1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

General Galaxy S will not boot past the "Galaxy S" screen on startup

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Bkjames, Jun 25, 2011.

  1. Bkjames

    Bkjames Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2011

    Jun 24, 2011
    2
    0
    5
    Hi Everyone

    This is my first post so i hope its in the correct section

    my Galaxy S will not boot past the "Galaxy S" screen on startup. I have read several posts with the same problem and I have tried all suggestions that I have come across. Here is what I have tried so far:

    1. Removed battery and sim card for several hours - no change
    2. Went into recovery mode (volume up + power + home button). Received a "E:Can't mount /dev/block/mmcblkOp1 (No such file or directory)" and "E:copy_dbdata_media:Can't mount SDCARD: copy default media content failed." error messages.
    3. In recovery mode, performed a "wipe data/factory reset" to restore the phone back to default - still no change
    Do i need to send my phone back to Samsung or take it to a phone shop? or can it be sorted at home?


    Brian
     

    Advertisement

  2. Shine.

    Shine. Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    213
    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2010

    Jul 31, 2010
    213
    33
    43
    Da 'Rock
    Is it a I9000M? If so i had the same problem and my internal sd card was curropt! You could try flashing your stock rom via odin!
     
  3. Bkjames

    Bkjames Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2011

    Jun 24, 2011
    2
    0
    5
    thanks for the reply, how do i go about doing that mate? i haven't a clue about all this lol


    Brian
     
  4. rayhipkiss

    rayhipkiss Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    408
    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2011

    Apr 20, 2011
    408
    87
    53
    Male
    UK
  5. Shine.

    Shine. Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    213
    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2010

    Jul 31, 2010
    213
    33
    43
    Da 'Rock
    Is your phone from bell(canada)? if so its the I9000M? Im very curious now:p
     
  6. babu_zain

    babu_zain Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2012

    Sep 13, 2012
    4
    0
    5
    i m facing same problem with my galaxy s i9000. Anyone have a solution for this?
     

Share This Page

Loading...