1. Are you ready for the Galaxy S20? Here is everything we know so far!

Root Galaxy ace rooting noob *advice please*

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by lezbatt, Aug 4, 2013.

1. lezbatt

lezbatt Lurker

Hey,

As the title says I'm a noob to rooting. I've jail broken iphones I've had but never rooted.

I have the galaxy ace (gt-5830) on three uk running 2.3.6 and my baseband is s5830nekt2.

I was hoping you guys could help me find some good threads.

My questions are:

• If I use super one click will it be like jail breaking with a program such as red snow on the iphone?
    • Can I have a custom boot image that I have designed myself?

• What program should I use if I brick my phone?
    • Can I update to a custom firmware after rooting?

I've looked through tons of threads but was just wondering if anyone knows some reliable ways of doing what I would like to do?

thanks guys :D

Advertisement

2. ayush29k

ayush29k Android Expert

Depends on where all you have been looking :D
    If you have been reading threads in this forum or at the xda forums, then you can be quite sure they are mostly reliable, but still read the user reviews. If you have been reading individual blogs and stuff then in my personal opinion you may want to visit xda forums to confirm it before attempting it.

I never used an iphone so i cannot compare anything, but its quite easy to do if you understand what you are doing, just blindly following the steps my well leave you baffled and completely panicked in case something goes wrong.
    As for rooting this phone, you are runnning 2.3.6 firmware, i don't think you need superoneclick to root it, you can just put a zip file on your sd card and flash it through the phone's recovery mode, and you'll be rooted.