1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Galaxy Spica 2.1 Update?

Discussion in 'Rogers' started by ccrashh, Aug 30, 2010.

  1. ccrashh

    ccrashh Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    12
    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2010

    Aug 18, 2010
    12
    0
    15
    Over on the Rogers Redboard, RogersMiranda stated that we should expect the 2.1 update for the Galaxy Spica at the end of August. Well, we are here and there's no announcement.

    On the CommunityForums, there is nothing. Called Customer Service and they said nothing is coming.

    So, what's the story - are we or are we not getting an official Rogers update to 2.1 for the Spica? Anyone know?
     

    Advertisement

  2. mjschmidt

    mjschmidt Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    153
    Posts:
    1,268
    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2009

    Jun 27, 2009
    1,268
    113
    153
    Male
    In my house.
    I've sent an email to Mary at Rogers with your question and asked for an update.
     
    ccrashh likes this.
  3. Megs

    Megs Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    115
    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010

    Mar 26, 2010
    115
    10
    58
    Canuck
    I will have to check this thread later then.
     
  4. vikingisson

    vikingisson Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    83
    Posts:
    856
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009

    I don't know if this applies but worth looking into, why is it that the brand new Galaxy S as shipped by Bell is updated directly from Samsung? They already have an update available, still a 2.1 as shipped but is still an update and does a full wipe like a major update would do. It uses the Samsung (terribly bloated and mostly useless) Keis app. It doesn't care what network you are on, the serial number I assume is checked so that the right version is used.
     
  5. ccrashh

    ccrashh Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    12
    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2010

    Aug 18, 2010
    12
    0
    15
    @vikingisson - yeah, I have the instructions to do the upgrade myself. I loaded the Kies mini app and it found the right upgrade. But I would rather have Rogers take responsibility for upgrading their clients. I guess that is too much to ask for.
     
  6. vikingisson

    vikingisson Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    83
    Posts:
    856
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009

    umm, no, you really want Samsung to do it. Otherwise you might be waiting forever. :) Rogers only brands it and possibly locks things down. The Samsung way is the official way as far as I know.
     

Share This Page

Loading...