1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Frustrated-usb connection

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Alsaces Daddy, Jan 2, 2012.

  1. Alsaces Daddy

    Alsaces Daddy Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    4,928
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2011

    Nov 13, 2011
    4,928
    1,885
    313
    Male
    Electrician
    Florida
    USB debugging? CHECK. USB connection? ASK ON CONNECTION. CHECK. 3 USB cables. CHECK. Still nothing other than charging. I, with help from TRYINGTOROOT, have factory reset, reset permissions, different BUILD.PROP, checked hidden menu, restored to previous date, and still nothing working for me. I am on CTmod 2.3, A2SD-darktremor, and Kouma Kernal 1.0. Only things i have changed were the wifi tether, downloaded flash player, a couple other apps which I have uninstalled and reinstalled, changed prl but changed back via prl change on the phone settings, proxy settings which reverted back to stock after fixing permissions and restoring.

    All I can really say right now is I am frustrated and all I can think the problem would be is somehow internal of some sort but I don't know for sure. I really hope a dev can point me in the right direction or send me a link or download to install via phone and this will correct the issue.. I dont know. Just looking for an answer guys. Thanks ahead of time.. I will check back frequently for answers and will respond with any questions you need to help fix the issue.

    By the way... Thanks Blood, hroark, trying to root, johnny, lord, and anyone else who helped make all this possible and with your patience. This really is the best community.. Not brown nosing, just showing appreciation for the mod before I boned it HARD! :)
     

    Advertisement

  2. Lordvincent 90

    Lordvincent 90 ▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    583
    Posts:
    5,559
    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2011

    Oct 5, 2011
    5,559
    4,444
    583
    Male
    entertainer
    grand rapids,mi
    Hey, it could be worse, my roommate accidentally tried the 'car door' mod on his triumph
    [​IMG]
    He parked his car, got out, and tried to shut the door, it didn't shut.
    He moved the seatbelt, still didn't shut.
    He reset the latch, still didn't shut.
    He then noticed that his phone was in the way, and COMPLETELY incompatible with the Car Door mod...

    also, if you know someone else with this phone, or someone on here willing to help (me?) You could do the mods on that phone, and then 'restore' the backup to your phone via cwm. Just a thought...
     
  3. Alsaces Daddy

    Alsaces Daddy Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    4,928
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2011

    Nov 13, 2011
    4,928
    1,885
    313
    Male
    Electrician
    Florida
    I've read a lot of concerning issues about the "car door rom". I am trying to steer clear of said issue. I have done the backup and restore via cwm to no avail.
     
  4. Lordvincent 90

    Lordvincent 90 ▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    583
    Posts:
    5,559
    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2011

    Oct 5, 2011
    5,559
    4,444
    583
    Male
    entertainer
    grand rapids,mi
  5. SpCowboy2842

    SpCowboy2842 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    289
    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2011

    Jun 29, 2011
    289
    55
    53
    Male
    Warehouse Manager
    The mountains of N.C.
    I too have done the "car door mod", but it was on a Nokia. The only thing that helped me out was a factory backup. LOL. Another mod that didn't work too well me was the "tree trunk mod". Once again, a factory backup was needed.
     
  6. Carsfanatic

    Carsfanatic Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    130
    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2011

    Nov 19, 2011
    130
    18
    38
    The parts of the micro usb connection internally for the phone have come lose/broke obviously the outer ones for charging still are making connection or you wouldn't be able to charge just one or both of the data connections have no/broke connections. So doing anything via usb to PC is out the only thing you can do is stuff that you can transfer from your pc to the microSD card and then plug it back into the phone. The other option is if your phone is still under warranty then get a new one under warranty, if it is already rooted and thus not eligible for warranty claim you could easily brick/boot loop it and make a claim based on that and also mention that the usb for pc doesn't work they will try to restore the phone to factory and fail because the usb doesn't work and you should get a new phone. Not the most honest of ways but really nothing that you did to break the phone and the idea of root breaking warranty is just ludicrous to begin with.
     
  7. Lordvincent 90

    Lordvincent 90 ▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    583
    Posts:
    5,559
    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2011

    Oct 5, 2011
    5,559
    4,444
    583
    Male
    entertainer
    grand rapids,mi
    I'm VERY interested in exactly how one would install said TreeTrunk mod... Sounds complicated
     
  8. NotFunnyChrls

    NotFunnyChrls Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2012

    Jan 3, 2012
    2
    0
    5
    When this happened to me I re-installed the drivers on my pc and it started working again.
     
  9. Alsaces Daddy

    Alsaces Daddy Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    4,928
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2011

    Nov 13, 2011
    4,928
    1,885
    313
    Male
    Electrician
    Florida
    Well thanks for the info and advice. How long does it take to replace it? I am still under warranty but work out of town and its my only contact source.
     
  10. Bandaid

    Bandaid Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    291
    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2011

    Aug 13, 2011
    291
    57
    53
    Limo Driver
    New York
    alsaces daddy, In your original post you never mentioned if you unchecked debugging. You need to uncheck it if your trying to go to mass storage mode

    You can also try going to Wireless & Networks/USB Connection and select Ask on connection.
     
  11. mac42

    mac42 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    73
    Posts:
    143
    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2011

    Nov 6, 2011
    143
    62
    73
    Male
    Grand Rapids MI
    I an interested to hear about this treetrunk mod . How did they meet?
     
  12. Alsaces Daddy

    Alsaces Daddy Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    4,928
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2011

    Nov 13, 2011
    4,928
    1,885
    313
    Male
    Electrician
    Florida
    I have uninstalled and reinstalled the drivers twice. Iwill try to uncheck once i get home.
     
  13. Alsaces Daddy

    Alsaces Daddy Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    4,928
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2011

    Nov 13, 2011
    4,928
    1,885
    313
    Male
    Electrician
    Florida
    Well this mod is more common than you think. I know of a few mods that sightly resemble this one, but the thing is they are all based from the annoyingGF mod. But with this one I'm sure he installed the PMS.apk.
     
    Lordvincent 90 likes this.
  14. johnny424

    johnny424 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    1,501
    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011

    Nov 2, 2011
    1,501
    466
    183
    HVAC Sheetmetal Mechanic/ Service Tech
    Washington Dc

    do you happen to pay the extra few bucks a month for insurance? maybe not the best of answers but if it is some kind of hardware problem...you may be better off if possible to chalk up your losses and start looking at geting a new phone..only with all the trouble your having out of it at the moment
     
  15. Lordvincent 90

    Lordvincent 90 ▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    583
    Posts:
    5,559
    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2011

    Oct 5, 2011
    5,559
    4,444
    583
    Male
    entertainer
    grand rapids,mi
    I literally LOL'd
     
  16. SpCowboy2842

    SpCowboy2842 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    289
    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2011

    Jun 29, 2011
    289
    55
    53
    Male
    Warehouse Manager
    The mountains of N.C.

    No, I didn't install the PMSapk. for the intended result, but instead installed the old standby Cheating discovery build prop . The result caused the phone to jump from my hands and meet an Oak tree. I wouldn't recommend it.....
     
  17. Alsaces Daddy

    Alsaces Daddy Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    4,928
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2011

    Nov 13, 2011
    4,928
    1,885
    313
    Male
    Electrician
    Florida
    Ok this actually worked and offered up the usb prompt asking which I would like, charging or usb mass storage, but as soon as I clicked usb mass storage it closed out, and it didn't do the orange android. I think something is wrong with the system itself.
     
  18. Alsaces Daddy

    Alsaces Daddy Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    4,928
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2011

    Nov 13, 2011
    4,928
    1,885
    313
    Male
    Electrician
    Florida

    I almost suggested that build prop but didn't want to assume too much. I'm not a developer. :)
     
  19. SpCowboy2842

    SpCowboy2842 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    289
    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2011

    Jun 29, 2011
    289
    55
    53
    Male
    Warehouse Manager
    The mountains of N.C.

    Lol!!!!! I'm not dev. either, it was an experiment that went horribly wrong..... Lol...
     
  20. Bandaid

    Bandaid Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    291
    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2011

    Aug 13, 2011
    291
    57
    53
    Limo Driver
    New York
    One more idea, You could try to disable any antivirus you might be running.
     
  21. Alsaces Daddy

    Alsaces Daddy Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    4,928
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2011

    Nov 13, 2011
    4,928
    1,885
    313
    Male
    Electrician
    Florida
    I have none installed. Its acting like its not gaining permission for some reason.
     
  22. Bandaid

    Bandaid Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    291
    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2011

    Aug 13, 2011
    291
    57
    53
    Limo Driver
    New York
    I would now try Odin with gingerbread and cwm. Don
     
  23. Roguefoxx

    Roguefoxx Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    381
    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2011

    Jun 11, 2011
    381
    75
    53
    Male
    Grand Rapids, MI
    I've been having trouble connecting my USB for a while now myself. Mine actually connects and says "USB storage in use" on the phone, but on my computer the drive doesn't show up and I get a blank menu from the icon in the system tray that says "Safely remove hardware and eject media". The icon shows up like it recognizes there is a device, but the device doesn't show up.
     
  24. Lordvincent 90

    Lordvincent 90 ▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    583
    Posts:
    5,559
    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2011

    Oct 5, 2011
    5,559
    4,444
    583
    Male
    entertainer
    grand rapids,mi
    Have either of you tried in cwm? Mounts and storage> mount USB storage
    If it works there, it's probably a system issue and you could try to reflash your ROM factory reset, FRESH install and try again.

    my Gf had this problem with the first install of cm7 (I did not factory reset) I factory reset, reflashed, factory reset again and it has been working fine fine
     
  25. Roguefoxx

    Roguefoxx Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    381
    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2011

    Jun 11, 2011
    381
    75
    53
    Male
    Grand Rapids, MI
    What's it supposed to do when you choose "mount USB storage"?

    Edit: Ok just did it and that seemed to work just fine. I've reflashed the EJ06 Gingerbread Rooted Image with CWM5 more than once and reset as well, but it still will not seem to connect through USB Mass Storage for some reason.
     

Share This Page

Loading...