1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Froyo to GB via 2-part zip update - OTA still tries to download

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by camphill, Jun 2, 2011.

  1. camphill

    camphill Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    184
    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2010

    Jul 9, 2010
    184
    14
    38
    I updated from Froyo after SBF'ing back to stock Froyo then update to GB via the two part zip install via Droid2 Bootstrap. Everything went well except...

    The OTA download continues in the background and every few hours I get a download failed message.

    Any ideas?
     

    Advertisement

  2. cougar214

    cougar214 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,423
    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2011

    Feb 9, 2011
    1,423
    157
    143
    I still say freezing the upgrader will do the trick. You could also keep clicking the notification bar and tell it to tell you later. That should stop it from asking after a while.

    EDIT: Go into titanium backup and scroll down to the "upgrader" and freeze it. Thats upgrader not updater.
     
  3. camphill

    camphill Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    184
    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2010

    Jul 9, 2010
    184
    14
    38
    I have done that and we'll see what happens.

    IN the mean time I went to Settings, About, and tried a System Update and got the same error...download failed. Maybe a manual check bypasses the upGrader?
     
  4. cougar214

    cougar214 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,423
    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2011

    Feb 9, 2011
    1,423
    157
    143
    That is possible. Try restarting your phone and just sit and wait to see if that annoying thing pops back up. If not then you're good to go.
     
  5. camphill

    camphill Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    184
    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2010

    Jul 9, 2010
    184
    14
    38
    Rebooted and it popped up again. Grrrrr
     
  6. cougar214

    cougar214 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,423
    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2011

    Feb 9, 2011
    1,423
    157
    143
    Hmm. There has to be a way to stop this from happening. You froze that file right? Is it saying anything different or still the same?
     
  7. camphill

    camphill Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    184
    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2010

    Jul 9, 2010
    184
    14
    38
    Froze upgrader and pop up still says download failed.
     
  8. cougar214

    cougar214 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,423
    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2011

    Feb 9, 2011
    1,423
    157
    143
    You know I'm using you as a Guinna Pig here right? I have no choice. You are getting this update, i'm not. So bear with me here...lol.

    Let's try freezing the upgrader and the updater and see what happens.
     
  9. camphill

    camphill Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    184
    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2010

    Jul 9, 2010
    184
    14
    38
    So I froze both and rebooted 30 mins ago and no popups. I did for fun try to manually download OTA. It said trying to download but never did anything including did not display popups! I guess that did it except I'd love to know what's causing this.
     
  10. cougar214

    cougar214 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,423
    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2011

    Feb 9, 2011
    1,423
    157
    143
    O'k Camphill. Change of plan. Put root explorer on your phone if you don't already have it. Go into root explorer and go into system/app and find "blurupdater_VZW.apk" and change it from .apk to .bak.

    This should do the trick.

    EDIT: Oh good to here that worked. If not then this would have been my last idea.....lol
     
  11. camphill

    camphill Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    184
    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2010

    Jul 9, 2010
    184
    14
    38
    Would this mean that with it renamed it will never run and i'll never get future updates?
     
  12. NorthVandea

    NorthVandea Guest
    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

    I believe if you are running a modified build of Gingerbread (meaning the modified two part version) you will not get any future updates, and even if you did, they should fail to install because they won't pass verification.
     
  13. cougar214

    cougar214 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,423
    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2011

    Feb 9, 2011
    1,423
    157
    143
    Yes. Either way really, frozen or renamed will stop any system updates. But with you running the rooted Gb you don't want to get any updates anyway.

    I'm glad I could get this worked out though. So many people here come up with the fixes for stuff and now I am finally able to give something back....lol....other than advise that is.

    EDIT: What's causing it is simple. VZW stuck us with all kinds of apps we have no control over. The updater is just another one of those apps.
     
  14. camphill

    camphill Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    184
    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2010

    Jul 9, 2010
    184
    14
    38
    Unfroze both then renamed to BAK and rebooted so far so good. Still kinda curious y this happens. Guess its my engineering background. THANKS
     
  15. cougar214

    cougar214 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,423
    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2011

    Feb 9, 2011
    1,423
    157
    143
    Sounds like a plan. Keep us posted on your progress.
     

Share This Page

Loading...