
  5. stonethrower

    stonethrower Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    24
    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2010

    Jun 2, 2010
    24
    0
    15
    I'm unable to connect to the internet if I don't have a wifi connection
     
  6. NuGuy

    NuGuy Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010

    Jun 6, 2010
    7
    0
    5
  7. stonethrower

    stonethrower Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    24
    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2010

    Jun 2, 2010
    24
    0
    15
  8. weegie1979

    weegie1979 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2010

    Aug 1, 2010
    4
    0
    5
    nope mine was unbranded from carphone warehouse i dont have the formatt sd card option on my phone as it says i dont have a sd card installed only option i have is reset to factory settings which i have already done i can access my photos on the sd card on my pc but non of the other files and i also cant download back to 2.1 as the phone dont recognize my sim anymore so i cant get a wifi signal taking it back to the shop today to get it repaired on warrenty so hopefully i will find out then whats went wrong with it:-(
     
  9. omniscian

    omniscian Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    11
    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2010

    Jun 28, 2010
    11
    0
    15
    I had this problem last night. I'm on an Orange handset that has been unlocked and debranded. I got the OTA update, downloaded and installed. First thing that happened is that it would restart, show a white HTC background and a counter would start from 0%, get to 100% then the phone would restart and repeat. I did a wipe/reset on it and it would then turn on, say I was on 2.2 but I couldn't use any of the phone functions, I would constantly get "Force Close/Wait" messages and my WiFi would not turn on as well as no signal or mobile Internet.

    To fix it I had to wipe my phone completely, format my SD card and put a stock 2.1 Android ROM back on my phone. After this, I upgraded straight to 2.2 and everything worked a treat. It was a pain but it's all sorted now and I'm back up and running on 2.2.

    If you need anymore help on how I fixed it, gimme a shout :)
     
  10. paulcooper

    paulcooper Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    266
    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2010

    Apr 19, 2010
    266
    9
    36
    Can anyone give me help on replaceing the T-mobile UK Desire Rom so that I can install the new 2.2 version please?

    Ideally from someone in the UK who has done a UK desire please?

    My current version is

    Firmware Version
    2.1-update 1

    Baseband Version
    32.30.00.28U_4.05.00.11

    Kernel Version
    2.6.29-3cb3dfdf
    htc-kernel@and18-2#1

    Build Number
    1.15.110.11 CL155070 release keys

    Software number
    1.15.110.11

    Browser Version
    webkit 3.1
     
  11. NuGuy

    NuGuy Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010

    Jun 6, 2010
    7
    0
    5
    Hi

    Can you expand on this? which Rom did you use to flash back to 2.1? links would be great and which way did you upgrade to 2.2? OTA from the phone or via PC Rom Flash?

    NuGuy
     
  12. czechplastik

    czechplastik Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    343
    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2010

    Apr 25, 2010
    343
    42
    63
    Belfast, Northern Ireland
    Not a bug but I've seen people mention it and probably helpful to post it here:

    Screen lock pattern not appearing every time:

    New setting under settings>security lets you decide whether the screen lock pattern appears, everytime, after 1 min, after 5 mins and so on and so on.
     
    oatikodi likes this.
  13. ktradx

    ktradx Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    40
    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2010

    Jun 3, 2010
    40
    1
    16
    i've not noticed anything yet other than it being much smoother!!!
     
  14. Fatwaz

    Fatwaz Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    100
    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010

    Jun 30, 2010
    100
    13
    38
    The only one I've had is some of my music now won't be recognised cos they're wma files.these worked before the update but now they are "unknown artists" and the album art won't show
     
  15. Baz8755

    Baz8755 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    128
    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2010

    Jul 13, 2010
    128
    7
    36
    Senior Analyst/Programmer
    South Coast UK
    POP3 in retrieval HTC mail now seems broken.

    Prior to upgrade yesterday I was using POP3 to retrieve Gmail and it would quite happily show list of emails. I could then either refresh or come out of the application and back in without loosing them.

    Today however the mail application will happily show the emails but if you click refresh or come out and go back in it will delete all the emails.

    Have now switched to using IMAP for the time being
     
  16. Marsh

    Marsh Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2010

    Jul 31, 2010
    8
    0
    5
    Hi,
    Same for me, compounded by the fact that if I try and download new albums in either wma or MP3 format, I get the message that the music format is not recognised and can not be played.....AAAAGH!
    Marsh
     
  17. Smokinjoe18

    Smokinjoe18 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    30
    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010

    Apr 13, 2010
    30
    2
    16
    Found after i updated to FroYo my signal is weaker and hangs on H/3G with no bars and no internet connection. Flash on websites including games is very laggy and freezes sometimes.
     
  18. Supermat

    Supermat Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2010

    Aug 2, 2010
    2
    0
    5
    Hi Guys, i rooted my 02 htc desire so i can download the froyo 2.2 update. I can Download the update fine when i check for it on my phone, but my phone wont let me install the update, it comes up with a red question mark, does anybody know whats wrong?
    Any help appreciated.
     
  19. rw119

    rw119 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2010

    Aug 2, 2010
    1
    0
    5
    I have had the same problem on an new unbranded unlocked HTC Desire A8181 purchased from Australia's Mobicity.

    The phone arrived yesterday. I accepted the over-the-air update to Froyo about an hour after switching the new phone. Since then, it's been stuck in a constant re-boot cycle (every few minutes), with the "process system is not responding" error, and no wireless functions.

    I have no desire to mess around with flashing the rom manually, so will have to send the phone back. Not sure if I want another one after this. :-(
     
  20. Gav400

    Gav400 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    108
    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2010

    Mar 21, 2010
    108
    9
    36
    I noticed this to turned off enable java and things have speeded up.
     
  21. NuGuy

    NuGuy Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010

    Jun 6, 2010
    7
    0
    5
    Hey ppl!!


    Manage to fix my Desire, Running 2.2 Perfectly!

    this is what i did (beware ppl do it at your own risk, first back up your contacts msg etc) this is for ppl who got; Orange (UK) Branded Desire who then had it Debranded and Unlocked.

    you'll need a Goldcard, if you still got the One you made when debranding the frist time around, helps save time, if not there’s many guide out there on how to create one.

    Then you need a 2.1 Rom; the one i used is called....(again google it.. ill get link later)
    RUU_Bravo_HTC_WWE_1.21.405.2_Radio_32.36.00.28U_4.06.00.02_2_release_126984_signed

    Flash your Desire with above Rom & with the goldcard in, when 2.1 is up and running go to Setting > About Phone > System Software Update. check for update, you should get a message saying update is available, Now update.

    Once android Done downloading and updating it'll reboot couple of times, once finished you get a message saying you successfully updated to 2.2.


    -NuGuy
     
  22. paulcooper

    paulcooper Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    266
    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2010

    Apr 19, 2010
    266
    9
    36
    I am now running version 2.09.405.8 and there are no more update for my desire.
    How do I get 2.2 on it now?
     
  23. paulcooper

    paulcooper Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    266
    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2010

    Apr 19, 2010
    266
    9
    36
  24. Jth8s

    Jth8s Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2010

    Aug 2, 2010
    1
    0
    5
    Hi Guys,

    It seems that my push mail doesn't work anymore with the Froyo update. I have also noticed that my signal strength is now fluctuating like mad.

    I have auto sync set up for my gmail accounts, but now I have to enter the email app and manually retrieve the mails. Does anyone have a solution for this or need any further information to get this to work?

    Cheers,
    JT
     
  25. thorgoth

    thorgoth Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    39
    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009

    Nov 16, 2009
    39
    1
    16
    Greece
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...