1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Galaxy GT-I9100G OS Update

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by nikhil24, Jan 9, 2012.

1. nikhil24

nikhil24 Lurker
    None

Jan 9, 2012
    Hi,

My dad bought a Samsung Galaxy S2 from KSA.
    Below are the details:

GT-I9100G
    Android 2.3.4
    Baseband Version: I9100GDZKH5
    Kernel Version: 2.6.35.7 root@DELL81 #2
    Build Number: GINGERBREAD.JPKH8

Thing is, I am in India.
    When I try to upgrade the firm ware using Kies over WiFi (have given up on finding a solution to the USB cable problem) it says No Firmware upgrade available.

I'm a complete newbie at android but have seen a lot of posts saying that update for Gingerbread 2.3.6 is available for this model.

Can someone help me with understanding if im doing something wrong coz I dont really want to miss out the updates.

Also, since my dad created his own samsung account on the phone, I cant seem to remove that and put mine instead.

Any help for this would really help me a lot :)

Advertisement

2. Shotgun84

Shotgun84 Android Expert

May 30, 2011
    Whatever he said.
    Cambridgeshire, England
    Welcome to android forum nikhil24

It may be because of your service provider. Some carriers will release updates before others so if kies tells you there isn't an update its because you're on the latest available. It could also be because you have the G version. I'm not too familiar with that model but I know it has different firmware to the gt so it may be the case that they are just further behind.

To add your google account go to settings, accounts and sync and then add account. After adding your new account you can long press on your dads one to remove it.

3. Medion

Medion Android Expert
    None

Aug 14, 2010
    Male
    Auburn, WA