1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support G1 on ATT 3G network

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by pcchameleon, Oct 22, 2008.

  1. pcchameleon

    pcchameleon Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    18
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2008

    Sep 28, 2008
    18
    1
    16
    Can anyone confirm that a unlocked G1 works or will work on the ATT 3G network? The T-mobile 3G network is not coming to Indianapolis anytime soon so I was hoping to get a unlocked G1 and stay on ATT...I heard it does and doesn't...just wanted a confirmation to put me in the right direction. Thanks
     

    Advertisement

  2. sleebus.jones

    sleebus.jones Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    240
    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2008

    Sep 27, 2008
    240
    0
    35
    Houston, TX
    Different 3G frequencies, won't work, ever.
     
  3. pcchameleon

    pcchameleon Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    18
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2008

    Sep 28, 2008
    18
    1
    16
    crap... any other compatible carriers or am I just %@#!ed? I don't understand why anyone would care that much about an unlocked G1 if you can't use it for any other carrier...
     
  4. noderat

    noderat Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    39
    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2008

    Oct 21, 2008
    39
    2
    16
    T-Mobile Customer Care Representative
    It'll still function on EDGE and Wifi but no 3G for any other carrier in the USA. T-Mobile only bought spectrum for 3G on certain freq. that AT&T doesn't use.

    Be on the lookout though there are already chipsets being produced that work on both sets of the spectrum so there will be universal 3G handsets produced soon, but just not the G1
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...