1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Full integration of alltel towers into verizons network

Discussion in 'Verizon' started by stearic, Dec 11, 2009.

  1. stearic

    stearic Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    123
    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009

    Nov 9, 2009
    123
    1
    36
    Security Trainer
    BFE
    I was wondering if anybody had a clue as to when alltels towers were to be fully integrated into verizon's network and not seen as roaming towers anymore? I'm asking as my droid likes to jump to verizon's 1x tower in my area every now and then when i have a perfectly good 3g (alltel) tower i could be on and using.
     

    Advertisement

  2. milrtime83

    milrtime83 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    668
    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009

    Nov 4, 2009
    668
    74
    78
    I don't have a definite answer but according to this thread: HowardForums they are working on it market by market and it won't be complete until 2011.

    That being said...have you tried updating your PRL (dial *228 and select option 2.) If you aren't familiar with the PRL it is basically the list of towers on your phone so it knows which one to use.
     
  3. stearic

    stearic Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    123
    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009

    Nov 9, 2009
    123
    1
    36
    Security Trainer
    BFE
    Yea, i've tried to update my prl via *228 option 2. Yea, i know what the prl is, preferred roaming list.
     
  4. Hockymom63

    Hockymom63 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    15
    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009

    Nov 12, 2009
    15
    1
    16
    Mineola,Tx.
    So will the 3g network mean more coverage?? There is a particular spot when i go camping in Spangler Hill OHV area (ridgecrest, Ca.) that verizon gets nothing at all but AT& T gets full service.:mad:

    A few AT&T folks were facebooking from their beds while i got nothing at all :(until 20 miles away at the trona pinnacles.
     
  5. milrtime83

    milrtime83 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    668
    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009

    Nov 4, 2009
    668
    74
    78
    It's not likely to help you in that situation. If there were an Alltel tower in that area your phone would still have used it. The only spots it will help is in locations where your phone tries to hold onto a 1 bar Verizon signal when there is a 5 bar Alltel tower available. Once they are integrated your phone would use what was originally the Alltel tower.
     

Share This Page

Loading...