1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Galaxy s branded or not

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by chrisully, Oct 18, 2010.

  1. chrisully

    chrisully Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    12
    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010

    Jun 9, 2010
    12
    0
    15

    Advertisement

  2. TheSippler

    TheSippler Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    21
    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2010

    Jul 26, 2010
    21
    0
    15
    What network is it on and when did he get the phone?
     
  3. snapper.fishes

    snapper.fishes Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    2,279
    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2010

    Jul 13, 2010
    2,279
    263
    163
    If you get the default Galaxy S booting screen (instead of AT&T or some other carriers), it's probably not branded.
     
  4. karnka

    karnka Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    800
    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2010

    Feb 15, 2010
    800
    58
    78
    Newcastle, England
    From mr fish's sig:
    *#1234# :SW Version

    Put that into the dialler. The CSC shown is of the format:
    I9000XXXYYY

    The XXX is the carrier that the ROM is tied to. In my lamentable case TMU (T-Mobile UK). I believe XEU is the truly unbranded one.
     
  5. seepage

    seepage Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    442
    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2010

    Aug 16, 2010
    442
    30
    43
    mine is OXA which I think is unbranded.
     
  6. big_mike

    big_mike Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    520
    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2010

    Jul 21, 2010
    520
    39
    88
    Male
    Head Chef
    Worcester, UK
    mine says tmu but i have nothing on the actual phone that says it tmobile
    i have the S boot screen too.
     
  7. karnka

    karnka Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    800
    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2010

    Feb 15, 2010
    800
    58
    78
    Newcastle, England
    Mike, as with mine. I believe the early T-Mobile stock didn't have the splash screen but is still identified as a T-Mobile ROM.
     
    big_mike likes this.
  8. chrisully

    chrisully Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    12
    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010

    Jun 9, 2010
    12
    0
    15
    its all networks brand new, had to send off to carpfone wherehouse had a bois fault would not let me do the 3 button thing for the bootloader
     
  9. sean2476

    sean2476 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    19
    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2010

    Oct 20, 2010
    19
    1
    16
    Livingston [UK]
    If your phone is branded then it's easy to unbrand with a simple kies registry hack. My handset was branded on the uk Vodafone network and was bloated with their crap. I done the kies hack and changed it from VOD to XEU in a matter of minutes and updated my rom to 2.1. I have since updated my handset to froyo 2.2 using a Swedish code XEE
     

Share This Page

Loading...