1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root GB with S-OFF, any confirmation on result, and best way to do?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by WS6Fury, Sep 9, 2011.

  1. WS6Fury

    WS6Fury Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2011

    Jul 29, 2011
    10
    0
    15
    I'm running Liberation v1.1 and used unrevoked3 to root the phone. I looked in hboot and see that my phone is S-OFF (not sure how cause I don't think I did unrevoked forever, just downloaded the app and rooted away).

    Please be gentle as I'm a complete newbie to this, but I see people posting that if I'm with S-OFF, it is safe to install the GB update OTA, and if I decide it is not for me, I can go back and use Liberation v1.1? Is this accurate?

    If so, what is the safest means of achieving this? I read somewhere to load the stock Froyo 2.2 and then do the 2.3.4 update... but I'm lost on the best means of doing this and keeping S-OFF if this allows me to revert back.

    Thanks for guidance in advance :)
     

    Advertisement

  2. sdrawkcab25

    sdrawkcab25 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    423
    Posts:
    5,589
    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2010

    Aug 5, 2010
    5,589
    2,005
    423
    Male
    PA
    If you are running liberation, you are basically already running the OTA, so just stay where you are at...
    the official OTA has some minor bugs that you do not have in your current rom.
     
  3. WS6Fury

    WS6Fury Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2011

    Jul 29, 2011
    10
    0
    15
    I'm only running Liberation V1.1, are you referencing Liberation 2.0 RCO that has the GB shell (or however you call or reference it)?
     
  4. sdrawkcab25

    sdrawkcab25 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    423
    Posts:
    5,589
    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2010

    Aug 5, 2010
    5,589
    2,005
    423
    Male
    PA
    yeah, your best bet is to upgrade to liberation 2.0
     
    WS6Fury likes this.
  5. WS6Fury

    WS6Fury Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2011

    Jul 29, 2011
    10
    0
    15
    Ok cool! BTW, out of curiosity what bugs are there with the OTA update vs Liberation 2.0? I was kinda thinking 2.0 had some quirks that the OTA was solid on.
     
  6. sdrawkcab25

    sdrawkcab25 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    423
    Posts:
    5,589
    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2010

    Aug 5, 2010
    5,589
    2,005
    423
    Male
    PA

    Medion would probably be able to answer this better, but I know the official OTA shows your phone as having the wrong screen size and the market thinks you are on a sprint phone (in other words an Evo).
     
    WS6Fury likes this.
  7. WS6Fury

    WS6Fury Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2011

    Jul 29, 2011
    10
    0
    15
    Oh damn!! Didn't know that. Figured since they were pushing the OTA to the Dinc's they woulda caught that... figures!!
     

Share This Page

Loading...