1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

General FWIW: New LG Ally has 50% Time Without Signal Bug

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Gink, Jun 3, 2010.

  1. Gink

    Gink Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    233
    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2010

    Feb 14, 2010
    233
    11
    38
    Bronco Nation
    Just got an Ally today...trying to decide whether or not to keep it. As I was messing around with the settings I discovered that it has the dreaded 50% but just like my Eris. :(
     

    Advertisement

  2. Vmanisme

    Vmanisme Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    599
    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2010

    Jun 19, 2010
    599
    149
    93
    Virginia
    They need to fix this on the ally... I can't even get 10 hours on light usage.... whats the point of this awesome mobile os when u can't even use the phone cuz it dies in like 7 hours
     
  3. copestag

    copestag Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,355
    Joined:
    May 23, 2010

    May 23, 2010
    1,355
    247
    143
    this is because its not a hardware issue ..... its an android issue....... eris, ally, devour, droid, incredible, all complaining about it........ dunno bout other HTC phones cause I only look around on forums for VZW phones....... but Im sure they are experiencing the same thing...... I do know the hero has the same problem
     
  4. Vmanisme

    Vmanisme Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    599
    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2010

    Jun 19, 2010
    599
    149
    93
    Virginia
    Yep incredible are getting about 4 hours on standby.... Such a great OS with such a horrible bug... Not nice
     
  5. ACD168

    ACD168 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,885
    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2010

    Apr 30, 2010
    1,885
    162
    143
    I have the 50% bug, running Eris, and I personally have no problems going a full day two days on a charge.
    everyone is different has has different set up. I don't have 3g on when I'm not using the phone. saves me tremedous battery/
     
  6. xAusTiN

    xAusTiN Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    224
    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010

    Jan 5, 2010
    224
    14
    38
    Cleveland, Ohio
    Anyone else here NOT have the 50% bug? Mine says 0%.
     
  7. lilbballer27

    lilbballer27 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    454
    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2010

    A little off topic, but how do you tell if you have the 50% bug?
     
  8. xx_bishop_xx

    xx_bishop_xx Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,311
    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009

    Dec 18, 2009
    1,311
    173
    163
    Texas
    Check:

    Settings > About phone > Battery > Battery use > Cell Standby

    Check the use details. Look for something there that says time without signal 50%.
     
  9. lilbballer27

    lilbballer27 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    454
    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2010

    Mine says 3% so I am good?
     
  10. It IS Lupus

    It IS Lupus Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    44
    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2010

    Jun 2, 2010
    44
    1
    36
    Glen Burnie MD
    Gahhh, that means i have it. Can anything be done about it without getting a referb?
     
  11. Podivin

    Podivin Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    3,679
    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009

    Nov 29, 2009
    3,679
    881
    213
    Jacksonville, Fl
    Refurbs have it too - my phone is a refurb and has the 'bug'. I submit that since you didn't know you had a problem until you knew where to look, that there isn't really a problem at all. Some folks feel (myself included) that this doesn't really cause a problem on the phone. I can go 24hrs on my phone before a charge, to me that's more than required (since I'm rarely awake 24 hours at a stretch, and I always charge my phone while I sleep)
     
  12. rjj130

    rjj130 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    52
    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2010

    Mar 18, 2010
    52
    3
    16
    Just doing a Google search, and posted this on the LG Ally sub forum.

    My wife's Ally has this issue as well. My Incredible does not though.

    Has anyone found any clue how to get around this issue? I'm reluctant to confront Verizon about it because they'll just swap out for a new phone and if it's a software issues then a simple phone swap will not fix it.
     
  13. xx_bishop_xx

    xx_bishop_xx Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,311
    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009

    Dec 18, 2009
    1,311
    173
    163
    Texas
    Try this method, it has been known to work:

    "Airplane Trick"

    Plug your phone into the charger.

    Put your phone into airplane mode.

    Let the phone sleep/screen goes black.

    Unplug phone from charger

    Take it out of airplane more.

    (This would have to be done each time you power cycle the phone)
     
  14. ipenguin4

    ipenguin4 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2010

    Aug 6, 2010
    1
    0
    5
    Try this:
    Go to Market
    Search and download Advanced Task Killer Free
    Open it and click KILL Selected apps(there will automatically be apps checked and running)

    If this doesn't work, turn Wi-Fi off. Saves a TON of battery! My Ally used to last, maybe 6 hours. Now, 28+!
     
  15. 5thAgent

    5thAgent Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    106
    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2010

    Feb 14, 2010
    106
    3
    56
    Package Handler at FedEx
    Lutz, FL, USA
    I really really really don't like task killers. I hate to call you out on your first post, ipenguin4, but my battery life nearly doubled when I uninstalled my task killer.
     
  16. bjf88

    bjf88 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    384
    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2009

    Dec 13, 2009
    384
    37
    43
    I'm pretty sure I've had the 50% time w/o signal "bug" since OTA... and I really don't think it makes a difference at all. It's a glitch in the system, not an actual problem causing bug.

    Battery life is dependent, MOST OF ALL, on the user. Make sure to turn off things you aren't using, like wifi and gps. Back out of apps to ensure they close properly. Check your sync settings. And don't use a task killer. They are just a waste of energy, time and anxiety, believe me. If you don't, go a little research here on the forums about the topic.
     
  17. paleodust

    paleodust Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    128
    Posts:
    1,023
    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009

    Dec 19, 2009
    1,023
    71
    128
    Male
    Finance
    Utah
    I'm able to make it go away with only the following steps (The others seem to be unnecessary...):

    Put your phone into airplane mode.

    Take it out of airplane mode.
     

Share This Page

Loading...