1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

General G1 Bugs

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by stabby, Oct 23, 2008.

  1. WLCD

    WLCD Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2008

    Oct 30, 2008
    2
    0
    5
    yeah i have that same problem with my mda i wasnt expecting it from this phone but it is the phone not the service cause my old skool phone with n colour uses aim very profricienty
     

    Advertisement

  2. bonh

    bonh Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    42
    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2008

    Oct 9, 2008
    42
    2
    36
    south florida
    When using a bluetooth headset and on a call-- if you play a song in the music player, or stream music it will play the song in your headset in low quality(phone quality). Once you end the call it switches back the handset.
     
  3. Dimath

    Dimath Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    28
    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2008

    Sep 11, 2008
    28
    0
    15
    Each time I connect to wireless GTalk change status from invisible to visible without show the change in the GTalk application. These changes are reported by open gmail web-page (if it is open, of course).

    AIM is really slow... And I would like to see AIM status sign in the contact list the same way as gtalk green/yellow/red circle shows.

    My alarm and gps work fine, I guess.
     
  4. bicky1124

    bicky1124 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2008

    Nov 4, 2008
    2
    0
    5
    Quick question does anyone know why when your calling a myfave or they are calling you that the icon or picture doesn't show up? Also I want to know if it's possible to group the call log? I hate scrolling through 100 of the same number to find one I called a couple days previosly. :thinking:
     
  5. G1Apps

    G1Apps Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2008

    Nov 9, 2008
    4
    0
    5
    Web Developer / Entrepeneur
    Perth, Australia
    Crosspost from : http://www.androidforums.com/showthread.php?t=1772
    I generally have wifi available in my office and at home, so the phone stays connected to the wifi AP..

    BUT I have noticed, if the screen locks, when i 'wake' the phone up, the 3G icon shows (along with white flashing arrows of activity) momentarilly before the wifi icon replaces it.

    The same thing happened today when I hung up from a phone call - 3G icon flashed for a couple seconds before wifi came back.

    Does the G1 revert to 3G when on a phonecall or when the screen is locked? if so, and data-rich apps are running in the background, surely this is a huge waste of 3G data allowance?

    Or is this just a bug - like I hope, and wifi is remaining connected when available (which let's face it, is how it should be) :thinking:
     
  6. ackray

    ackray Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    12
    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2008

    Nov 1, 2008
    12
    0
    15
    I had the phone on the USB cable, mounted.

    Started playing backgammon and unplugged the USB from phone. Note: Backgammon requires the display to shift to landscape mode.

    After I quit the game the phone stayed in Landscape mode. Tried Power off. then pulled battery. Still stuck.

    Uninstalled Backgammon and powercycled the phone a few times again.

    It was still stuck in landscape mode and the only app would would make it change was bubble - the level app.

    I gave up trying to sort it out and then plugged it into the USB cable again and the display reset to portrait mode again. :)

    I just now recreated the problem and the 'fix' . Anyone else having this problem?

    Edit:
    This ended up being a permanent condition and required a replacement handset from T-Mobile which they were very good about.
     
  7. chosun

    chosun Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    15
    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2008

    Oct 21, 2008
    15
    0
    15
    When using an application: if the phone is out of service and comes back into service, whatever application you're using seems to crash. I take the NYC subway every morning to work, and there's one point where the train crosses the Manhattan bridge where I get signal. Without fail, my phone seems to crash at that point.

    Also, does anyone else think this phone/OS is absolutely terrible at memory management? After a day or two of use, the response becomes borderline unusable until I power-cycle. A way to kill applications in the background would be a helpful thing, I think...

    I had the first gen iPhone prior to the G1, and I must say that it was much more responsive overall. There were times it would stutter, but overall the touch response was on point. This phone seems to not recognize inputs from the touch screen as readily as the iPhone does. On the other hand, the iPhone doesn't have applications running in the background, which may account for it's responsiveness.

    Overall, I'm happy I switched to the G1...I just hate that I need to reset the damn thing so often to keep it responsive at an acceptable level.
     
  8. Matt Soreco

    Matt Soreco Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2008

    Nov 13, 2008
    7
    0
    5
    I found this bug with the gmail app.

    About half the time, when I click into gmail, I go into an old conversation. Mind you before I navigate out of gmail, I go "back to inbox".

    I find when I'm trapped in a conversaion (rather than going straight to the inbox), there are new e-mails, but no alert popped up.
     
  9. stinkynelson

    stinkynelson Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    20
    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2008

    Nov 20, 2008
    20
    0
    15
    The music library groups all mp3s together that aren't associated with an album. So, if an artist has a song in this group, the Unknown Album shows up under that artist with ALL the unknown album songs in it, regardless of artist.

    So, in my library I have 133 song files that have no album data. When I view an artist like the Beatles, I see the 4 albums that I have and, because I have 1 Beatles song file with no album data, I see the Unknown Album with 133 songs in it. Anyone else find this to be really irritating?
     
  10. lgbr

    lgbr Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2008

    Nov 20, 2008
    1
    0
    5
    Google talk crashes when contacts have a '%' symbol in their e-mail (when you either try to open a chat with them, or if they send you a message). This is especially annoying for those of us who use jabber transports, as % signs are used in e-mail addresses for those.
     
  11. Seby86

    Seby86 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    15
    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2008

    Nov 25, 2008
    15
    0
    15
    terrible reception at my house when the rest of the Tmo users have good reception.. wat gives. My brother has a Nokia 5310 Music Express phone and he gets full bars, and I cant even manage one with the G1. I would like to use my phone at home. that would be very nice...
     
  12. derkk

    derkk Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    30
    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2008

    Nov 19, 2008
    30
    0
    15

    It could be your 3G reception. Turn of 3G and see if it gets better on EDGE
     
  13. GRardB

    GRardB Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    47
    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2008

    Dec 6, 2008
    47
    15
    38
    My phone book/contact list disappears randomly sometimes and I have to resync it. Is there any way to keep your contacts on your SIM or maybe the SD Card?

    As with others, the IM client is absolute crap. Slow load, most buddies never show up, I get signed out randomly without warning, etc.

    The Maps application is extremely bad at pointing out my location. I'll press "My Location" at my house, and it will "find" me about 3-5 blocks away even with GPS on. I tried it at school and it pointed to somewhere in the same city, but nowhere even remotely close to my school. What gives?

    Besides that, I think everything else is alright.
     
  14. GODMODE

    GODMODE Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    197
    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2008



    At least yours thinks you are on Earth! I am in Boston area as well, and the GPS sucks most of the time.
     
  15. GODMODE

    GODMODE Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    197
    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2008

    Sometimes the phone will dial, but nothing happens. I have to reboot. Sometimes, when I am using the phone, and have to access the keypad, the phone reboots as well. What a pain in the arse.
     
  16. guitarjuggalo

    guitarjuggalo Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2008

    Dec 11, 2008
    1
    0
    5
    I was using my G1 at work. I had my 3.5mm headphone jack adapter plugged in and my headphones plugged in listening to music. During this period I received a text message. When I went to try and check it it kept pulling me back to the music player and would not let me exit the music player to go to the home screen. The phone just kept flashing through all the songs on my SD and wasn't even playing the songs really, just like 3 seconds of each one. I tried removing the battery, but when it was put back in it was still doing the same thing. The only way I could get this to stop was to remove the headphone adapter from the phone. The phone finally let me close the music player and check my text messages once this was done. I thought I might share this in case anyone else runs into a freaky issue like this.
     
  17. chosun

    chosun Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    15
    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2008

    Oct 21, 2008
    15
    0
    15
    I don't know if anyone else has been experiencing this, but I find that I need to reset my phone every day or two to keep it reacting quickly. Basically, it starts lagging in response to a touch response, and starts doing everything with a serious delay. I generally don't run anything too intensive, but I find that the memory management in the O/S seems to be lacking. Has anyone else experienced this as well or am I crazy/impatient?

    I have 5 email addresses on the phone, along with like 400+ contacts. I don't have all the email addresses automatically checking, but I do receive a good number of text messages, which may be slowing things down...
     
  18. KeEp +

    KeEp + Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    28
    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2008

    Dec 16, 2008
    28
    0
    35
    There's an issue with taking pics on my phone. Half of the pic comes out distorted in a weird ass way other times it gets all messed up with some funky colors . Good thing is that it doesn't happen too often but it annoys me when it does cuz it makes me think there's something wrong with my phone.
     
  19. iaindownie

    iaindownie Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2008

    Dec 12, 2008
    7
    0
    5
    Twice now ilve had a auto reset of the phone.
    1. Made a call, during the call I tried to look up my contacts to find my mate a number. Didn't have it so went back to phone app and it promptly reset.
    2. Was composing a txt today, someone phoned - I answered at the prompt and it again reset!
    Anyone else get this?
    Apart from that great wee gizmo...
    Spawny
     
  20. chosun

    chosun Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    15
    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2008

    Oct 21, 2008
    15
    0
    15
    That happened to me a couple times, but it's relatively rare. I recently deleted all my recent calls and text messages (I had a LOT of both), and everything seems to be running a bit faster. Then again, I haven't been on the phone much over the past few days.
     
  21. juslisen

    juslisen Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    9
    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2008

    Dec 21, 2008
    9
    0
    5
    Has anyone had a problem with "Hello AIM" so far? I know some people says that it signs you out quite a bit, but is anyone else experiencing the same thing? I'm a heavy AIM user and I'm signed in 24/7 on my Sidekick LX it would suck for me to switch over tomorrow and my AIM is glitched.
     
  22. spanish

    spanish Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2008

    Dec 19, 2008
    2
    0
    5
    In order to save pics sent in text msgs u have to hold down that particular pic or text box its in until it kind of blinks out & gives u the opt to download or save image.
     
  23. spanish

    spanish Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2008

    Dec 19, 2008
    2
    0
    5
    Have u tried taking the battery out daily? Sumtimes the phones signal gets stuck & just shutting it off & back on kind of puts it in this "standby" mode. But taking the battery out daily or every 2 days should help if not u have to call ur phone carrier & see the coverage in ur area.
     
  24. GRardB

    GRardB Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    47
    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2008

    Dec 6, 2008
    47
    15
    38
    Every AIM application on the G1 is messed up in some way. Hello AIM! is the best out of all of them, but it does disconnect you occasionally.

    I found a new bug regarding SMS contact suggesting (I posted this is another thread):

    If you add your contacts through Google Contacts on a computer, the mobile numbers will be under the category "mobile". If you add them through the phone, mobile numbers will be under "Mobile" with a capital "M". SMS contact guessing will ONLY pick up the numbers under "Mobile," not "mobile". This is an extremely annoying bug. I had to go through most of my contacts and change them manually this morning after I figured it out.
     
  25. newmiracle

    newmiracle Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2008

    Dec 29, 2008
    3
    0
    5
    Thank you thank you thank you- I have been having this problem alot. I've had my phone for a couple days, and it's frozen several times. It definitely seems like the phone is "overloaded". PLEASE someone weigh in on this. I hate having to take my battery out, and there should at least be a keycombo to restart the thing. It hasn't frozen since I've read about the "soft restart" (home + power for 20 secs), so I'll try that next. But I'd really like to know how to avoid crashes, because that's really bogus.

    I see alot of people talking about this in my google searches on the subject. But there doesn't seem to be alot of solid answers. Someone help, please!
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...