1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!
  2. We apologize for the disruption in email services! They are sending out now, but there is a backlog, so it may take a little time to catch up.

Support Galaxy SIII won't start..

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Attain????????, Jul 20, 2013.

  1. Attain????????

    Attain???????? Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    104
    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2011

    Jul 13, 2011
    104
    5
    36
    Went to work, phone was working fine, put it in my pocket for an hour or so, bring it out to check and it's off.. okay maybe the battery died, plug it in, nothing, take the battery out, it starts, but it goes from the Samsung screen to the Galaxy SIII screen then goes black, every time, any ideas what could be wrong here? No previous issues with the phone, I can't even connect it to my pc.
     

    Advertisement

  2. funkylogik

    funkylogik share the love peeps ;)
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,443
    Posts:
    21,470
    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2011

    Sep 15, 2011
    21,470
    7,251
    1,443
    Male
    monkey
    Paisley, Scotland, Western Europe
    What carrier are u on man? Have you left the charger in long enough to know for sure that the battery has power in it?
     
  3. Frisco

    Frisco =Luceat Lux Vestra=
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,343
    Posts:
    22,479
    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010

    Hello Attain.

    In addition to what Funkylogik said:

    Dirty proximity sensor? Clean the top half inch or so of your device screen. It may have gathered enough of something from your pocket to think you're on the phone so is blackening the screen.

    Also, it's a good idea to power off, remove sd card, battery and SIM card, wait a bit, then put it all back in and power up now and then if less than normal behavior is noticed.
     
    funkylogik likes this.
  4. Attain????????

    Attain???????? Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    104
    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2011

    Jul 13, 2011
    104
    5
    36
    AT&T
    Already done those, the battery was fine, I even tried with another one, took the battery out, sim, sd, still does the same thing, can't even get into the android recovery because once the battery is put in it trys to start then goes black and won't do anything.
     
    funkylogik likes this.
  5. funkylogik

    funkylogik share the love peeps ;)
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,443
    Posts:
    21,470
    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2011

    Sep 15, 2011
    21,470
    7,251
    1,443
    Male
    monkey
    Paisley, Scotland, Western Europe
    Yeah pulling the battery for over 10seconds seems to do something different from just a quick pull in my experience :thumbup:
     
  6. Attain????????

    Attain???????? Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    104
    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2011

    Jul 13, 2011
    104
    5
    36
    I've pulled it for multiple minutes and still nothing.
     
    funkylogik likes this.
  7. funkylogik

    funkylogik share the love peeps ;)
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,443
    Posts:
    21,470
    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2011

    Sep 15, 2011
    21,470
    7,251
    1,443
    Male
    monkey
    Paisley, Scotland, Western Europe
    When u put the battery in, as soon as the phone starts to boot, hold in home button and volume up and see what happens man
     
  8. Attain????????

    Attain???????? Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    104
    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2011

    Jul 13, 2011
    104
    5
    36
    got me into recovery mode... what do I do reboot system, apply update from ADB, apply update from external storage, wipe data/factory reset, wipe cache partition, apply update from cache?
     
  9. Attain????????

    Attain???????? Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    104
    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2011

    Jul 13, 2011
    104
    5
    36
    holy ******* shit it's alive! I wiped the cache
     
    funkylogik likes this.
  10. funkylogik

    funkylogik share the love peeps ;)
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,443
    Posts:
    21,470
    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2011

    Sep 15, 2011
    21,470
    7,251
    1,443
    Male
    monkey
    Paisley, Scotland, Western Europe
    Lol is it booting now?
     
  11. Attain????????

    Attain???????? Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    104
    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2011

    Jul 13, 2011
    104
    5
    36
    It's on I'm afraid to restart it lol
     
  12. Attain????????

    Attain???????? Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    104
    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2011

    Jul 13, 2011
    104
    5
    36
    Restarted it, and it's still working. Can't believe this :)
     
  13. funkylogik

    funkylogik share the love peeps ;)
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,443
    Posts:
    21,470
    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2011

    Sep 15, 2011
    21,470
    7,251
    1,443
    Male
    monkey
    Paisley, Scotland, Western Europe
    That was a lucky escape lol. I thought you were atleast gona have to factory reset it :)
     
  14. chowmailap

    chowmailap Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    140
    Joined:
    May 3, 2011

    May 3, 2011
    140
    7
    36
    Same thing happened to me a few weeks ago. Wouldn't even stay on long enough in recovery mode for me to do anything. Had to get a warranty replacement.
     
  15. quickaudi

    quickaudi Android Expert
    Rank:
     #98
    Points:
    273
    Posts:
    3,081
    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2010

    Jul 15, 2010
    3,081
    412
    273
    TN
    So, I've had similar happen to me, but it was a long while ago - sorry I didn't see this thread earlier, but I had to boot into recovery, clear cache, and it booted right up. Don't remember what ROM, but never had that problem again. (Heck, can't even remember if it was on my S3, Gnex, or Droid X.)
     
  16. darkula

    darkula Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2013

    Oct 19, 2013
    1
    0
    5
    i tried doing that and my phone vibrated, showed the little "recovery mode" text in blue in the top left corner then went black again. i cant get into recovery, download or normal mode. my phone stays on for about 2 seconds everytime i put the battery back in.
     
  17. funkylogik

    funkylogik share the love peeps ;)
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,443
    Posts:
    21,470
    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2011

    Sep 15, 2011
    21,470
    7,251
    1,443
    Male
    monkey
    Paisley, Scotland, Western Europe
    Cant remember, have you tried another battery?
     
  18. shyug

    shyug Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2013

    Nov 3, 2013
    1
    0
    5
    "When u put the battery in, as soon as the phone starts to boot, hold in home button and volume up and see what happens man"

    I've tried the same thing, but i can't get it into recovery mode. I just shows "recovery booting", then Samsung Splash screen and screen goes black.
     

Share This Page

Loading...