1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

General Galaxy S2 2.3.4 - Who's got it?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by SilverDroid, Jul 9, 2011.

  1. SilverDroid

    SilverDroid Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    73
    Posts:
    191
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2011

    Jun 10, 2011
    191
    69
    73
    First impressions are that I dont like the new keyboard.... though Ive literally JUST installed it, so will see if I can get the previous version with swype back :/

    Anyone else got 2.3.4? Thoughts?

    Edit: Flashing instructions @ post 8 http://androidforums.com/2931038-post8.html

    Edit2: There is never a change log released by Samsung so its up to users to work out the differences. So far the things I have noticed that are different are:

    Positives (or general changes):

    1. Colour balance seems better than before.
    2. Google talk added
    3. Lock screen lag gone
    4. No shutter noise when using camera in silent mode
    5. Stronger Wifi signal
    6. Pattern lock screen has been changed
    7. Boot up "samsung" writing location has changed.
    8. Def seems to run cooler when running intensive apps/games compared to previous firmwares
    9. "slightly" better battery usage.
    10. Newer version of Swype
    11. When charging, you know see the charge % on the lock screen.
    12. GPS seems to now connect quicker

    Negatives:

    1. Very slight lag at time when changing screens, or scrolling fast.
    2. Camera is def slower at taking pics. Annoying as hell.

    There is no doubt stuff I have forgotten to mention, so will update this as and when...
     

    Advertisement

    wcharon likes this.
  2. Gearu

    Gearu Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    783
    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2011

    Apr 13, 2011
    783
    86
    78
    Not going to get any updates until they have something I need.
    I use 8pen keyboard anyways.
     
  3. SilverDroid

    SilverDroid Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    73
    Posts:
    191
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2011

    Jun 10, 2011
    191
    69
    73
    OS bug is supposed to be fixed but hey if you dont need that.... fair enough :p
     
  4. vtax

    vtax Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    51
    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2011

    Jun 19, 2011
    51
    6
    36
    NZ
    when is the official release of 2.3.4?
     
  5. andromatix

    andromatix Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    26
    Posts:
    78
    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2011

    Jul 7, 2011
    78
    8
    26
    Male
    Sales
    Canada
    way beyond me for this type of operation......what exactly does 2.3.4 offer?


    question though....

    when it's officially released, is it as simple as using the 'software update' selection in the menu? (i.e. OTA) or perhaps downloading a file to the device for installation?
     
  6. vtax

    vtax Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    51
    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2011

    Jun 19, 2011
    51
    6
    36
    NZ
    battery improvements apparently.
     
  7. SilverDroid

    SilverDroid Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    73
    Posts:
    191
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2011

    Jun 10, 2011
    191
    69
    73
    You'll be waiting a while for an "official" release. It takes 2mins to flash with ODIN and is dead easy. This is a guide to help those who are not aware how to update to 2.3.4 I take no responsibility if you mess up your phone

    1. Download 2.3.4 Stock Rom from Sam firmware here

    Android 2.3.4 for Galaxy S II. - www.SamFirmware.com

    (password when extracting is samfirmware.com)

    2. Download ODIN if you dont already have it as you will need this. You can get it from here Multiupload.com - upload your files to multiple file hosting sites!

    3. Reboot your phone into download mode. To do this first shut down the device. Then, press and hold the down volume key + home button + power button.

    A warning will pop up asking you to confirm if you want to go into download mode (by pressing up) or if you want to cancel (by pressing down) Press up and enter download mode

    4. Start up ODIN on your pc

    From the 2.3.4 RAR file you have download, there will be 3 RAR files inside when you extract.

    Click on PDA, Phone, and CSC, and choose the 3 files so it loads as below.

    PDA - CODE_I9100XXKG1_CL349526_REV02_user_low_ship.tar
    Phone - MODEM_I9100XXKG1_REV_02_CL1034110.tar
    CSC - GT-I9100-CSC-MULTI-OXAKG1.tar

    (here is a picture so you get the idea though the names are different)

    [​IMG]

    The ONLY boxes that should be ticked are Auto reboot and F. Reset time

    5. Connect the phone to the PC via a USB cable and wait for the ID:COM box to turn yellow

    6. Click start to flash the new firmware

    (Do not disconnect the cable or turn off the device, it will reboot when it has finished)

    If anyone wants to know how to root as well ill post info up, though guessing those who read this will either know how to do all this and would have done so, or will be to scared to attempt it even though its dead simple so im going to stop typing :D

    Silver
     
  8. NZtechfreak

    NZtechfreak Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,825
    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2010

    Apr 23, 2010
    1,825
    763
    213
    Medical Doctor
    Auckland, New Zealand
    Its really not hard to flash with Odin, just follow instruction carefully and all should be well. When the official update comes you'll want to be familiar with using Odin, because Kies is such a pig to use anyways.
     
  9. ironass

    ironass Android Expert
    Rank:
     #20
    Points:
    1,343
    Posts:
    11,461
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2010

    Aug 17, 2010
    11,461
    5,683
    1,343
    Male
    Keeping one step ahead of the tax man.
    Cotswolds, England
    Thanks SilverDroid... but do you lose root and Clockwork by doing this?
     
  10. SilverDroid

    SilverDroid Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    73
    Posts:
    191
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2011

    Jun 10, 2011
    191
    69
    73
    You do lose root yes though obviously it can be rooted again in a min. I dont have clockwork to comment, sorry.
     
  11. Slug

    Slug Check six!
    Moderator
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    2,043
    Posts:
    20,549
    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2009

    Aug 1, 2009
    20,549
    17,001
    2,043
    Male
    Mobile phone retail
    Inverness, UK
    Yup, via VillainROM 2.0.

    The Android OS bug certainly seems to have been tamed - % usage overnight was much more in line with what I see on other handsets and battery use graph was more linear. GTalk now has the video calling option (untested as yet). I still have Swype as a k/b option, although I prefer FlexT9.
     
  12. zolom

    zolom Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2010

    Aug 24, 2010
    7
    0
    5
    Running VillainRom 2.0 (android 2.3.4, Modem KG1, Kernel KF2-from CF-Root). All is well.

    Had some seriouse issues with the Darky 2.3.4 rom (some apps had (repeatadely) seem to be deleted after reboot and required reinstallation ); same issue with and without full wipe before rom installation.
     
  13. ironass

    ironass Android Expert
    Rank:
     #20
    Points:
    1,343
    Posts:
    11,461
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2010

    Aug 17, 2010
    11,461
    5,683
    1,343
    Male
    Keeping one step ahead of the tax man.
    Cotswolds, England
    Cheers SilverDroid!

    Just as a matter of interest, what method did you use to obtain root again please?
     
  14. aesh

    aesh Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2010

    Feb 26, 2010
    7
    0
    5
    I got the custom rom from the samsung forums so far no problems ...its more smoother , thou at the start up I had a feeling that my wifi and 3g network were clashing so I turned off the data then the wifi seemed to work ........and after a rebbot everything was back to normal.

    And silver post the instructions for rooting thank u .
     
  15. Slug

    Slug Check six!
    Moderator
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    2,043
    Posts:
    20,549
    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2009

    Aug 1, 2009
    20,549
    17,001
    2,043
    Male
    Mobile phone retail
    Inverness, UK
    They're in this thread, labelled CF-Root v4.0
     
    aesh likes this.
  16. zamana

    zamana Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2011

    Jul 10, 2011
    1
    0
    5
    Developer
    S
    Hi!

    How can I know if this firmware will work with the radios/band/frequencies used by my carrier in my country?

    Thanks.
    Regards.
     
  17. aesh

    aesh Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2010

    Feb 26, 2010
    7
    0
    5
    Thank you , I have checked the thread before hand saw that the kenels is available only till kf4 but mine is xxkg1 can I flash with a different kernel ,

    Am new to the whole rooting thing so please help . Thank u .
     
  18. SilverDroid

    SilverDroid Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    73
    Posts:
    191
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2011

    Jun 10, 2011
    191
    69
    73
    Sorry bud, was asleep.

    I assume you have found the thread you need BUT just incase you havent... here's what to do...

    First your going to need an insecure kernal with busybox etc. I have uploaded mine here for you as I cant find the link where I got it.

    MEGAUPLOAD - The leading online storage and file delivery service

    You will then need to download SuperOneClick

    I have uploaded it for you here....

    MEGAUPLOAD - The leading online storage and file delivery service

    1. Shutdown phone and boot up into download mode.

    2. Start Odin and click on the PDA button and select the insecure KDD kernel that I have uploaded.

    3. Then.. attach your phone via usb and when the ID:COM box turns yellow, click flash. The phone will reboot and you will see a yellow triangle.

    4. Remove the USB cable from phone

    5. Now go to "Settings - Applications - Development" and tick USB debugging if its not already ticked.

    6. Start SuperOneClick

    7. Connect USB cable

    8. Click "root" - It will ask you to install busybox etc, say yes.

    9. Once finished, reboot into download mode

    10. Following the instructions above, you can now flash the stock kernal to get rid of the yellow triangle.

    I have uploaded the stock kernal here incase you dont have it...

    MEGAUPLOAD - The leading online storage and file delivery service

    Job done :D

    Note: I'm new to Android and have been used to Symbian/Maemo for over 10yrs. When I first got the phone I flashed from KE2 to KE7 and obviously as a new phone, had no data to lose. Going to 2.3.4 was my first update where I needed to backup data.

    Upon flashing I lost my app data, and all texts etc. Other users report not losing this when flashing, though for some reason I did. If this happens to you... its not my fault lol.

    If you need any help let me know.

    Siver
     
  19. Slug

    Slug Check six!
    Moderator
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    2,043
    Posts:
    20,549
    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2009

    Aug 1, 2009
    20,549
    17,001
    2,043
    Male
    Mobile phone retail
    Inverness, UK
    The radio hardware remains the same so if it worked before it should work afterwards. Whether it works as well as your current firmware.... who knows.

    Chainfire's KF2 kernel works fine with VillainROM 2.0 so I guess it will work with the leaked stock firmware.
     
    aesh likes this.
  20. mystvearn

    mystvearn Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
     #204
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    488
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010

    Jun 7, 2010
    488
    39
    63
    MY
  21. SilverDroid

    SilverDroid Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    73
    Posts:
    191
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2011

    Jun 10, 2011
    191
    69
    73
    That just says "firmware" it doesnt say what build it is.
     
  22. mystvearn

    mystvearn Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
     #204
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    488
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010

    Jun 7, 2010
    488
    39
    63
    MY
    Yes. It works, I've tried it. Version KE7. Only thing is how do I backup all items (including angry bird levels) before I update the firmware?

    [​IMG]

    Uploaded with ImageShack.us
     
  23. SilverDroid

    SilverDroid Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    73
    Posts:
    191
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2011

    Jun 10, 2011
    191
    69
    73
    Start a new thread or reply in one thats related. This thread is for tips.
     
  24. Slug

    Slug Check six!
    Moderator
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    2,043
    Posts:
    20,549
    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2009

    Aug 1, 2009
    20,549
    17,001
    2,043
    Male
    Mobile phone retail
    Inverness, UK
    It's also a thread about 2.3.4. The KE7 firmware is still 2.3.3.
     
  25. SilverDroid

    SilverDroid Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    73
    Posts:
    191
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2011

    Jun 10, 2011
    191
    69
    73
    Whoops.... I could have sworn I read and made the reply in the tips and tricks thread. My bad.
     

Share This Page

Loading...