1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

FRP (Factory Reset Protection)

Discussion in 'Android Lounge' started by Mikestony, Oct 16, 2016.

  1. Mikestony

    Mikestony ~30% Carbon Black ±
    Moderator Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #5
    Points:
    3,118
    Posts:
    29,512
    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2010

    Sep 10, 2010
    29,512
    23,919
    3,118
    Male
    Next to you
    wip...


    FRP, short for "Factory Reset Protection", is now integrated into the Android operating system since about version 5.1.1.

    What does it do?

    It basically protects the owner's data on the device from being compromised by unauthorized users.

    Google Link

    For example, if your device is lost, stolen, or wiped after you've set it up to prevent others from using it, then only someone with your Google Account or screen lock information could use your device.

    Another link explaining FRP:


    Now, let's say you are now in the possession of a device and you run across this FRP-locked message and you cannot set it up because of it.
    • If the device had your Google credentials set up on it originally, all you need to do is sign in with your Google account name and password.
    • If the device was set up with someone else's Google account, you would need their username and password to access the device.
    • Source
    Android Forums' view on bypassing FRP:

    FRP is there to protect the user, their device, and the valuable data it contains.

    Yes there is the quandary of the user who is, or is not the rightful owner trying to get their device usable again.

    Bypassing it is similar to the pickle that some folks get into like when they lose their house or car keys...would you help a stranger break in for that situation?

    From what I understand: (input welcome---verifying the 2nd bullet point (confirmed - CS))
    • If you reset your device using the recovery menu, you'll need to enter a Google username and password that had been associated with the device.
    • If you reset the device via the "backup and reset" option from within the settings menu, you will not need to enter your Google username and password, as resetting the device this way automatically disables FRP.
    • Google: Important: If you reset your Google Account password and need to do a factory reset, wait 24 hours after changing your password to reset your device. For security purposes, you can't use an account to set up a device after reset if that password was changed within 24 hours. Learn how to reset your Nexus, Google Play edition, or Android One device to factory settings


     

    Advertisement

    #1 Mikestony, Oct 16, 2016
    Last edited: Nov 25, 2016
  2. MarthaCox

    MarthaCox Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2017

    Aug 10, 2017
    7
    1
    16
    Female
    Does android kitkat have also like this?
     
  3. kate

    kate Dreaming of Bugdroid.
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #44
    Points:
    618
    Posts:
    5,441
    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2013

    Hi Martha, no KitKat does not have FRP. It was introduced in Lollipop which was released after KitKat.
     
    Jamesalbert and Mikestony like this.
  4. MarthaCox

    MarthaCox Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2017

    Aug 10, 2017
    7
    1
    16
    Female
    Hello Kate, Thanks for the info and response.
     
  5. donaliaa

    donaliaa Newbie
    Rank:
     #1,549
    Points:
    25
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2017

    Nov 2, 2017
    10
    1
    25
    Thanks very much for the sharing. It is very useful for me.
     
  6. rover7577

    rover7577 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    25
    Posts:
    15
    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2012

    Nov 12, 2012
    15
    0
    25
    Male
    N. Texas
    I have an LG MS770 that I got from Metro PCS that I no longer use. I want to donate the phone to a local group.

    4.0.4

    I did the Factory Reset.

    I even removed the sim card.

    But in Settings/ About Phone/ Status

    it still displays my phone number.

    I do not want my phone number on the phone when I donate it.

    Is it possible for me to do something that would have "My phone number" to be blank??
     
  7. heamicdan

    heamicdan Member
    Rank:
     #274
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    63
    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2017

    Dec 15, 2017
    63
    55
    53
    THIS KIND OF STUFF IS WHY I JOINED HERE
     
    El Presidente likes this.
  8. bcrichster

    bcrichster Android Expert
    Recognized Developer
    Rank:
     #33
    Points:
    713
    Posts:
    6,036
    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2013

    Jan 23, 2013
    6,036
    4,213
    713
    Male
    Electrical, Electronics
    Florida
    Factory Reset
     
  9. Astr4y4L

    Astr4y4L Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
     #162
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    413
    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2017

    Dec 3, 2017
    413
    167
    88
    Male
    Contractor
    Mudville USA

    Absolutely !!
    If you have a Windows Pc
    you can download the Lg firmware tool called "LgUp"
    you can get it here
    http://corneey.com/woDuqM <---short-link just skip the ad

    search around there's lots of guides on setting it up so i wont get in to that.

    and then once you've got LgUp working and correct drivers for your phone
    you can flash the stock LG firmware to it using the tool and the Refurbish option

    the firmware can be found here
    http://csmgdl.lgmobile.com/dn/downl...432109876543213/MS77010g_04.S10g_04.P3039.cab

    and pay close attention theres a trick to using a special useragent to download these things from lg's server

    If you want to use browser to download files from LG server, You need to set “LGE-ActiveDP/0.9” as your browser’s user Agent.,

    To change the User-agent settings in Chrome browser, I use User-Agent Switcher plugin.

    Hope this helps

    Astr4y4L
    Team_Astr4y4L
     
  10. Astr4y4L

    Astr4y4L Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
     #162
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    413
    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2017

    Dec 3, 2017
    413
    167
    88
    Male
    Contractor
    Mudville USA

    @rover7577 Did state that a factory reset was performed, I've worked a lot with Lg devices and that happens sometimes.
    but refurbish with lgup and it's like Brand new again

    That's my suggestion

    Astr4y4L
     
  11. Milo Willamson

    Milo Willamson Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
     #168
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    336
    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2018

    Jan 5, 2018
    336
    139
    88
    Male
    Occupation documation, something..
    Urbana Illinois, middle of funsville
    When I recently did the FDR thing completely with my moto z2 force, it did not work at all though, but my old phone the Droid Turbo was into kitkat, here is the real strange thing, the time on the clock worked, it only suffered some water damange, due to finding accustics to a very big place, empty walls too, i was dusting at somewhere..

    That was in Sept 11th, here it is not even five months later on..
     
  12. dontpanicbobby

    dontpanicbobby Android Expert
    Rank:
     #14
    Points:
    1,563
    Posts:
    11,563
    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2011

    Dec 31, 2011
    11,563
    7,005
    1,563
    Male
    Boston MA USA
    How about removing the SIM card then Factory Resetting? Does that work?
     
    Robertok33 and Daniel Fernandes like this.
  13. Milo Willamson

    Milo Willamson Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
     #168
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    336
    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2018

    Jan 5, 2018
    336
    139
    88
    Male
    Occupation documation, something..
    Urbana Illinois, middle of funsville
    I tried that many times @dontpanicbobby am I missing something ? Feels like I am..
     
  14. Milo Willamson

    Milo Willamson Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
     #168
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    336
    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2018

    Jan 5, 2018
    336
    139
    88
    Male
    Occupation documation, something..
    Urbana Illinois, middle of funsville
    What is the real duration of the button press though? Is there a limintation, keep googling one said "two minutes" I tried that, the other saids " a brief moment, 10 to twenty seconds" I have tried that... Give me an honest answer.
     
    Robertok33 likes this.
  15. Milo Willamson

    Milo Willamson Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
     #168
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    336
    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2018

    Jan 5, 2018
    336
    139
    88
    Male
    Occupation documation, something..
    Urbana Illinois, middle of funsville


    Chill out man, take a walk, easy there brother, they are trying to help you as soon as they can.
     
  16. bcrichster

    bcrichster Android Expert
    Recognized Developer
    Rank:
     #33
    Points:
    713
    Posts:
    6,036
    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2013

    Jan 23, 2013
    6,036
    4,213
    713
    Male
    Electrical, Electronics
    Florida
    Usually 10 seconds is the normal forced reboot hold period, 15-20 is just not gonna do much besides assure you that it isn't working. Do you have TWRP recovery? If so, format caches, system, data, internal storage, (do not use 'rm -rf') like twice, reboot system. If that doesn't work, you'll need a PC
     
  17. Milo Willamson

    Milo Willamson Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
     #168
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    336
    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2018

    Jan 5, 2018
    336
    139
    88
    Male
    Occupation documation, something..
    Urbana Illinois, middle of funsville


    Oh that is an old post, got my phone in Jan :) It was like a huge hassle anyways, still this new one is excatly same model :)
     
  18. bcrichster

    bcrichster Android Expert
    Recognized Developer
    Rank:
     #33
    Points:
    713
    Posts:
    6,036
    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2013

    Jan 23, 2013
    6,036
    4,213
    713
    Male
    Electrical, Electronics
    Florida
    Well now ya can just reinstall the factory firmware, which automatically wipes the frp
     
  19. Milo Willamson

    Milo Willamson Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
     #168
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    336
    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2018

    Jan 5, 2018
    336
    139
    88
    Male
    Occupation documation, something..
    Urbana Illinois, middle of funsville
    Well lately my phone decided to roll back to nooget, instead of oreo. Is there a way how to get back to oreo?
     
  20. Hadron

    Hadron  
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #7
    Points:
    2,218
    Posts:
    22,365
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010

    Aug 9, 2010
    22,365
    15,645
    2,218
    Spacecorp Test Pilot
    Dimension Jumping
    Your phone decided to roll back? What model are we talking about?

    Unless it has a/b partitions there's no way it can roll back without reinstalling the older version, which would require a (probably sizeable) system update.
     
  21. Smptotzkie

    Smptotzkie Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2018

    Jun 5, 2018
    5
    1
    15
    Male
    wow..its nice to have that in my device...sadly my device is 5.0...:rob:
     
  22. noidodroid

    noidodroid Well-Known Member
    Rank:
     #275
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    89
    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2017

    Nov 27, 2017
    89
    29
    53
    Male
    Marketing Consultant
    Innernetz
    Yeah combination files and modified boot files with ADB enabled allowing use of manual removal of FRP and hardware/applications to further do the work.
     
  23. noidodroid

    noidodroid Well-Known Member
    Rank:
     #275
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    89
    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2017

    Nov 27, 2017
    89
    29
    53
    Male
    Marketing Consultant
    Innernetz
    I do a lot of research on FRP the manual way. I do use boxes and applications though to for some devices. It just takes the fun out of it i think! Well when it's not for money. If it's a job you'd best take the high road and roll out quick.

    Are FRP related posts ok here? I write tutorials and have just started doing videos on any handset i come across from a client that I can find ways past with/without help from researching and researching others work. Eventually when you've read about all known methods it gets to the point to where it's pretty simple to find alternate ways on your own.
     
  24. Milo Willamson

    Milo Willamson Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
     #168
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    336
    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2018

    Jan 5, 2018
    336
    139
    88
    Male
    Occupation documation, something..
    Urbana Illinois, middle of funsville

    It worked like a charm, mine is all good to go too :) After doing the verizon fdr way, it did work pretty good :)
     
    noidodroid likes this.
  25. noidodroid

    noidodroid Well-Known Member
    Rank:
     #275
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    89
    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2017

    Nov 27, 2017
    89
    29
    53
    Male
    Marketing Consultant
    Innernetz
    From what handset did you remove FRP? Tool or manually? You could have probably used MotoReaper by RootJunky also. It's available to all Phonlab Enrolled Students.
     
    #25 noidodroid, Jun 19, 2018
    Last edited: Jun 19, 2018
  26. lunatic59

    lunatic59 Moderati ergo sum
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #2
    Points:
    4,238
    Posts:
    36,796
    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010

    Jun 12, 2010
    36,796
    35,061
    4,238
    Male
    IT
    Pennsylvania
    Okay @noidodroid , you offered your $.02 ... here's your change. ;)

    The problem, though, isn't the phone company per se. It's the lack of easy to understand instructions for the least technical of their customers. Let's take your hypothetical customer (who resembles my sister-in-law ;) ) and can't remember the password. Google has recovery options for that and have tried to make it possible without compromising security. It's when there's a convergence of circumstances like resetting a phone with a gmail account still active and then changing the password but not having network access on the device, or leaving the country, etc. where it becomes an issue. For the VAST majority of regular idiot users it's a brief mea culpa followed by a quick trip to the carrier store and it gets resolved. The most complicated of these issues is when regular users start trying to "fix" it themselves and try every solution posted on Youtube or click every "fix my phone" link in a desperate attempt to get a working device. They end up completely screwing it up most of the time and make the phone even harder to recover. How is the regular Joe or Jane supposed to figure out which is legit and which is crap if they can't even reset the phone?

    This is becoming more common knowledge, so hopefully legitimate sellers and innocent buyers won't be hampered with FRP as often. But, let's look at the other side of that coin. What about those sellers who are dumping gray market, blacklisted or even stolen devices? The profiteers who buy devices cheap on a contract and resell it, and then default only to have the device subsequently blacklisted after months of operation? CL, FB, or any private sale has always been "caveat emptor". Sure, I feel sorry for the kid who saves his grass-cutting money to buy a $1000 phone for $500 and gets stuck because of something the seller did or didn't do. But, I also empathize with with the customer sales rep at the carrier store whose sales numbers go down because of contract they sold that go into default, or the guy who loses his new S9 in the airport bathroom and gets picked up by an eBay king.

    Sorry, but that sounds like rationalization and justification. "We're doing this bad thing to make a good thing better" just doesn't fly with me.

    Certainly not. We welcome open discussion ... within reason. We can talk all day long about the morality and ethics of a thing and even discuss the technical aspects of it, but when it comes to instructing others how to bypass security, for whatever reason, sorry, that's more likely to facilitate the bad guys then it will help the innocent. Maybe that is a bit old-fashioned, but I'm sure if I'm looking to be counseled on right and wrong, I'd ask my grandmother before my teenage daughter, if you get my drift. :)

    The thing is, that for legitimate customers, most carriers will do all that for free. The question then becomes, how do you differentiate legitimate customers from those with a nice story?
     
    #42 lunatic59, Sep 14, 2018
    Last edited: Sep 14, 2018
    kate, tonymddn, scary alien and 4 others like this.

Share This Page

Loading...