1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Froyo volume rocker?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by jmilacek, Jun 10, 2010.

  1. jmilacek

    jmilacek Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    9
    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009

    Nov 28, 2009
    9
    0
    5
    Anyone know why they changed the functionality of this? You used to be able to press volume down all the way from loud, to vibrate, to silent (which would not vibrate). Now it either bottoms out at vibrate with certain settings, or skips vibrate and goes to silent.

    This annoys me because I have to actually go into settings now to put it in silent mode (since I have it set on always vibrate). I've yet to find a combination in the new sound settings to restore the functionality to what it was previously in 2.1.

    Anyone else running into this "issue", or know a combination that is the same as before?
     

    Advertisement

  2. istolvampire

    istolvampire Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    503
    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009

    Nov 15, 2009
    503
    35
    68
    +1
     
  3. cruud

    cruud Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    159
    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010

    Feb 8, 2010
    159
    10
    38
    If you hold down the volume down it vibrates and doesn't stop. Neat. I don't have an answer.
     
  4. Small Change

    Small Change Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    13
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010

    Feb 10, 2010
    13
    0
    15
    Soccis Commisioner
    Soccis Country
    Also ran into this problem. Really disappointing as I used this feature a lot. On the other hand it makes a good vibrator. LULZ ;)
     
  5. yufice

    yufice Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    123
    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010

    Apr 13, 2010
    123
    3
    36
    VZW sales
    Long Island
    i think as a whole, everyone feels like vibrate > silent. If you're a silent user, that sucks i guess. :\
     
  6. johnlgalt

    johnlgalt Antidisestablishmentarian
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    453
    Posts:
    9,415
    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009

    Oct 28, 2009
    9,415
    1,924
    453
    Male
    Graduate Research Assitant | That part time IT guy
    3rd Rock
    Listed in three separate threads now.

    If you go into Settings --> Sound you can adjust the vibrate setting. If you make it Never or Only when not in silent mode you get the rocker giving you volume from silent to full.

    The other two settings (Always and Only when in silent mode) replace silent with vibrate.
     
  7. jmilacek

    jmilacek Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    9
    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009

    Nov 28, 2009
    9
    0
    5
    Right - but that's not what I was asking.

    I want this, like it used to be: Silent -> vibrate -> low, medium and high volumes (and could be set to always vibrate as well)

    Now you can't do that without going into settings to put it in silent, take it out of vibrate, etc. Annoying.

    Sometimes I just want my phone in silent, like during a time when I'd like it to be on but not make ANY noise. I used to be able to do this without doing into settings.

    I just don't understand why they changed it. :thinking:
     
  8. johnlgalt

    johnlgalt Antidisestablishmentarian
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    453
    Posts:
    9,415
    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009

    Oct 28, 2009
    9,415
    1,924
    453
    Male
    Graduate Research Assitant | That part time IT guy
    3rd Rock
    Correct. Unless they change it back, this is how it works now.
     
  9. riffdex

    riffdex Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    730
    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2010

    Jan 28, 2010
    730
    32
    68
    Wow I thought this was some weird issue only I was having. I attributed it to some rogue app o_O
    And I too would like it back to the original functionality.
     
  10. jns.das

    jns.das Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2010

    Apr 16, 2010
    4
    4
    6
    +1

    I am all for improvements. But some things when they work should just be left alone. The volume rocker in the previous versions was awesome. That being said I am no devoloper and maybe the change was a necessary evil. Im pretty happy with BB froyo. the only two issues I see are this and my task killers not shutting themselves off.

    my 2 cents
     
  11. calbruc

    calbruc Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    50
    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009

    Dec 14, 2009
    50
    4
    16
    NJ, USA
    I agree that this was a dumb change. I guess our best bet now is just to keep it in "silent=vibrate" mode (whatever the hell they call it), and toggle true silent with the lock screen slider or the power button.

    Not a bad trade off, though, considering all the other improvements Froyo offers.
     
  12. ne0lyfeism

    ne0lyfeism Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    294
    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2010

    Mar 19, 2010
    294
    37
    43
    Male
    In the burbs of SEPA
    Um.. the simple solution I've found is the ringer toggle widget (came with NexBeast FRF57 V0.1.1). Add the widget to your home screen and with just a simple tap, you can go between vibrate, ringer volume and silent. No need to go into the Settings, no need to scratch your heading wondering why the current functionality of the volume rocker defies common sense =D
     
  13. einyv

    einyv Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    78
    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2010

    Apr 4, 2010
    78
    1
    16
     
  14. Redflea

    Redflea Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    2,623
    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009

    Oct 6, 2009
    2,623
    289
    163
    Ring Mode Timer (not a widget, not a single click, so not for all) is my fav...allows you to set a timed period for silence, or vibrate. One of my favorite apps recently discovered...has a spot on my main home screen. Going to a movie - set a timed silence w/vibrate and don't have to remember to reset things later.
     
  15. Helenoftroy08

    Helenoftroy08 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    266
    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009

    Dec 30, 2009
    266
    35
    43
    I am using Silent Toggle Widget as a work around, and I love it!
     

Share This Page

Loading...