1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Froyo update for mac users?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Chef Atrain, Apr 17, 2011.

  1. Chef Atrain

    Chef Atrain Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2011

    Apr 17, 2011
    1
    0
    5
    I'm sorry if I'm posting on an already talked on subject. I'm new here. So, here's my problem- I've got a htc Mytouch 3g slide, and I want the froyo update. My household is exclusively mac based, and I have no desire to duel run mac os X and windows 7. the only reason I would ever even consider windows is because of the insulting lack of support for mac users. For my needs, Apple has pcs beat. That said, I have no desire to use an iphone. this mytouch has been awesome so far. Does anyone know a workaround for this update?
     

    Advertisement

  2. Steven58

    Steven58 Reformed PH
    Rank:
     #4
    Points:
    3,933
    Posts:
    32,959
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2010

    Feb 19, 2010
    32,959
    25,347
    3,933
    Male
    Hi Chef,

    Welcome to Android Forums! I am going to move this to mytouch slide 3g forum. You'll probably find some MAC owners in there. Thanks.

    Steven
     
  3. MyNamesTooLong

    MyNamesTooLong Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    826
    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2011

    Jan 17, 2011
    826
    51
    78
    I have a mac pc that I use most of the time and a little windows laptop for occasions like this(needing windows)
     
  4. Dan-droid

    Dan-droid Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    57
    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010

    Sep 21, 2010
    57
    9
    16
    Graphic Artist
    Denver
    Use a friend's PC?
     
  5. behold_this

    behold_this Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,419
    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009

    Nov 18, 2009
    1,419
    243
    143
    Search for/find an update zip. There might be one on the web somewhere. Guess your mac can't do everything huh? Lol!
     
  6. mwl1119

    mwl1119 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    880
    Joined:
    May 21, 2010

    May 21, 2010
    880
    82
    78
    Cincinnati, Ohio
    Buy a real computer. A mac is like ****ing off.

    Sure you won't catch a virus and you still get most of the pleasure but you don't get everything :D
     
  7. erbfarm

    erbfarm Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2010

    Oct 9, 2010
    3
    0
    5
    Did anybody find a solution for this? I'm a Mac user too. I have a PC at work but can't download anything to it per network policy. Would it work to download the .exe file to a removable hard drive on my Mac at home, then use the PC at work to run the program? don't know if the network guys have this kind of thing locked down too but maybe worth a try?
     
  8. MyNamesTooLong

    MyNamesTooLong Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    826
    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2011

    Jan 17, 2011
    826
    51
    78
    Copy the file to the phones sd card, then run it on the pc at work
     

Share This Page

Loading...