1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

General G1 is getting eclair!

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by tisti, Dec 25, 2009.

  1. tisti

    tisti Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    145
    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2009

    Sep 20, 2009
    145
    5
    36

    Advertisement

  2. Mr.DNA

    Mr.DNA Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    124
    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2009

    Jul 29, 2009
    124
    3
    36
    galaxy and g1 share their specs?
     
  3. tisti

    tisti Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    145
    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2009

    Sep 20, 2009
    145
    5
    36
    Same chipset/processor and the same quantity of RAM.

    Everyone was worried that eclair wouldn't be possible on the G1 due to its low RAM and small system partition size. The galaxy has more than enough built in memory (8GBs) so the only concern we have is whether or not eclair can work with 128MB(+64 onboard) of RAM.

    And it seems it can. :)
     
  4. mkrmec

    mkrmec Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    236
    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2009

    Oct 27, 2009
    236
    10
    38
    Explain something to me please.

    Galaxy has 8 GB of built in memory. Is the SYStem on this memory or some other?
    And why don't they enable swap by default for performance boost, it's only 200MB max?
     
  5. Andronix

    Andronix Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    676
    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2009

    Aug 31, 2009
    676
    16
    63
    sd swap will bring performance boost for apps that require more ram (browser), but generally it will lessen responsiveness of the os.

    galaxy with 192mb ram is like win95 with 8megs. samsung had a lot of time to recognise failure of G1 hw design, but they managed to repeat the most obvious flow.
     
  6. mrqs

    mrqs Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    128
    Posts:
    1,446
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2009

    it would also chop the phone' lifespan somewhat by killing the sd

    tho' it seems like samsung doesn't really care much about the lifespan of their phones...
     
  7. Andronix

    Andronix Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    676
    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2009

    Aug 31, 2009
    676
    16
    63
    use external sdcard so no worry about phone lifespan ;)
     
  8. tisti

    tisti Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    145
    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2009

    Sep 20, 2009
    145
    5
    36
    The built in 8GB is divided into a 1GB system partition and a 7GB SD partition.
     
  9. mrqs

    mrqs Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    128
    Posts:
    1,446
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2009

    can't do that by default tho' as not every galaxy has an external sd

     
  10. mkrmec

    mkrmec Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    236
    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2009

    Oct 27, 2009
    236
    10
    38
    The system is on the same SDcard as the swap would be why would it shorten the lifespan of the sd card? I mean, the system is allready using it the swap won't do anything worse to it than the system.
     
  11. skandalfo

    skandalfo Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    25
    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2009

    Oct 22, 2009
    25
    1
    16
    System is mostly read only, while swap is heavy duty read/write. Flash memory has a limited life regarding erase/rewrite cycles. That's what makes a difference.
     
  12. mkrmec

    mkrmec Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    236
    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2009

    Oct 27, 2009
    236
    10
    38
    One other thing.. is the internal space a SD card thing or some samsungs flash chip or something like that?
     

Share This Page

Loading...