1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

General G2 / HTC Vision / G1 Blaze

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by thesloth, Aug 13, 2010.

  1. thesloth

    thesloth Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    17
    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2010

    Mar 15, 2010
    17
    0
    15
    this is the sequel to the g1, which will be t-mobile's first hspa+ phone.

    i once thought that at&t 3g was also hspa.

    will this phone be able to run unlocked on at&t?

    thanksss!
     

    Advertisement

  2. MarcMaiden

    MarcMaiden Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    590
    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010

    Jan 13, 2010
    590
    201
    113
    Bay Area, ca
    they run on the same type of 3g yes, but at different frequencies

    so you can use it on at&t, just not at&t 3g
     
  3. HustlinDaily

    HustlinDaily Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,141
    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2010

    Apr 6, 2010
    1,141
    105
    163
    Student
    Sugar Land, TX
    Unless HTC makes lets it support multiple 3G bands which would have to include 850MHz and/or 1900MHz.
     
  4. thejdubb02

    thejdubb02 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    54
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010

    Jun 7, 2010
    54
    3
    36
    Exactly, you just need to change the APN's in the phone to match AT&T's network and you should be good to go.

    These should work:

    name: AT&T
    apn:wap.cingular
    proxy blank
    port blank
    username:wap.cingulargps.com
    password:CINGULAR1 must be in caps
    server blank
    mmsc:mmsc.cingular.com
    mms proxy: blank
    mms port:80
    mcc:310
    mnc:410
    apn type blank
     
  5. HustlinDaily

    HustlinDaily Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,141
    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2010

    Apr 6, 2010
    1,141
    105
    163
    Student
    Sugar Land, TX
    There is a possibility that this phone could be locked to T-Mobile as well.

    Honestly tho, it looks like a Desire with a keyboard. I think you would be better off getting a Nexus which does work on AT&T 3G
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...