1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Galaxy S2 gt-i9100G

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Shotgun84, Jan 12, 2012.

  1. Shotgun84

    Shotgun84 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #73
    Points:
    413
    Posts:
    5,383
    Joined:
    May 30, 2011

    May 30, 2011
    5,383
    3,136
    413
    Whatever he said.
    Cambridgeshire, England
    The idea of this thread is to provide a comparison between the gt-i9100 G and the gt-i9100. A full comparison can be found in the link below
    Samsung Galaxy S2 GT-I9100 vs. GT-I9100G Ultimate Comparison Guide. All You Need to Know! | 10Division.com

    Even though the two models basically have the same features, the difference in hardware means that firmware and kernels from one model WILL NOT work on the other.

    I know that many of you will have already known this but there will be others who didn't. So I am trying to provide a place where questions can be asked about updating firmware and kernels on the G variant.

    I'm hoping by keeping questions about flashing the two different models separate will save confusion and avoid people bricking their phone by flashing the wrong things.
     

    Advertisement

    Highenemy and Slug like this.
  2. Shotgun84

    Shotgun84 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #73
    Points:
    413
    Posts:
    5,383
    Joined:
    May 30, 2011

    May 30, 2011
    5,383
    3,136
    413
    Whatever he said.
    Cambridgeshire, England
  3. kcajith

    kcajith Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2012

    Jan 19, 2012
    2
    0
    5
    I have got one peculiar issue with this I9100G S2 (OS-2.3.6) phone..The headset button of the earphone does not respond to a QUICK short single click to answer a call or pause a song while playing. The call answer or song pause though works fine on this I9100G S2 when i do a long click and release of button but does not repond to a short click and release.
    To test it further i used the same earphone on a I9100 S2(OS-2.3.6)..it works as expected for short click & release..I tested on few other I9100G S2 phones running on OS 2.3.6 and the issue persists.

    I even took this to a authorised service center of Samsung and confirmed the issue is with the new I9100G phones.

    I would appreciate any help to resolve this small issue as the short click and release for the button is required so that i can use it for music players on my phone to jump over to next songs..with long click this would not be possible.
     
  4. hashim2000et

    hashim2000et Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012

    Jan 28, 2012
    1
    0
    5
    I have got new samsung galaxy s 2 i tried to down load like face book,skyp and curren market reports.But,it says to have google account after some trial and failed register on google when i have gmail accout.So what would be the solution?
     
  5. leedunk

    leedunk Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2012

    Jan 9, 2012
    4
    0
    5
    My gs2 is GT-i9100G
    Baseband - I9100GDZKJ2
    Kernel - 2.6.35.7
    Build - Gingerbread. DXKj1

    Kies says this is the latest firmware. Is it true?
    Is it only possible for me to update the firmware for my Baseband version?
     
  6. Shotgun84

    Shotgun84 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #73
    Points:
    413
    Posts:
    5,383
    Joined:
    May 30, 2011

    May 30, 2011
    5,383
    3,136
    413
    Whatever he said.
    Cambridgeshire, England
    Kies updates are regional and carrier specific. So if kies says that there aren't any updates then you are on the latest official firmware available for your phone.
     
  7. sumitgawande

    sumitgawande Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2011

    Sep 19, 2011
    8
    0
    5
    My Galaxy S2 is GT-i9100G
    Baseband - I9100GDZKJ2
    Kernel - 2.6.35.7
    Build - Gingerbread. DXKj2

    Kies says a new firmware upgrade KL3 is available. But fails to update when i update it. :(
     
  8. imran678

    imran678 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2012

    Mar 6, 2012
    2
    0
    5
    hey i bought a gs2 i9100G and it had signal issues... it was a canadian phone n i live in srilanka... i changed da firmware version to i9100DDKE2 which actually is a baseband version of i9100... my phone's signal issue is solved bt display is da problem now... da display i nt bright n even wen i switch on my camera everythin is blurry... what can i do??
     
  9. Shotgun84

    Shotgun84 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #73
    Points:
    413
    Posts:
    5,383
    Joined:
    May 30, 2011

    May 30, 2011
    5,383
    3,136
    413
    Whatever he said.
    Cambridgeshire, England
    I have answered your post here
    http://androidforums.com/galaxy-s2-international-all-things-root/482437-galaxy-s2-gt-i9100g-all-things-root.html

    Hope it helps.
     
  10. Philosis

    Philosis Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2012

    Mar 11, 2012
    2
    0
    5
    I have a problem on my S2, I'm using camera after awhile it hang. I turn it off. when I reboot it, the camera it wasn't work and a message appear "camera failed". I couldn't use it anymore. So I put it on my pocket, then I feel hot, it's my phone screen getting hot and the battery easily draining so fast. I take out my battery and let it cool. Then put it back and turn it on. the camera become ok. What may be the cause of it? What should i do? Can someone know how?
     
  11. Rakesh Kr

    Rakesh Kr Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2012

    Apr 8, 2012
    1
    0
    5
    Dude even i m facing the same problem, samsung customer care agreed that S2 G series has lot of problems and the production of the same has been stopped.They replaced me with the new handset and unfortunately they have replaced the same G version and now as the problem still persists i demanded for replacement again, they have denied it and now i am fighting in consumer forum.

    Thanks
    Rakesh
     
  12. sarvan750

    sarvan750 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2012

    Apr 11, 2012
    4
    0
    5
    Student
    Chennai, India.
    i too have experienced those problems. the phone heats up quite fast, especially when i play games for about 20 mins non-stop. i also had the camera failed problem once. the phone also automatically switched off while playing, two times now. and i couldn't boot it up until i removed and re-inserted the battery, and its been just over two weeks since i got it. should i be concerned?
     
  13. Xzizia

    Xzizia Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2012

    Apr 13, 2012
    2
    0
    5
    PLZ HELP!
    I had the official 4.0.3 by samsung before. Then my friend installed ROM manager and OPERA, witch looked like ICS for Nexus.
    Now I wanted to install the XXLP2 firmware and so I did it with odin.
    I downloaded this ICS to try it out but when I get in to my recovery mode I dont have the “Mounts and storage” or “Install zip from sdcard.” like I used to, so I cant install this ICS.
    I REALLY NEED HELP <3333333
     
  14. Xzizia

    Xzizia Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2012

    Apr 13, 2012
    2
    0
    5
  15. Shotgun84

    Shotgun84 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #73
    Points:
    413
    Posts:
    5,383
    Joined:
    May 30, 2011

    May 30, 2011
    5,383
    3,136
    413
    Whatever he said.
    Cambridgeshire, England
    Welcome to the forum Xzizia.

    I've just got to check if you have the gt-i9100 or the gt-i9100G
     
  16. S2KL

    S2KL Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2012

    Apr 18, 2012
    2
    0
    5
    Hello All,

    2 days back got flashing message to update to Firmware (49MB), it was downloaded , Installed successfully. After that it prompted for Reboot -- Ok, all is fine. Immediately got one more message saying: additional update of firmware(11MB), said Yes, download, installation went well.
    again Reboot -- Ok... Phone never comes up. :mad::thinking:

    Tried Hard reset but no help.

    Please someone help me out.

    Thanks!!
     
  17. S2KL

    S2KL Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2012

    Apr 18, 2012
    2
    0
    5
    Someone please help or suggest me...
     
  18. Russell Ng

    Russell Ng Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,384
    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2011

    Sep 29, 2011
    1,384
    166
    143
    Male
    Engineer
    Kuala Lumpur
    Not sure by what you mean phones never come up. Does the phone even turn on?

    My suggestion is to send it in and get it looked at by Samsung service since its probably still under warranty.

    If you can turn on the phone, try pressing Power+Home+Volume Up.
    That will bring you to a screen for options like factory reset, wipe cache, and I think firmware recovery. If you try those, it might work.

    Cheers
     
  19. godalmighty

    godalmighty Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2012

    Apr 2, 2012
    10
    0
    15
    Dont need one
    At home
    At present ICS is only available for the Samsung Galaxy SII, GT-i9100, GT-i9100M, GT-i9100P, so i'm sorry to tell you that it is not available for your model yet.
     
  20. smashar

    smashar Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2012

    Apr 26, 2012
    2
    0
    5
    hello friends.. i have this problem that i cannot open facebook on my i9100g. i tried it not only on facebook app but also directly through browser.. it just logs in bt no news feed, messages, notification opens.. even i have loaded many facebook chat browsers like im+, ebuddy, fb messenger, gochat etc but facebook doesnt open on any of them.. only through opera mini i can log in on fb and check the news feed but still facebook chat is not possible on that.. can anybody help me plzzzz!!!!
     
  21. buffbh

    buffbh Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    25
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2011

    Apr 14, 2011
    8
    0
    25
    Samsung galaxy s2 GT-I9100G. i hate my choose. why have not ICS
     
  22. citroen

    citroen Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    May 4, 2012

    May 4, 2012
    2
    0
    5
    I installed ICS yesterday on y i9100 and it has stopped the photo auto-rotate. Google the problem and it seems lots of others are having the same problem but no answers yet!
     
  23. jijuvarghese

    jijuvarghese Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    May 6, 2012

    May 6, 2012
    1
    0
    5
    I have GT-I9100 samsung galaxy s2 ,I want to connect the PC internet to my mobile through usb is it possible, How to do this
     
  24. zagir

    zagir Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    May 12, 2012

    May 12, 2012
    1
    0
    5
    I have GT-I9100 samsung galaxy s2 ,I want to upgrade Android OS, v2.3.4 (Gingerbread), upgradable to v4.x to my mobile through usb is it possible, How to do this
     
  25. Russell Ng

    Russell Ng Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,384
    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2011

    Sep 29, 2011
    1,384
    166
    143
    Male
    Engineer
    Kuala Lumpur
    Officially.

    Download latest Samsung Kies on your PC. Connect the phone to the PC via the USB. Kies will tell if your phone is due for an upgrade. If it does, it will tell you to backup, make sure the battery is charged... etc, then perform the upgrade based on screen instruction.


    Unofficial.
    If Kies says firmware is the latest, then you are officially not due an upgrade. But you have unofficial option. Upgrade via ODIN. Try the official method first.

    Cheers
     

Share This Page

Loading...