1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Froyo: Silent/Vibrate mode

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by usagi san, Aug 3, 2010.

  1. usagi san

    usagi san Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2010

    Jul 21, 2010
    8
    0
    5
    So here I am, wondering if I'm missing something.

    Seems like froyo broke the option to have a ring mode, silent mode, AND a vibrate mode separately?

    Personally, I'd like to be able to be notified discretely in social situations without having the ring on, BUT also the convenience of being able to turn everything off with a quick swipe. The vibrate is pretty dang loud.

    Anyone else feel that froyo left them out in the cold?
     

    Advertisement

  2. Papadroid

    Papadroid Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    1,139
    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010

    Jan 21, 2010
    1,139
    281
    183
    Tampa, FL
    This is something that people have been complaining about for a while now. The best solution is to get a ring/vibrate/silent widget from the market.
     
    usagi san likes this.
  3. usagi san

    usagi san Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2010

    Jul 21, 2010
    8
    0
    5
    :O they exist?

    Thanks!
     
  4. johnlgalt

    johnlgalt Antidisestablishmentarian
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    453
    Posts:
    9,415
    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009

    Oct 28, 2009
    9,415
    1,924
    453
    Male
    Graduate Research Assitant | That part time IT guy
    3rd Rock
  5. monsterenergy22

    monsterenergy22 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    73
    Posts:
    496
    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2009

    Nov 19, 2009
    496
    53
    73
    Ive had beautiful widgets for a while and i still don't think the silence and vibrate widgets work...
     
  6. johnlgalt

    johnlgalt Antidisestablishmentarian
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    453
    Posts:
    9,415
    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009

    Oct 28, 2009
    9,415
    1,924
    453
    Male
    Graduate Research Assitant | That part time IT guy
    3rd Rock
    Did you read my post?
     
  7. monsterenergy22

    monsterenergy22 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    73
    Posts:
    496
    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2009

    Nov 19, 2009
    496
    53
    73
    Yes I did, are you saying the widgets wont work either?
     
  8. Lock-N-Load

    Lock-N-Load Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    2,309
    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010

    Feb 8, 2010
    2,309
    195
    143
    won the lottery
    WestSiiiide
    if people aren't reading the link, so here it is for them :)

     
  9. smfoley1

    smfoley1 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    235
    Joined:
    May 4, 2010

    May 4, 2010
    235
    13
    38
    I just forced 2.2
    AS far as I can see, if you go into settings and select silent mode it does set it to vibrate automatically,
    however, I had the silent widget installed on 2.1 and with 2.2 this widget still only sets the phone to silent. It does not force vibrate
     

Share This Page

Loading...