1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

General G1 Unlocking ... How'd you do it?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by AudaciousQuip, Nov 1, 2009.

  1. AudaciousQuip

    AudaciousQuip Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009

    Oct 29, 2009
    6
    0
    5
    Anyone here have an unlocked G1 running on another network?

    I'm on AT&T and I bought this G1 used, with the intention of unlocking it. Every site I go to says the G1 is unlockable remotely, with a PIN. However, I've actually paid two sites so far, and they have both told me that they can't come up with an unlock code for my particular IMEI#.

    Anyone else have trouble like this? If I mail it in to a business that specializes in mobile unlocking, will they have more success? Anyone have a place to recommend?

    Thanks ...
     

    Advertisement

  2. mstrakt

    mstrakt Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    9
    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2009

    Nov 2, 2009
    9
    0
    5
    Student Nurse
  3. summedic

    summedic Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2009

    Nov 2, 2009
    1
    0
    5
    I am also considering trying to get an unlocked G1 to use on AT&T. Is there anyone out there that has done this and can give me some feedback as to how good the service is, and once I unlock is there anything else I need to do to get all the functions to work. Thanks. :)
     
  4. cellfservices

    cellfservices Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009

    Nov 1, 2009
    2
    0
    5
    The majority of G1s are unlocked remotely and codes are found 95% of the time. The 5% of the time that they are not found is when the phone has been reported as being "lost or stolen". That being said, if you purchased the phone off of e-bay or other third party classifieds, who knows what happened to it.

    For those of you looking to buy phones, a useful tip would be to ask the owner for the IMEI because you would like to unlock the phone when you receive it. As an unlock code wholesaler and retailer, the HTC/Google G1 codes can be generated instantly. The ones that do not come back are called "Not Found" and those different services MUST refund you if it is not found.

    We'd be willing to give it a shot, but if the other people could not get it, the chances are that the the IMEI/Code has been deleted from the HTC databases.
     
  5. pacothebandit

    pacothebandit Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    296
    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2009

    Mar 11, 2009
    296
    6
    36
    I asked TMO to get mine...if at all possible find someone willing to part with one that is already on TMO...
     
  6. AudaciousQuip

    AudaciousQuip Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009

    Oct 29, 2009
    6
    0
    5
    The Blowfish code worked. That guy's the real deal.
     
  7. david22

    david22 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009

    Dec 11, 2009
    3
    0
    5
  8. griffan

    griffan Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    16
    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009

    Dec 28, 2009
    16
    0
    15
    even if you unlock it and get it onto at&t can you still acces the ap store if your not on the corect network?
     
  9. NickPavs

    NickPavs Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009

    Dec 29, 2009
    2
    0
    5
    You will have no problems accessing the Android Market as long as you provision your APM settings according to AT&T's network.

    Follow this tutorial, I did it last week when I unlocked my G1 and things have been running great: YouTube - Setup AT&T Data on Unlocked Google G1
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...