1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root (GB and ICS) Run your AT&T Galaxy Note on T-Mobile 3G/4G

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Talderon, Mar 21, 2012.

  1. Talderon

    Talderon Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,038
    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2010

    Feb 21, 2010
    1,038
    247
    163
    Microsoft Corp. - Sr. Systems Engineer
    Seattle, WA
    Original here: xda-developers - View Single Post - At&t Note / T-mobile 3g/4g fix Found- pledged donors step up[$435 Paid, $255 Left]

    ICS Radios are here!! (Same steps as below): xda-developers - View Single Post - [MODEM]T-Mobile ICS Modems

    I have been following this thread (and need to get my Donation in on PayDay) and did this one a couple friends phoned and it works like a champ on T-Mobile now, no more Edge, just 3G/3G goodness!! :D

     

    Advertisement

    vinnie01 likes this.
  2. ndfan4u

    ndfan4u Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    223
    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010

    Jun 13, 2010
    223
    10
    38
    Los Angeles
  3. ndfan4u

    ndfan4u Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    223
    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010

    Jun 13, 2010
    223
    10
    38
    Los Angeles
    Hey all, this really worked. I was only getting Edge on my AT&T unlocked/rooted Galaxy Note using TMobile sim, but now I am getting 4G everywhere in the Santa Clarita CA area. Even in my home! And I was able to do this all on my own after watching countless You Tube videos on rooting to unlocking to flashing. If I could do it, so can you. I am so happy. Thanks to everybody for posting all this how-to information. :D :D :D :D :D
     
  4. Talderon

    Talderon Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,038
    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2010

    Feb 21, 2010
    1,038
    247
    163
    Microsoft Corp. - Sr. Systems Engineer
    Seattle, WA
    VERY glad it helped! :D

    I have friends on T-Mobile saving up for their Note as well, so we'll get even more users over on T-Mobile.

    FYI, on a side note, they already have compatible radios for ICS when it drops officially, or if you want to try out the leaked version.

    Have fun!
     
  5. dtwalkerfl

    dtwalkerfl Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    25
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2012

    Mar 5, 2012
    8
    0
    25
    retired
    South Florida
    Quote:

    - SOLUTION 1 - THE NICE AND EASY WAY


    1. Using CMW, flash your modem of choice from the following:

    - Telus Kj3 - Telus_SGH-T989D_Kj3_radio_ATTNOTE.zip
    - T-mobile SGH-T989 KID - Tmo_SGH-T989_KID_radio_ATTNOTE.zip
    - T-mobile SGH-T989 VKL1 - Tmo_SGH-T989_VKL1_radio_ATTNOTE.zip

    2. Reboot your phone.

    3. That's it. You should be ready to roll and can ignore all the technical stuff below. That is just there so people can build on the work.

    4. To get back to AT&T you can flash this file. http://dl.dropbox.com/u/10098708/Att_ucla1_%20radio.zip


    Alright, I am a newbie to all this but love my new unlocked AT&T Note on T-Mobile, but want to do this.

    My problem is: WTF is CMW and how do you do the above. Flame suit is on and I admit I am not teckky savvy.

    Any help would be greatly appreciated.
     
  6. Talderon

    Talderon Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,038
    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2010

    Feb 21, 2010
    1,038
    247
    163
    Microsoft Corp. - Sr. Systems Engineer
    Seattle, WA
    CWM is Clockwork Mod Recovery.

    Here is a quick How-To on getting it installed and done:

    Rooting and Clockworkmod

    1. Install USB Driver for Windows (http://www.samsung.com/us/support/ow...SGH-I717ZBAATT).

    2. In order to Odin you have to put your phone into download mode. To do so, turn off your phone, hold VOLUME DOWN and POWER buttons, once you see the prompt
    to put your phone into download mode press VOLUME UP.

    3. To get Odin to work, start Odin and load the .tar, etc BEFORE plugging in your phone. Then put your phone into download mode and connect the USB. Once you plug in your phone the program will show device in COM port.

    4. Root your phone. Two methods.
    a. Flash counter raising: see here (http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1504218)
    b. Flash counter intact: see here (http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1518962)

    5. Clockworkmod recovery
    a. Non-touch version: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1526431
    b. Touch version: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1584576

    6. To put your phone into recovery.
    a. Turn off your phone, hold both VOLUME UP and VOLUME DOWN and POWER. After you feel the first vibration, let go of the POWER button but keep holding the VOLUME UP and VOLUME DOWN. You should go into CWM assume it
     
    vinnie01 likes this.
  7. dtwalkerfl

    dtwalkerfl Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    25
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2012

    Mar 5, 2012
    8
    0
    25
    retired
    South Florida
    Uhhhh, thanks for the reply. Maybe some day when I run across somebody that understands all that I'll let him do it.
     
  8. Talderon

    Talderon Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,038
    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2010

    Feb 21, 2010
    1,038
    247
    163
    Microsoft Corp. - Sr. Systems Engineer
    Seattle, WA
    I'll try to break it down for you some more, but will have to wait till I get home.
     
  9. nateap87

    nateap87 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    505
    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2011

    Mar 21, 2011
    505
    51
    78
    California
    can someone please tell me WHY this works? i've been selling phones for tmobile for almost a year now and have decided to learn the frequency aspect of it all and the fact that this phone that supposedly doesn't have the proper 1700/2100 frequency is working on tmobile's 3g/4g is just confusing me now :/
     
  10. eastbayarb

    eastbayarb Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    44
    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2011

    Mar 15, 2011
    44
    1
    16
    Is it possible to upgrade to Ice Cream Sandwich after running this? Also, I am in the San Francisco Bay Area of California, and I tried all 3 modems, yet I can't seem to get more than 800kbps download speed (My wife's Samsung Galaxy S2 that is on T-Mobile, and my LG Thrill (is originally an ATT phone but running much faster than this).

    Any ideas?
     
  11. antisouless

    antisouless Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2012

    Jul 13, 2012
    5
    1
    6
  12. huffman416

    huffman416 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010

    Jan 16, 2010
    3
    0
    5
    Could this same technique theoretically work on other AT&T devices such as the motorola atrix 4G? I thought there were hardware limitations but this thread seems to suggest that if you flash the right radio on a devices, with some software tinkering, it could work. Am I understanding the process correctly??

    Thanks,

    -Brendan
     
  13. Talderon

    Talderon Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,038
    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2010

    Feb 21, 2010
    1,038
    247
    163
    Microsoft Corp. - Sr. Systems Engineer
    Seattle, WA
    NO NO NO! Please do NOT try this on other devices!

    The ONLY reason this works on a few of the Samsung devices is that they have the radio hardware to support these network frequencies. Reasons are plentiful, but for some phones, they were planned for after the mergers (which didn't happen) or they have a T-Mobile counterpart and Samsung just used the same hardware to support all bands.

    Trying this on another device that does not meet the right requirements will render it a paperweight, that is, IF you were able to successfully flash a radio.
     
  14. dtwalkerfl

    dtwalkerfl Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    25
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2012

    Mar 5, 2012
    8
    0
    25
    retired
    South Florida
    I have been loving my Note on T-Mobile but need 4G. How can I get this done to mine? I don't have the techy savvy on phones to do it myself.
     
  15. huffman416

    huffman416 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010

    Jan 16, 2010
    3
    0
    5

    I understand it would not be wise to use these specific radios for my device I was just wondering if a similar project could be attempted for another device. Thanks for the information though!
     
  16. Talderon

    Talderon Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,038
    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2010

    Feb 21, 2010
    1,038
    247
    163
    Microsoft Corp. - Sr. Systems Engineer
    Seattle, WA
    No problem.

    I would have to say that for 99% of the phones out there, this would not be possible on. We just had some luck with a few of the Galaxy phones. Not sure how common this is as I don't roam forums for phones and I don't have or have much of an interest in.
     
  17. hackler007

    hackler007 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    50
    Joined:
    May 14, 2012

    May 14, 2012
    50
    24
    18
    Male
    Education Specialist
    Florida
    Run your AT&T Galaxy Note on T-Mobile 3G/4G. Link is giving me= Internal Server Error. do you have another link?
     

Share This Page

Loading...