1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root G1: are you getting Froyo to work ? considering rom vs new phone

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by brjoon1021, Sep 1, 2010.

  1. brjoon1021

    brjoon1021 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    9
    Joined:
    May 12, 2009

    May 12, 2009
    9
    1
    6
    I like my G1, but it is too slow. I don't have very many apps installed and it is still too slow. I went ahead and bought the big battery in case I decide to stick with it for another 6 months or so... which I think that I am going to do.

    mostly i want it to run faster. My phone can barely handle running google maps and navigation which I NEED. I have read that Froyo is the fastest android release yet. But, when I skim through the cyanogen thread about the froyo release it looks like a lot of problems people are having.

    1. Have you gotten a Froyo based flash to work ?
    2. If so, is it faster ?
    3. If not, then what rom has worked well for you.
     

    Advertisement

    chipbabini likes this.
  2. fratermus

    fratermus Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    202
    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2010

    A class 6 /sdcard with ~32MB swap partition should help speed things up a bit.
     
    chipbabini likes this.
  3. chipbabini

    chipbabini Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2010

    Sep 22, 2010
    1
    0
    5
    Dude my contracts up this April and I'm switching away from T-mobile for signal reasons....in the mean time I have spent too many hours trying to perfect my poor G1. So many issues for this phone from battery life to the teething pains of android. I seemingly have it squared away, from much trial and error...
    Recovery image from amon ra (most recent), danger SPL and running the newest nightly Cyanogenmod build...
    I bought the $1.99 setcpu app and set it for performance at 576 mhz.
    Also combed through the settings and turned off all animations etc.
    I bought a $11 extended batt off amazon and i can get a full days normal use out of the old G1.

    Hope this helps
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...