• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Root Galaxy Android hacking

Terry

Nov 11, 2009
OK, I know I'm a noob (some might say nob), but I've been hanging around on #i7500 and fancy getting into poking around with some of the stuff that's being talked about regarding android 2.x on the galaxy. The problem is I have no idea where to start.

So the big question is what am I going to need to get into it?
Treat me like an idiot, because I am. I pretty much know nothing right now so if someone could take some time to give a run down of the basics that would be very much appreciated.

For starters.... Do I need to be running Linux? If so, should it be on the metal or will a VM do? I can do either. I have some experience with Debian and Ubuntu, so getting a system running is not a problem. I assume I will need the Samsung sources and Google's android 2.0 sources. What other software will I need? I see talk of an arm tool chain, so I guess I'll be needing that?

I know this is a big ask, but if I can get a bit of info to get the ball rolling, I can ask more sensible questions as I get more with it. Some stuff I'm sure I'll be able to find my own way (Google) with, I just need someone to throw me a rope to get started. :)

I shall continue to lurk on the #i7500 channel because I feel there's stuff to learn there, even for me.

I can help by making donations, I just don't feel very involved and I would like to be.

Thanks for any offers of help/pity, I'll take anything I can get.

Regards Terry.

Don't consider this post as the answer to your question, because I'm as confused as you are about all this. But I can tell you what I know so far.

So. They say it's best to use Linux. It doesn't have to be on metal. VM will do. On this link there is a guide on how to build a kernel for Galaxy. I had some troubles with it, but finally I managed to build it, so if you get stuck, maybe I can help.