1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!
  2. We apologize for the disruption in email services! They are sending out now, but there is a backlog, so it may take a little time to catch up.

Support Galaxy S3 with 4.1 - Google Now/search text to speech not working

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Rollotamassi, Jan 16, 2013.

  1. Rollotamassi

    Rollotamassi Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    15
    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2010

    Sep 13, 2010
    15
    1
    16
    Just ran the updated to the latest version of Android. I was quite looking forward to playing around with the new Google search voice functionality. I have no problem getting it to recognize my voice and perform commands however the app doesn't talk to me. It always displays the information on my screen. Also, does anyone know of a way to default Google Now to open instead of S-voice when pressing the talk button on a BT headset?

    Thanks!
     

    Advertisement

  2. Digital Controller

    Digital Controller The Real Bass Creator
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    953
    Posts:
    12,647
    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2012

    Sep 5, 2012
    12,647
    3,553
    953
    Male
    Civil Engineer
    Cincinnati, Ohio
    I think S Voice is the default on the S3 and there is no way to make it override to Google Now, I could be wrong though so to get some better assistance I am going to move this thread into the Galaxy S3 forums so that users with your device can better assist you :)
     
  3. Shotgun84

    Shotgun84 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #72
    Points:
    413
    Posts:
    5,378
    Joined:
    May 30, 2011

    May 30, 2011
    5,378
    3,134
    413
    Whatever he said.
    Cambridgeshire, England
    Have you got always speak turned on in the Google now settings? Menu, settings, voice, speech output.

    I don't know if this will work but try disabling svoice in application manager and your phone might default to Google now.
     
  4. Shotgun84

    Shotgun84 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #72
    Points:
    413
    Posts:
    5,378
    Joined:
    May 30, 2011

    May 30, 2011
    5,378
    3,134
    413
    Whatever he said.
    Cambridgeshire, England
    Do you have voice recognizer set to Samsung in settings, language and input? If you do try setting it to Google.
     
  5. Rollotamassi

    Rollotamassi Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    15
    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2010

    Sep 13, 2010
    15
    1
    16
    Thank you for the reply -

    Yes, I have always speak turned on. I do not see an option labeled voice recognizer under language and input.
     
  6. funkylogik

    funkylogik share the love peeps ;)
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,443
    Posts:
    21,470
    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2011

    Sep 15, 2011
    21,470
    7,251
    1,443
    Male
    monkey
    Paisley, Scotland, Western Europe
    it only talks back to certain commands. from homescreen, long press menu and it should come up with google Now
    uploadfromtaptalk1358354627124.jpg
    if you havent yet, it should guide u to set up and activate it. once its activated, google search and voice search will use Now.
    ask it "whats the weather?" and it should tell u. ask it the square root of 95 and it should speak the answer. theres only certain things it will speak, otherwise itl show u more useful stuff than siri would tell u and it learns your interests.
    make sure you set the language, for example English Generic works best for me so it understands you.
    i tend to just type unless its things like math or "what is fifteen UK pounds in US dollars?" which saves time :)
    just set all your "cards" up, sports etc :)
     
  7. Rollotamassi

    Rollotamassi Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    15
    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2010

    Sep 13, 2010
    15
    1
    16
    I asked it what the weather was and it chimed and popped it up on the screen but didn't speak it. Also, when I long press my home button it pops up all my running apps, not google search.
     

Share This Page

Loading...