1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Froze stuff using TBU...

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by sx4dude2013, Sep 10, 2011.

  1. sx4dude2013

    sx4dude2013 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    857
    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2010

    Jul 15, 2010
    857
    64
    78
    Student
    Georgia
    I froze stuff but the app icon is still in my app drawer. How to I remove it? Im using go luancher ex?
     

    Advertisement

  2. tehsusenoh

    tehsusenoh Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    133
    Posts:
    929
    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2011

    Jun 17, 2011
    929
    385
    133
    Student
    127.0.0.1
    With GO Launcher, you can just press the menu button, press "hide app" and select the app that you want to hide from the list. One of the many features I love about that launcher.
     
  3. sx4dude2013

    sx4dude2013 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    857
    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2010

    Jul 15, 2010
    857
    64
    78
    Student
    Georgia
    Sweet! Thanks!
    So when I froze an app it wont run in the background and use memory...is that the advantage of freezing them?
     
  4. tehsusenoh

    tehsusenoh Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    133
    Posts:
    929
    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2011

    Jun 17, 2011
    929
    385
    133
    Student
    127.0.0.1
    Well, if you don't want apps, for example "Backup Assistant," to be using data, or to be eating up CPU cycles, then you freeze them. They should also disappear, which reduces bloat, but I'm not rooted, so I just remove them from the list.

    Not to sound mean or anything, but if you find yourself saying "thanks," we have a button for that. :D
     
    murth and hunterwrot like this.
  5. scary alien

    scary alien not really so scary
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #10
    Points:
    2,138
    Posts:
    22,319
    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010

    Mar 5, 2010
    22,319
    23,814
    2,138
    Male
    space alien ;)
    Indy
    It can't even be started since the app is "disabled".

    Frozen apps still show-up in your app drawer and your Market, and you can, of course, uninstall them--you just can't select them to run and Android can't either (they're on the "disabled list" ;)).

    If they can't run, they can't use any memory (other than where they're stored), but not any "running" memory.

    Cheers!
     
  6. Xyro

    Xyro 4 8 15 16 23 42
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #17
    Points:
    1,433
    Posts:
    13,032
    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009

    Dec 1, 2009
    13,032
    9,716
    1,433
    UK
    Wont it disappear from the app drawer once you restart your launcher?

    That's the case on my phone with launcher pro, at least.
     
    tehsusenoh and scary alien like this.
  7. scary alien

    scary alien not really so scary
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #10
    Points:
    2,138
    Posts:
    22,319
    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010

    Mar 5, 2010
    22,319
    23,814
    2,138
    Male
    space alien ;)
    Indy
    Oh, good point...I forgot I had a launcher installed.

    You are absolutely right! (of course you were ;)).

    I just re-tested this by freezing an app, checking the Launcher Pro app drawer: app was still there. I restarted Launcher Pro and the app disappeared.

    Interestingly enough: the app auto-reappears once the app is defrosted without having to restart LP (I'm sure there's a system intent that its listening for, but it most not get one (or isn't checking for one) when an app is frozen).

    Cool and thanks for clearing that up! :)

    Cheers!
     
  8. breadnatty08

    breadnatty08 pain rustique
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,413
    Posts:
    19,888
    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009

    Nov 8, 2009
    19,888
    6,121
    1,413
    District of Columbia
    Interesting. On the stock launcher it immediately disappeared, no restart necessary.
     
  9. johnlgalt

    johnlgalt Antidisestablishmentarian
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    453
    Posts:
    9,453
    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009

    Oct 28, 2009
    9,453
    1,957
    453
    Male
    Graduate Research Assitant | That part time IT guy
    3rd Rock
    LPP is a little more memory intensive, so (I think) it saves a little RAM usage by not polling the App list all the time for changes. Which reminds me, I need to go beg for a restartless refresh in LPP, something that is sorely missing....
     
    breadnatty08 likes this.
  10. messenger13

    messenger13 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    3,132
    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009

    Dec 8, 2009
    3,132
    381
    163
    Director of IT
    Cleveland, OH
    Some launchers need restarted because they cache those icons and what-not.
     
    breadnatty08 likes this.
  11. doihaveto

    doihaveto Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    17
    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009

    Nov 28, 2009
    17
    0
    15
    has anyone using other launchers like launcher pro go launcher or adw, tried to freeze the stock launcher. i know that most roms come with a market launcher already loaded and therefore there is no stock launcher.

    So any ideas if running a market launcher, that freezing the stock launcher would be ok or not

    any ideas
     
  12. Xyro

    Xyro 4 8 15 16 23 42
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #17
    Points:
    1,433
    Posts:
    13,032
    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009

    Dec 1, 2009
    13,032
    9,716
    1,433
    UK
    Don't freeze the stock launcher. If there's ever a problem with your phone, or you make a mistake messing around with root, and you have to do a factory reset, you'll be left with a phone without a launcher.

    In that situation, you might be able to reinstall the firmware once you get access to a PC (I'm not familiar with motorola phones), or get somebody to send you the launcher.apk and push it over adb, but it's still a lot of hassle for the sake of a few MB of RAM.
     
    tehsusenoh likes this.
  13. messenger13

    messenger13 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    3,132
    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009

    Dec 8, 2009
    3,132
    381
    163
    Director of IT
    Cleveland, OH
    I did have the Bionic's stock Launcher frozen (called "Homescreen 1.0.0.106") ... no problems. But when I thought about it, because we currently don't have a safety net, I decided to unfreeze it for now. But once we have an alternate Recovery Console, I'll simply delete it for good. I never had more than one Launcher installed on my OG Droid for the past 18 months or so.

    UPDATE: I just read the FAQ on TiBu Pro's wiki page. It states that if you freeze an app, then perform a factory reset, the app will be UNfrozen. So, I'm going to refreeze the Bionic's Homescreen Launcher. Why? Because I can. :D
     
    PerCompLLC and Xyro like this.
  14. doihaveto

    doihaveto Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    17
    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009

    Nov 28, 2009
    17
    0
    15
    i confirm as well you can freeze homescreen (default home) if you have 3rd party home launcher installed such as adw you wont bootloop or at least i did not.
     
  15. Xyro

    Xyro 4 8 15 16 23 42
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #17
    Points:
    1,433
    Posts:
    13,032
    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009

    Dec 1, 2009
    13,032
    9,716
    1,433
    UK
    Ah ok, that's handy.

    I just hope nobody uninstalls it :p
     
  16. messenger13

    messenger13 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    3,132
    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009

    Dec 8, 2009
    3,132
    381
    163
    Director of IT
    Cleveland, OH
    Not even ME??? :D
     
  17. PerCompLLC

    PerCompLLC Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    521
    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009

    Dec 20, 2009
    521
    128
    93
    Web Application Programmer
    Northern Virginia
    Nice Joe! Thanks for the tip regarding Homescreen 1.0.0.106...
     
  18. johnlgalt

    johnlgalt Antidisestablishmentarian
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    453
    Posts:
    9,453
    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009

    Oct 28, 2009
    9,453
    1,957
    453
    Male
    Graduate Research Assitant | That part time IT guy
    3rd Rock
    How about a list of the actual app names that can be frozen without any ill effects? It could become the next sticky then....
     
    Xyro likes this.
  19. messenger13

    messenger13 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    3,132
    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009

    Dec 8, 2009
    3,132
    381
    163
    Director of IT
    Cleveland, OH
    Stealing from the list in this post, I added all of the apps I have frozen as well. My notes are in RED.


    Alarm & Timer 2.3.4
    Amazon Kindle 3.0.2.71
    Android Live Wallpapers 2.3.4

    Android Live Wallpapers 2.3.4
    Backup Assistant 2.3.4
    Backup Assistant Client 1.0
    Bookmarks Widget 2.3.4
    [BOOKMARKS] Browser 2.3.4 (stock browser) (I kept this one)
    Citrix Receiver 2.1.1059
    City ID 1.1.7
    Device Setup 1.0
    DLNA 0709.69
    DlnaSystemService 1.0

    Email 2.3.4 (I kept this one)
    Email Authenticator 2.3.4 (I kept this one)
    Files 2.3.4
    Flickr Authenticator 2.3.4
    Gmail 2.3.5 (I like K-9 Mail)
    GoToMeeting 1.0
    Guided Tours 2.3.4
    Help Center 2.3.4
    Homescreen 1.0.0.106
    Home screen tips 1.0 (I deleted this one)
    IM 3.0.4.6 (I deleted this one)
    IM Presence 2.3.4 (I deleted this one)
    Live Wallpaper Picker 2.3.4
    Messaging 2.3.4 (I kept this, even though I use Handcent)
    MOTOPRINT 2.0.0.38 (I froze updated version 2.0.0.62)
    News 2.3.4 (I deleted this one)
    Print to Retail 1.0
    Setup 2.3.4
    Slacker 3.0.535 (I kept this one)
    Social Location 2.0
    Social Messaging 2.3.4
    Social Networking 2.3.4
    Social Status 2.3.4
    Sticky note 2.3.4
    Swype 3.21.87.27685 (I deleted this and installed version 3.25.91.31127)
    System Portal 2.3.4
    Talk 1.3
    Task Manager 10.0
    Tasks 1.0
    Terminal Emulator 2.3.4 (I deleted this one)
    Toggle Widgets 2.3.4
    Twitter Authenticator 2.3.4
    Universal Inbox 2.3.4 -- there are 2, both can be safely frozen
    V CAST Media Manager 4.4.1.0
    V CAST Music 03.72.110
    V CAST Tones 4.5.11
    V CAST Videos 5.72.008
    VideoSurf 1.0.10
    VZ Navigator 7.2.0.353
    Weather 2.3.4
    Webtop 1.0 (I kept this one)
    Webtop Connector 1.0 (I kept this one)
    World Clock 1.0
    Yahoo Contacts 2.3.4
    ZumoCast 1.0.25
     
    tehsusenoh and johnlgalt like this.
  20. johnlgalt

    johnlgalt Antidisestablishmentarian
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    453
    Posts:
    9,453
    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009

    Oct 28, 2009
    9,453
    1,957
    453
    Male
    Graduate Research Assitant | That part time IT guy
    3rd Rock
    I need to go through and pick an choose. Some of the ones you've deleted I won't b/c I am using them - twitter, FB and LinkedIn integration, which means I probably need to keep the social apps as well...

    I'll be posting on what I chose to freeze soon enough.
     
  21. johnlgalt

    johnlgalt Antidisestablishmentarian
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    453
    Posts:
    9,453
    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009

    Oct 28, 2009
    9,453
    1,957
    453
    Male
    Graduate Research Assitant | That part time IT guy
    3rd Rock
    For now, I'm gonna wait an do this later. Some things I want to keep just to show off (live WPs, etc) and some things I want to keep b/c ... well, I want o. lol.
     

Share This Page

Loading...