1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

General Galaxy S II (Hercules) Coming Oct 12, 2011

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Homeuser66, Oct 6, 2011.

  1. Homeuser66

    Homeuser66 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #187
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    148
    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2011

    Sep 11, 2011
    148
    11
    68
    Male
    Locomotive Engineer
    U.S.A. Connecticut
    Ok, since there aren't any posts about this phone here yet, I'll start one..

    I called and confirmed, the Galaxy S II known as the Hercules at TM, will be available on Oct. 12th, 2011. I just hope there are no issues like the G2x had because they were Mass-Produced. I am currently using a BB 9700 without the Data Plan. I most likely will be using the $10/mo Data plan for starters..
     

    Advertisement

  2. lilotimz

    lilotimz Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    31
    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2011

    Sep 26, 2011
    31
    6
    16
  3. khaddem

    khaddem Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    43
    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2010

    Feb 14, 2010
    43
    1
    16
    i have a bb 9700 and my wife has htc sensation 4g but i will wait for a real life dog fight between htc amaze 4g and tmo galaxy s2. I am debating between these 2 and i hope the price will go down during the holidays and many people have reviewed before i buy. The galaxy looks good from all the reviews i read but i wonder if it will handle well on tmobile network. I wonder if the tmo galaxy s2 has notification light to warn you when u have a message or missed a call? I wonder if tmo will allow us to remove the bloatware they installed just like Sprint and ATT have done for their customers on the new galaxy s2 series?
     
  4. MisterEd

    MisterEd Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    771
    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2010

    Apr 15, 2010
    771
    117
    93
    New Joisey
    If you root it you can easily remove anything you want. There is no LED notification light. Only Sprint has that.
     
  5. Homeuser66

    Homeuser66 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #187
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    148
    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2011

    Sep 11, 2011
    148
    11
    68
    Male
    Locomotive Engineer
    U.S.A. Connecticut
    I heard about Rooting and may try it, but for now, I'll probably just stick with stock. I don't know anything about Droid phones, but will learn...

    khaddem: I hope things go smooth with it. I plan on getting it the week it comes out, or I might wait a bit like you to see how it is from others. However, only problem with that is, something else better might come out and I'd want to wait for that...lol...Check with me (PM or something) and Ill let you know if I have it and how I like it. I was going to get the G2x at first, then saw the Galaxy S was better, and also heard the HTC Sensation 4G was good, but this GS2 was the best, so here I am, waiting agian.....
     
  6. khaddem

    khaddem Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    43
    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2010

    Feb 14, 2010
    43
    1
    16
    homeuser66, I hear you and i will check with you later on the phone.
    It's a nice phone. debating between Amaze 4G and this phone. My wife has the sensation 4G and it is a nice phone. The fact that i can't remove some of the pre-install apps like the other galaxy S2s on Sprint and ATT is a bummer :(, especially for the price to pay for the phone. I never understood why this phone or galaxy series do not have notification light just like the HTC Sensation or Amaze!! Some of the good points on this phone are the exchange email features, the battery size and the multimedia features.
     
  7. ParishL31

    ParishL31 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    409
    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2010

    Oct 15, 2010
    409
    106
    68
    Student
    Colorado
    The way the cell phone industry moves so quickly, it's impossible to have the best for more than a month or so. The Amaze and S2 will be super powers for a while, but by year end something else will come out that rivals and probably beats it. If you're waiting for the absolute best, you'll be waiting forever. You just have to find a phone you really like and can stick with for a while and get it.

    It definitely sucks, but it's how it always works. I plan on moving from the Vibrant to the S2 at the end of the month. My full upgrade is available on Halloween which allows enough time for enough reviews in case something horribly goes wrong with either the Amaze or S2 on initial launch and I can hear about it.
     
  8. MisterEd

    MisterEd Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    771
    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2010

    Apr 15, 2010
    771
    117
    93
    New Joisey
    It's available now on T-Mobile. Com
    In stores Wednesday.
     
  9. LunchBB

    LunchBB Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    570
    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2011

    Jan 20, 2011
    570
    70
    78
    I'm getting one!
     
  10. LunchBB

    LunchBB Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    570
    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2011

    Jan 20, 2011
    570
    70
    78
    Wasn't a Samsung fan... Now I want to support Sammy in fighting with Apple =)
     
  11. the258

    the258 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    334
    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2011

    Jun 22, 2011
    334
    43
    43
    Medical Distributer
    McAllen TX
    I think its better to wait and get it tomorrow. The gf pre ordered online and its arriving next week.
     
  12. Homeuser66

    Homeuser66 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #187
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    148
    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2011

    Sep 11, 2011
    148
    11
    68
    Male
    Locomotive Engineer
    U.S.A. Connecticut
  13. LunchBB

    LunchBB Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    570
    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2011

    Jan 20, 2011
    570
    70
    78
    One of the reviews said it has no WIFI calling. Is that the case?
     
  14. crowz

    crowz Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    28
    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2011

    Jun 16, 2011
    28
    0
    15
    so after we get this one .. we are going to face some stuff just like the indulge from metro... OMG... battery issues all over again...
     
  15. Homeuser66

    Homeuser66 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #187
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    148
    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2011

    Sep 11, 2011
    148
    11
    68
    Male
    Locomotive Engineer
    U.S.A. Connecticut
    I saw that too...I'm trying to confirm this...He seems to be the only one with this issue...so, it could be user error...not sure..I hope it isn't true...that would be 1 draw-back about the phone.

    EDIT: Ok, so I chatted with an on-line agent. They told me that Wi-Fi calling WAS available.I guess I'll find out tomorow....lol
     
  16. MisterEd

    MisterEd Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    771
    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2010

    Apr 15, 2010
    771
    117
    93
    New Joisey
    Those T-Mo reviews are from people who don't even have the device. They are meaningless.
     
  17. JDMasFCK

    JDMasFCK Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    31
    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2011

    Oct 11, 2011
    31
    2
    16
    I chatted with one of the agents online and they said that they do have Wifi calling. Can't wait to pick it up :D
     
    LunchBB likes this.
  18. LunchBB

    LunchBB Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    570
    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2011

    Jan 20, 2011
    570
    70
    78
    Thanks for asking that question =)
     
  19. MisterEd

    MisterEd Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    771
    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2010

    Apr 15, 2010
    771
    117
    93
    New Joisey

    It seems an XDA user who just got phone claims there is no wi-fi calling on his phone. Once again shows the "lack of knowledge" of their support.

    [Q] WiFi calling - xda-developers
     
  20. Homeuser66

    Homeuser66 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #187
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    148
    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2011

    Sep 11, 2011
    148
    11
    68
    Male
    Locomotive Engineer
    U.S.A. Connecticut
    It says "Wi-fi coming soon" so apparently it will come out with an update so, IT DOES NOT HAVE WIFI CALLING!!!
     
  21. LunchBB

    LunchBB Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    570
    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2011

    Jan 20, 2011
    570
    70
    78
    Where you read that? =)
     
  22. Homeuser66

    Homeuser66 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #187
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    148
    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2011

    Sep 11, 2011
    148
    11
    68
    Male
    Locomotive Engineer
    U.S.A. Connecticut
    A store manager in Orange CT read it to me from her inter-office letter..Ill let you know more tomorow, I am going to the store and look at it. I won't be home from work till 2am-4am....they are required to install a new sim card so the update will work..from what she said...so, I guess it isn't a fact yet...but hopefully, someone out there has one by now and can confirm this...
     
  23. crowz

    crowz Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    28
    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2011

    Jun 16, 2011
    28
    0
    15
    i got one today... put it to full charge...unplugged from the charger at 3:37 pm... i am using it in texting, a few phone calls, facebook and hooked up two emails to it, going to see when the battery will die...
     
  24. crowz

    crowz Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    28
    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2011

    Jun 16, 2011
    28
    0
    15
    no notification LED... :(
     
  25. LunchBB

    LunchBB Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    570
    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2011

    Jan 20, 2011
    570
    70
    78
    Just bought mine! NO WIFI CALLING. The clark said it will be through software update to add WIFI calling back this year. It's not a big deal for me. it's just nice to have WIFI calling when you are out of the country.
     

Share This Page

Loading...