1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Gear Fit / S4 - No Weather Updates

Discussion in 'Wear Os' started by chammesf, Jul 19, 2014.

  1. chammesf

    chammesf Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2014

    Jul 19, 2014
    4
    0
    5
    I just got the Gear Fit and have a Samsung S4. Everything works fine, except for the weather. My home screen has the message: tap here to add a city to your mobile device. When I tap, nothing happens. I have three weather apps loaded and active on my phone, thinking that maybe I'm not using the right weather app. I've also enabled all the weather apps in my Gear Fit Manager app. What am I doing wrong?
     

    Advertisement

  2. nickdalzell

    nickdalzell Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    243
    Posts:
    4,823
    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2011

    Jun 17, 2011
    4,823
    865
    243
    Owensboro, KY
    you need to have the widget for Accuweather (usually comes with a Samsung phone) on one of your home screens and set up. you have to add the widget to add a city, and for any of the Gear watches it has to have location set on, and set to 'use current city'. it won't work if you got it set manually. you also need to set it to refresh through that widget app since it won't take any settings from Gear Manager for some reason. for example, if you got the widget set to update every 6 hours, and Gear Manager Weather set to do it every hour, the watch still waits 6 hours to update.
     
  3. chammesf

    chammesf Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2014

    Jul 19, 2014
    4
    0
    5
    Thanks for your help. I do use the AccuWeather app already and have checked everything you said to do, with no luck. Watch still says to tap to use location info on mobile device but when I do "tap", nothing happens.
     
  4. nickdalzell

    nickdalzell Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    243
    Posts:
    4,823
    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2011

    Jun 17, 2011
    4,823
    865
    243
    Owensboro, KY
    You either have location disabled and have entered your location manually (that won't work) or something else is amiss.

    Ever since the OG Gear I've dealt with weather simply being out of sync at random, such as it saying 78 degrees and sunny for hours, even days, but that was due to Android having killed the AccuWeather process after the phone being idle for some time. Wish there were a way to force Android to keep that process running.
     
  5. chammesf

    chammesf Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2014

    Jul 19, 2014
    4
    0
    5
    I have the location active on my phone and the weather is set up to use my current location but still doesn't work. I was on the phone with Samsung support (more like no-support) and they could not help either. Their final recommendation was to go to Best Buy and have someone there try to help! I guess that would work if there was a Best Buy close to me but there is not.
     
  6. chammesf

    chammesf Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2014

    Jul 19, 2014
    4
    0
    5
    So, I got a NEW Gear Fit and still having the same problems. I think it's something with Gear Fit Manager though. When I go to Gear Fit Manager/Home Screen Styler/Clock/Weather Clock and select SETTINGS, nothing happens when I select WEATHER SETTINGS. Shouldn't this open up so I can choose the weather settings on the watch?
     
  7. nickdalzell

    nickdalzell Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    243
    Posts:
    4,823
    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2011

    Jun 17, 2011
    4,823
    865
    243
    Owensboro, KY
    Weather tends to lose sync all the time at random, has been a bug since the OG Gear. Only real fix for times when the weather is hours out of date is to reboot the watch and restart the phone.
     
  8. nickdalzell

    nickdalzell Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    243
    Posts:
    4,823
    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2011

    Jun 17, 2011
    4,823
    865
    243
    Owensboro, KY
    You also need to use the stock TouchWiz launcher. It gets extremely hit or miss with custom launchers (Nova, ADW, etc)

    The AccuWeather widget should be preloaded with all Samsung phones. The AccuWeather app won't work.
     
  9. jackoatrade

    jackoatrade Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2015

    Jun 16, 2015
    1
    0
    15
    Go to settings go to apps manager go to all and make sure that something called Unified Daemon(EUR) is turned on.
    I shut mine off yesterday by mistake and my gear2 would no longer sync with weather and location. I just turned it back on, reset my gear 2 synced it back up with gear manager and IT ALL WORKS
     
  10. C C White

    C C White Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2019

    Feb 22, 2019
    1
    0
    15
    I just want to get rid of the "tap here to add a city to your mobile device" from the home screen on my Gear Fit. I don't connect by Gear Fit to any weather apps but this just popped up and I can find no way to get rid of it.
     

Share This Page

Loading...