1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Gateway timeout error 504

Discussion in 'T-Mobile' started by lgleaner, Nov 12, 2013.

  1. lgleaner

    lgleaner Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    11
    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2011

    Sep 15, 2011
    11
    0
    35
    West Deptford, NJ
    Hi all, I am experiencing a gateway timeout error (error 504) with one specific website.. the site is http://inotes.checkpt.com.

    My phone is a brand new Nexus 5, and all other websites work fine. Also, the problem website works fine for me when I am on wifi, so I know it's not the phone.

    Can anyone offer any advice? I've opened a case with T-Mobile, but it's been 5 days without a resolution.
     

    Advertisement

  2. Rukbat

    Rukbat Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    843
    Posts:
    10,392
    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2012

    Jan 16, 2012
    10,392
    2,893
    843
    Male
    Being retired and writing Tasker tasks.
    Fayetteville, NC, USA
    Open a case with checkpt.com. A 502 error is a server (theirs) error.
     
  3. lgleaner

    lgleaner Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    11
    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2011

    Sep 15, 2011
    11
    0
    35
    West Deptford, NJ
    It's not a 502 error, it's 504. checkpt.com is my workplace, and it works fine for everyone else (who is not using tmobile)
     
  4. lgleaner

    lgleaner Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    11
    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2011

    Sep 15, 2011
    11
    0
    35
    West Deptford, NJ
  5. chong67

    chong67 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    953
    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2011

    Apr 5, 2011
    953
    74
    78
    Male
    IT
    Atlanta
    Both site work for me. I am using Tmo HTC One with Chrome.
     
  6. Petrah

    Petrah Psychotic Female
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    333
    Posts:
    4,086
    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2011

    Jun 13, 2011
    4,086
    1,468
    333
    Female
    Annoying my X-Husband
    Hanover Park, IL
    While normally that is server side, it's also been known to be a DNS issue. If you can't see it and others can then 9 times out of 10 that is a DNS problem.

    You'll just have to wait for their DNS nameservers to repropagate.
     
  7. chong67

    chong67 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    953
    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2011

    Apr 5, 2011
    953
    74
    78
    Male
    IT
    Atlanta
    If you cant wait, then just use IP address.
     
  8. lgleaner

    lgleaner Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    11
    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2011

    Sep 15, 2011
    11
    0
    35
    West Deptford, NJ
    No dice on using the IP address. I still get the 504 error.

    I elevated the case with TMobile, and they insist that the problem is with checkpt.com blocking the IP addresses. I do not believe this at all (I work for the company and have spoken with the web people here).

    Could you guys (who are on TMobile) do me a favor and try accessing www.checkpt.com through your mobile browser? If it works, let me know what model phone you are using. Thanks!
     
  9. lgleaner

    lgleaner Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    11
    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2011

    Sep 15, 2011
    11
    0
    35
    West Deptford, NJ
    By the way, T-Mobile has given up on tryng to solve the issue. They told me that their engineers have tried everything possible, and that the only way I can access this site is to go to another carrier. WTF??
     
  10. codesplice

    codesplice Elite Recognized Moderator
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #24
    Points:
    1,063
    Posts:
    8,203
    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2013

    Oct 29, 2013
    8,203
    9,216
    1,063
    Male
    SysAdmin
    Huntsville, AL
    Checkpt.com seems to work fine for me over mobile data, Nexus 4 on T-Mobile.

    That said, a 504 error should be a server-side error (same goes for pretty much all of the 500-series HTTP errors).

     
  11. lgleaner

    lgleaner Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    11
    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2011

    Sep 15, 2011
    11
    0
    35
    West Deptford, NJ
    Well, looks like my only recourse is to switch carriers. I have to kiss the T-Mobile $30/month plan goodbye it seems. :(
     
  12. chong67

    chong67 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    953
    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2011

    Apr 5, 2011
    953
    74
    78
    Male
    IT
    Atlanta
    This is strange. I cant access it too from my HTC One on Tmo. I got Gateway timeout and 504.

    What port # is it using?

    Have you try to do tether?
     
  13. lgleaner

    lgleaner Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    11
    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2011

    Sep 15, 2011
    11
    0
    35
    West Deptford, NJ
    Forgive my ignorance, but how do I check the port number?

    Tethering is not working for me either - tis is a known issue with the Nexus 5 on TMobile. Further reason for me to switch to Straight Talk, I suppose.

    I am still in disbelief that T-Mobile has flat out refused to address my issue! Very frustrating.
     
  14. codesplice

    codesplice Elite Recognized Moderator
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #24
    Points:
    1,063
    Posts:
    8,203
    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2013

    Oct 29, 2013
    8,203
    9,216
    1,063
    Male
    SysAdmin
    Huntsville, AL
    It's HTTP, and thus port 80 unless there is a proxy or other resource on the other side of the web server.
     
  15. lgleaner

    lgleaner Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    11
    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2011

    Sep 15, 2011
    11
    0
    35
    West Deptford, NJ
    Strangely, it's now working this morning. Anyone have any ideas?
     

Share This Page

Loading...