1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Galaxy S 2 - Optimization

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by layton87, Jun 6, 2011.

  1. layton87

    layton87 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2011

    Jun 4, 2011
    6
    0
    5
    Hey guys, new to the forums, so im unsure as to whether this has been completely covered or not but here goes...

    I've basically had my GS2 since the first week of release in the UK...Rooted it recently using Odin and superoneclick, think it's on KE1 if my memory serves...

    Basically i rooted with the intention of making my phone a powerhouse by removing/freezing bloatware, making more RAM available and potentially overclocking the CPU. I ran linpack after freezing alot of bloatware, which lowered amount of RAM in use..and my linpack score came out at around 4'500 i think...I'm running the basic touchwiz launcher that came with the phone.

    So i was wondering if anyone had some advice regarding further optimization i should look into...

    thanks in advance
     

    Advertisement

  2. Blue1k

    Blue1k Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    608
    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2009

    Oct 1, 2009
    608
    190
    93
    Teacher/Web Design
    Cloverdale, BC
    You could try flashing some custom roms? There a few on XDA developers that have better linpack scores.
     
  3. layton87

    layton87 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2011

    Jun 4, 2011
    6
    0
    5
    cool, when i can get back to my house in manc, ill use the PC there again to put some roms on...In the meantime, what are people's average RAM status read outs?...
     
  4. Gearu

    Gearu Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    783
    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2011

    Apr 13, 2011
    783
    86
    78
    Mine goes under 200 after I press the RAM cleaner/app closer button. I'd had it to 175 total used.
     
  5. Baines93

    Baines93 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    33
    Joined:
    May 31, 2011

    May 31, 2011
    33
    6
    16
    Mine goes as low as about 240mb used once the memory is flushed...

    I don't see the need for other roms yet... none take my fancy, and the phone is already a powerhouse?! - and, it already eats battery :p

    Installing bloat freezer or titanium backup pro, and freezing all the hubs, wifi sharing, voice search etc. must have made the phone even more zippy? I didn't benchmark before/after unfortunately, but it must have helped too.
     
  6. layton87

    layton87 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2011

    Jun 4, 2011
    6
    0
    5
    yeah mine can clear to around 175mb sometimes..ive got autokiller through root on its extreme preset and that seems to be helping somewhat....I'm sure there's more i can freeze or remove, though im a little cautious of causing problems.....Looking into the Lite'ning Rom over on XDA, looks good...
     
  7. XplosiV

    XplosiV Master X is Watching You
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    413
    Posts:
    5,423
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010

    Jun 10, 2010
    5,423
    1,971
    413
    Male
    UK
    As your already rooted you should look into the 'set cpu' app can be used to overclock/underclock the cpu. I just don't really see why you would want to risk burning out a
     
  8. SilverDroid

    SilverDroid Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    73
    Posts:
    191
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2011

    Jun 10, 2011
    191
    69
    73
     
    XplosiV likes this.

Share This Page

Loading...