1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root GB Rooting Adventures

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Droid Ninja, Jun 4, 2011.

1. Droid Ninja

Droid Ninja Well-Known Member
    None

Oct 29, 2009
    Male
    Scientist
    NJ
    Hello rooting community.

I am a root newbie so bear with me. I am going to attempt to install the rooted GB patch myself. Never done anything like this before so I am a little apprehensive. I am currently running stock froyo with an idiot proof Z4root.

I will be following a combination of the instructions I read in p3droid's page and a post from scary alien where he breaks it down a little better for beginners:

I have already downloaded Blur_Version.2.3.340.MB810.Verizon.en.US-Part1 and Blur_Version.2.3.340.MB810.Verizon.en.US-Part2 from the p3droid link. First question. Do I need to unzip them before I place them on the top level of the sdcard?

Next question. Where can I get Droid 2 Bootstrapper? It gets installed like any other app? When scary alien says "boot into recovery" does he mean just run the app and it will take me where I need to go? Then I assume its just a matter of finding the files on the sdcard and running part 1/2? Rebooting out of recovery is self explanatory I hope.

What is a Nandroid backup and how important of a step is it? Just a security measure?

Thanks in advance for any help you guys/girls give. As I get some responses I will keep this thread updated as I continue my adventure.... or nightmare:eek:

Advertisement

2. bouchigo

bouchigo Android Expert
    None

Aug 10, 2010
    Production Engineer Mngr.
    Stockton, CA
    1. Do not unzip the files you downloaded.

2. Just do a google search, D2 bootstrapper is posted in a few places.

3. Yes, installed like any other app.

4. Yes, just run the app to get into recovery

5. Just find the files on your sd card, install part 1, then part 2 right after part 1 before rebooting.