1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

General Galaxy S4 motherboard issues

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by TonyStank, Jul 19, 2016.

  1. TonyStank

    TonyStank Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2016

    Jul 19, 2016
    2
    0
    5
    Male
    Hello,
    I'm trying to fix my friends I9505 that got its power button forced and partly broken off motherboard. Button can't be replaced because pcb pads are broken. Motherboard can be turned on by pressing volume down and plug in usb trick. That is ok for me but my friends really needs power button.
    So i got another motherboard from smashed i9505, but it has weird issue. It shuts of after some time of use especially if under load, after that it can turn on shows galaxy s4 logo or sometimes andoid logo and shuts off and no sign of life for few hours.
    I got two batteries B600BC and B600BE they work fine with first motherboard, so its probably not battery issue.
    So i hope that someone can help me to fix one of these motherboards. For first maybe i can solder connector and for missing pads use kynar war and connect to alternative spots on motherboard if there are any.
    For second maybe its overheating or something but its cpu temperature is top 37°C .
     

    Advertisement

  2. Jfalls63

    Jfalls63 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #30
    Points:
    818
    Posts:
    4,131
    Joined:
    May 15, 2015

    May 15, 2015
    4,131
    3,055
    818
    Male
    Electrician
    Satsuma,Alabama
    Have you tried to re-flash the stock firmware on the new motherboard? Could be a software issue.
     
  3. TonyStank

    TonyStank Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2016

    Jul 19, 2016
    2
    0
    5
    Male
    Yes I flashed it to stock 5.0.1 . At first it had rooted 5.0.1 then i flashed it to CM13 6.0.1 Nighly and was runing fine for 3 days then shut off issue started, and first thing i done was flashing it back to stock but still same issue.
     
  4. nu2andy

    nu2andy Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
     #142
    Points:
    108
    Posts:
    602
    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2011

    Jul 28, 2011
    602
    95
    108
    Male
    Retired
    Porirua. New Zealand
    Sounds like you need to get another logic board that is guaranteed to work. Was it pulled from a fully working phone? I've purchased and fitted 2 boards but were tested by the seller and guaranteed in working condition.
     

Share This Page

Loading...