1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support General questions thread/discussion (New to Android/M7?)

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by c04vu5, Oct 27, 2012.

  1. TheAtheistReverend

    TheAtheistReverend Anybody want a peanut?
    VIP Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    333
    Posts:
    2,837
    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2010

    Feb 24, 2010
    2,837
    933
    333
    EMT
    Minneapolis
    You could try automateit in the play store. I use it to automatically silence my phone when I open certain apps like Pandora or Tune In.
     

    Advertisement

    dgrobe2112, rdwoody1 and PyroSporker like this.
  2. GuitarG20

    GuitarG20 Clueless Senior Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    253
    Posts:
    2,065
    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2012

    Jun 23, 2012
    2,065
    972
    253
    Male
    Texas
    Maybe consider the new hangouts? I feel like it quiets down the notification when you have the app open
     
  3. rdwoody1

    rdwoody1 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2013

    Nov 5, 2013
    3
    0
    5
    I'll look into that. I haven't tried it myself, but it doesn't sound ideal for me from what I've heard. I use the Hangouts extension throughout the day from a PC. I like to have the notifications on for that, but I do not want the notifications coming to my phone. From what I understand, in order to keep notifications from Hangouts chats coming to your phone but retain SMS notifications in the combined app, you have to turn off notifications for each individual Hangout.

    I just got this installed and set up a rule. It seems to be doing exactly what I want. Thanks for the suggestion. Does it affect battery life? It seems like a service that is always running in the background. Does it trip a lot of wakelocks or anything?
     
  4. TheAtheistReverend

    TheAtheistReverend Anybody want a peanut?
    VIP Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    333
    Posts:
    2,837
    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2010

    Feb 24, 2010
    2,837
    933
    333
    EMT
    Minneapolis
    I haven't noticed any real impact on battery, but I suspect if you use the location feature, depending on the frequency of pings, you'll see some. I've been using it for quite a while now, and I think it has had zero effent on battery. I use it to automatically reboot every other day (while I'm sleeping), turn off bluetooth when I disconnect a device, silence on any media app opening (return to normal when they close too), and silence when opening the camera (return to normal volume when closed).

    I like perusing through the market for fun ideas.
     
  5. rdwoody1

    rdwoody1 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2013

    Nov 5, 2013
    3
    0
    5
    Very nice. Thanks! Looks like this will be useful for far more than just the SMS issue.

    EDIT: It doesn't seem like AutomateIt can do exactly what I need after all. It works fine to set the phone to vibrate or silent when Messages is active and set it back to normal upon exiting, but I use vibrate mode quite often as well. With that rule set up, it goes back to the normal profile regardless of what profile it was on before. It would be ideal if it had an option to revert back to previously used profile instead of just choosing normal, silent, or vibrate.
     
  6. xoeyehartyewox

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2013

    Oct 30, 2013
    6
    0
    5
    Posted this and nothing...so trying again


    Okay guys i need some help. I am on AT&T network in the US. I updated to 4.3 right after it came out ( first of the month ? ) Ever since then I have had 2 issues ( that I have found ) both pertainging to texting.

    1) When I send or am about to recieve a text, a green or orange, or green and orange symbol ( not sure what it is ) flashes up on my notification bar, just briefly, so fast I cant even get a screen shot of what it is, but my friend who also has AT&T and also updated, his phone does not do this flash thing when sending or recieveing texts. Anyone know what it is, or what app bloatware AT&T installed.

    2) Also after the update some texts do not send, they have the little clock/note thing next to them and wont send, until I restart my phone, then it sends whatever text right away. I can be texting back and forth and 1 lone message does not go through but other do. Anyone else having issues with that?

    I did have an issue with my battery when I first did the update. I emailed HTC and they claimed they were not aware of the issue, but seeing many posts about it. I turned off the percentage use and it actually seems to help, or I dont notice it draining so quick. I have my settings on the lowest possible brightness, dont leave bluetooth or wifi on when I dont need it, not sure what the issue was but HTC was really no help.
     
  7. EarlyMon

    EarlyMon The PearlyMon
    VIP Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5,218
    Posts:
    57,591
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010

    Jun 10, 2010
    57,591
    70,376
    5,218
    New Mexico, USA
    The thing to know about all Android - the operating system works off of caches, just like your browser and so do apps.

    Just like your browser when those caches get tangled, things misbehave until you clear them.

    And they tend to get tangled on every major update.

    I've complained to the makers until blue in the face to fix this during the update process - it's 2 to 4 lines of update code depending on the model - and for three years none have listened.

    Here's what you want to do -

    First make a full backup of everything you can - I recommend Helium Backup, it's free and good.

    Check your Gmail account on the web - backup your contacts there also. Look for an option to Export - select all contacts, save them into a vCard file.

    Then - do a factory data reset on your phone.

    And restore your backups.

    This is easier to do if you're rooted but if not rooted follow my advice above.

    Like they say in that Alien movie, nuke this problem from orbit, it's the only way to be sure.

    Doing this may fix some or all of your problems - no telling ahead of time.

    But I promise you'll chase your tail trying to fix anything without doing that first.

    And I urge everyone - get into the habit of doing this with every Android update they send you.

    It's not maybe things can get hosed during updates - they do. They ought to fix this but until they do, follow the above advice and it won't bite you.

    Hope this helps! :)
     
  8. Gurds

    Gurds Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2013

    Sep 3, 2013
    2
    0
    5
    UK
    Hi
    I am new to android, and used to have an iPhone. The main problem is that all the emails don't come through. Some come through fine but others come through with the following message:

    /storage/emulated/0/download/.mail/token etc etc
     
  9. Marco1

    Marco1 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2012

    Nov 10, 2012
    4
    0
    5
    I have just received my htc one and love but when I tap the 4.2 android software number it won't access the jellybean daydream.
    Does JB on the one not do this?
    Thanks.
     
  10. Hadron

    Hadron Smoke me a kipper...
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #8
    Points:
    2,468
    Posts:
    24,651
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010

    Aug 9, 2010
    24,651
    19,024
    2,468
    Spacecorp Test Pilot
    Dimension Jumping
    No, HTC don't include the jellybean easter egg. Sorry :(

    Confirmed this myself earlier this week - my daughter borrowed my phone to show me (having heard about it), and nothing happened.
     
  11. gibbs1984

    gibbs1984 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,004
    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010

    I'm confused, do you want the Jelly Bean Easter Egg or Daydream because the Easter Egg isn't included and the Daydream is located somewhere else - Display, gestures and buttons.
     
  12. Huw

    Huw Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    69
    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2009

    Nov 22, 2009
    69
    4
    16
    UK
    Hullo!

    I've just upgraded from a Blackberry Torch 9800. Obviously the One is much more powerful and overall I'm extremely happy with it. However, after two years of owning the Torch I had it set up exactly how I wanted it and there are some things I miss. I would be very grateful for assistance with them:

    1. Calendar notifications. This is a big deal to me, and is currently my biggest problem with the One. My Blackberry calendar was full of notifications. I could see the next three by pulling down the status bar, and when each one became due an alarm would ring, offering me the chance to dismiss it or snooze for five minutes. My One does no such thing; in fact, notifications come and go without a peep, even though I've set them to play an alert "on time". I desperately want to get this fixed!

    2. Sound profiles. The Torch has a pile of them. The One seems to have only three, and two of those are silent and vibrate. Seriously? I get only one "normal" profile, so I have to keep manually adjusting volumes myself? Please tell me I'm missing something here!

    3. Auto on/off. This isn't such a big deal but it was nice to have my Torch wake up and grab my emails etc. a few minutes before I did. Any way to do the same with the One?

    Many thanks in advance for all advice.
     
  13. GuitarG20

    GuitarG20 Clueless Senior Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    253
    Posts:
    2,065
    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2012

    Jun 23, 2012
    2,065
    972
    253
    Male
    Texas
    1. Can you go into your calendar settings and make sure you have all the boxes for calendar notifications turned on?

    2. That's how all android sound profiles work. If you use the volume keys while music isn't playing, you can change the notification volume. Unfortunately there isn't a way to swap between volume with vibrate and volume without vibrate (the only thing I wish I had).

    3. Don't know of any way to do this, other than leaving your phone in silent mode all night. Which it sounds like isn't something you really want to do.
     
    Huw likes this.
  14. Huw

    Huw Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    69
    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2009

    Nov 22, 2009
    69
    4
    16
    UK
    Hi GuitarG20, thank you for replying.

    Here's what I have set right now:

    Calendar -> settings:

    Play notifications ON
    Vibrate when reminder is due ON
    Set alerts and notifications ALERT
    Default reminder time ON TIME

    Calendar -> individual event:

    Reminders (Notification) ON TIME

    The general sound settings are all set correctly, and I get notification sounds for other events (like receiving email, SMS etc).

    Well that's disappointing.

    Not really, but it's what I'm currently doing due to lack of an alternative. This one isn't a huge deal though.
     
    knickstar90 likes this.
  15. Hadron

    Hadron Smoke me a kipper...
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #8
    Points:
    2,468
    Posts:
    24,651
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010

    Aug 9, 2010
    24,651
    19,024
    2,468
    Spacecorp Test Pilot
    Dimension Jumping
    I use Calendar Snooze to give me full-screen, repeating, snoozeable notifications. Works with any calendar app.

    There are also apps which can provide multiple sound profiles (I still have the venerable Audiomanager Pro installed, though rarely use it these days, but there are many others). This is "the Android way" - if the ROM doesn't include what you want, find an app that provides it.

    As for the last, depends what you mean "wake up". From really off, no. But you could use an app like Tasker or Timeriffic to turn radios on (if you put it in airplane mode) or enable data at some time.
     
    GuitarG20, marctronixx and Huw like this.
  16. Huw

    Huw Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    69
    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2009

    Nov 22, 2009
    69
    4
    16
    UK
    Hadron, many thanks for posting. It seems to me that the stock calendar app is broken, since the settings I've specified suggest that I should be getting an alert when an event is scheduled. But if I can fix it, and my other problems, by installing apps then I suppose I'll do that. I'm just not used to having to install things to get my phone working the way I want it to.

    Thanks again, I appreciate you taking the time to help.
     
    GuitarG20 and marctronixx like this.
  17. marctronixx

    Moderator
    Rank:
     #31
    Points:
    683
    Posts:
    6,624
    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2009

    Oct 12, 2009
    6,624
    4,354
    683
    34.0522° N, 118.2437° W
  18. jordankocon

    jordankocon Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2012

    Jan 29, 2012
    4
    0
    5
    Hey all,

    I just picked up an HTC one yesterday and absolutely love it. There is one big thing I miss from my last phone though, the ability to swipe up on home screen and have that gesture open up my 'apps' menu. Are there any apps that can provide this functionality? I want to keep the default launcher for now, so I'm not looking for a change of launcher, just an app that can do this.

    Cheers,

    - Jordan
     
  19. HenryKrinkle

    HenryKrinkle Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    138
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    138
    30
    43
    Maybe I don't quite understand the question but why would you need to swipe when the app button is always at the bottom of the screen?
     
  20. Adar

    Adar Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    207
    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2011

    Jul 19, 2011
    207
    93
    53
    I assume he wants to be able to bring up the app list while he is in another app, rather than have to go to Home, then apps. The app button isn't there if you are in some other app at the time.

    unfortunately, I don't have an answer. I actually don't use gestures for pretty much anything, so I have never looked into doing that.
     
  21. El Presidente

    El Presidente Beware The Milky Pirate!
    VIP Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    3,118
    Posts:
    32,107
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011

    Jan 3, 2011
    32,107
    24,090
    3,118
    Scotland
    I use Appsi. When I swipe from the left hand side of my screen, I get an overlay which has a list of my favourite 8 apps (if that doesn't make sense, I'll post a screenshot). I'm sure you could configure it to show your app drawer if you wanted it to. It works everywhere, even on the lock screen.
     
  22. jordankocon

    jordankocon Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2012

    Jan 29, 2012
    4
    0
    5
    Cheers thanks, Ill give that a try! I'm just looking to be able to do it on my homescreen. I understand there is the app button on the bottom, and maybe I sound horribly lazy, but after being able to swipe up its such a pain/awkward movement every time reaching for the app button.
     
  23. vince1

    vince1 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    132
    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010

    Jul 18, 2010
    132
    7
    56
    Ireland
    Hi all,
    I recently moved from a GS2 to the One and very happy but for one thing. How do I sent the inbox to only show inbox messages. I am syncing a few folders and it keeps reverting to show all messages. I really just want to see the inbox.
    Any ideas.
    I'm on 4.3 using the baked in mail app
     
  24. marctronixx

    Moderator
    Rank:
     #31
    Points:
    683
    Posts:
    6,624
    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2009

    Oct 12, 2009
    6,624
    4,354
    683
    34.0522° N, 118.2437° W
    In the mail app,

    Top right corner there's three dots. Tap and you have options. You should see folder as an option. Tap and adjust to taste.

    Also tap the top left of the current account. You will see all email accounts. Tap which one you want to see.
     
  25. vince1

    vince1 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    132
    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010

    Jul 18, 2010
    132
    7
    56
    Ireland
    I have tried this but it keeps reverting back to showing all messages.
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...