1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Frustrated trying to root phone to remove apps

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by jmoore541, Jan 4, 2012.

  1. jmoore541

    jmoore541 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2012

    Jan 3, 2012
    1
    0
    5
    I used SuperOneClick2.3.3.0 to root my phone. I click "Root" and it whirs a bit and finally asks me if I want to run a test. I say yes, it says: Your device has been rooted! Would you like to donate now. I never get a prompt on my phone to allow "su". If I try to click "Root" again, I get a message: "Your device already appears to be rooted!!!"

    I try to run Titanium Backup and it says "Asking for root rights...". After a while it fails. I get an error: "Sorry, I could not acquire root privileges. This application will *not* work! Please verify that your ROM is rooted and includes BusyBox, and try again.

    I have the BusyBox app loaded. I don't know how to verify if the app is loaded.

    I loaded the SuperUser app and re-tried everything. Same results. In the preferences for SuperUser, there is a section: "Su binary v3.0.3 Tap to check for updates." When I tap it says there is a new version 3.0.3.2. When I click "Update" it says "Update Failed" and it looks like it fails on "Gaining root access..."

    I did all of this with my SD Card mounted and then unmounted. I have the "USB debug mode" checked.

    The most annoying thing is that at each stage I need to load a new app on the phone I get critical memory errors because there is no space and instead of removing the crap apps on my phone, I have to remove apps that I actually use.

    Please let me know if there is a way to make this work.
     

    Advertisement

  2. cjablonski

    cjablonski Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    35
    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2011

    Oct 7, 2011
    35
    11
    18
    Not sure I'll be able to help, but here goes.

    I don't know if you followed the directions here or you just downloaded superoneclick and went straight for it, but is it possible you don't have the Samsung KIES drivers installed? You need those for your computer to be able to connect to the phone.

    Aside from that, it's a hard problem to troubleshoot. If you've followed everything in the guide and it's still not working, I'm just not sure.

    One last thing: I can't recommend Ahrtard's ROM enough. You don't need to have root to install it, and you'll have root afterwards if you do.
     
  3. gblues

    gblues Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    68
    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2012

    Mar 19, 2012
    68
    24
    18
    Caldwell, Idaho
    I hope you've figured this part out by now, but for others having the same issue: you have to reboot the phone after SuperOneClick does its thing before root functions will actually work.
     

Share This Page

Loading...