1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root GB .595 problems with contacts?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by xliderider, May 26, 2011.

  1. xliderider

    xliderider Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,232
    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2010

    Jan 28, 2010
    1,232
    192
    143
    Where Diamond Head Stay
    Noticed that I can't view or edit my contacts after loading GB .595 both odexed and deodexed rooted versions. :thinking:

    When I long press on the contact and select Edit or View, it just closes out to the home screen. Happens from both the Contacts icon in the app drawer or from the Dialer, Contacts tab.

    Any help would be appreciated, thanks. :)
     

    Advertisement

  2. VoidedSaint

    VoidedSaint Resident Ninja
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    8,201
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010

    Feb 10, 2010
    8,201
    2,090
    323
    Male
    Virginia
    have you tried to wipe cache???


    you may have to reflash .595
     
  3. xliderider

    xliderider Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,232
    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2010

    Jan 28, 2010
    1,232
    192
    143
    Where Diamond Head Stay
    Yeah, tried doing both, wiped cache and reflashed the System files. Still getting the same problem.
     
  4. binary visions

    binary visions Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    413
    Posts:
    3,334
    Joined:
    May 14, 2010

    May 14, 2010
    3,334
    1,443
    413
    Did you remove any bloat?
     
  5. Metfanant

    Metfanant Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    2,450
    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2010

    Sep 23, 2010
    2,450
    412
    163
    i guarantee he removed/renamed/froze at least one of the "yahoo" bloatware apps...cant remember which one causes the contact problems..
     
  6. trophynuts

    trophynuts Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    5,630
    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2010

    Jul 6, 2010
    5,630
    1,792
    313
    I work in a Tech related field. Have been in a tec
    SouthEastern US
    what he said
     
  7. xliderider

    xliderider Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,232
    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2010

    Jan 28, 2010
    1,232
    192
    143
    Where Diamond Head Stay
    I did rename the yahoo bloatware to .bak, along with a bunch of other stuff...

    Tried a reboot, now I'm in a bootloop like in this thread:

    http://androidforums.com/droid-x-all-things-root/343142-now-stuck-bootloop.html

    Pulled my battery to conserve it till I can try an sbf file.
     
  8. binary visions

    binary visions Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    413
    Posts:
    3,334
    Joined:
    May 14, 2010

    May 14, 2010
    3,334
    1,443
    413
  9. xliderider

    xliderider Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,232
    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2010

    Jan 28, 2010
    1,232
    192
    143
    Where Diamond Head Stay
    Thanks, I think I renamed Blur_yahoo.apk and Blur_activesync.apk

    I was able to recover from the bootlooping by booting into bootloader, sbf'ing, flashing .588 and then flashing the .595 deodexed rom.

    Thanks to all who replied to this thread. :)
     
  10. ytsud

    ytsud Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    11
    Joined:
    May 2, 2010

    May 2, 2010
    11
    0
    35
    Thanks Metfanant, I porked my contacts too and had no idea until I read your post. Unfroze two Yahoo bloats and Presto. Thanx again!
    Tom R.
     
  11. trophynuts

    trophynuts Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    5,630
    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2010

    Jul 6, 2010
    5,630
    1,792
    313
    I work in a Tech related field. Have been in a tec
    SouthEastern US


    with so many Newcomers that are about to transition to GB...i almost think it is necessary to STICKY a thread saying ...DON'T FREEZE YAHOO BLOATS...only problem is that is basically already stickied in the list that Binary has put together.....lol can we sticky a thread to say hey read this other sticky?...jk
     

Share This Page

Loading...