1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Froyo on o2 with mac?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by torred, Aug 21, 2010.

  1. torred

    torred Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2010

    Aug 21, 2010
    4
    0
    5
    Its probably already on here , but i'm new to the forum. I have got an o2 branded htc desire and want to put the froyo 2.2 update on it. I am a mac use and every way i have seen so far is for pc users.

    Has anyone come across a possiblity for this for mac users.

    Thanks in advance.
     

    Advertisement

  2. Yenzehn

    Yenzehn Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    262
    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010

    Mar 1, 2010
    262
    58
    53
    You will have to wait for O2 to release their *branded and tested* version of 2.2, or debrand the phone to receive the official update.

    It is not as much a issue with your having a mac as the update will likely be pushed OTA.
     
  3. Jammy

    Jammy Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    972
    Joined:
    May 29, 2010

    May 29, 2010
    972
    174
    113
    United Kingdom
    Hit the link in my sig :D

    I rooted & flashed a froyo ROM onto my O2 branded Desire on a Mac this way :)
     
  4. torred

    torred Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2010

    Aug 21, 2010
    4
    0
    5
    Thanks Jammy,

    I have followed the instructions but it says it cant open the sd zip file when i try to install it from the root menu. Is there anyway of debranding the handset?
     
  5. Jammy

    Jammy Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    972
    Joined:
    May 29, 2010

    May 29, 2010
    972
    174
    113
    United Kingdom
    "Select “install zip from sdcard > choose zip from sdcard > [radionumber].zip > yes” This should only take a couple of seconds. Apply this zip.

    Select “install zip from sdcard > choose zip from sdcard > [rom].zip > yes” This one will take a good while. Apply this too."


    Odd.. are you sure you did it exactly as the guide said?
     
  6. torred

    torred Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2010

    Aug 21, 2010
    4
    0
    5
    its when i do these parts it says it cant open it and operation aborted.

    Select “install zip from sdcard > choose zip from sdcard > [radionumber].zip > yes” This should only take a couple of seconds. Apply this zip.

    Select “install zip from sdcard > choose zip from sdcard > [rom].zip > yes” This one will take a good while. Apply this too."

    I have a feeling that they are not zip files on my mac. Did you choose htc sense or nexus versions?
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...