1. Check out our companion app, Forums for Android! Download from Google Play

Support General questions thread/discussion (New to Android/M7?)

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by c04vu5, Oct 27, 2012.

  1. kylecummins

    kylecummins Well-Known Member
    93

    Dec 11, 2011
    841
    160
    93
    Union Member
    Canada
    Any idea how to change my text notification??

    I've changed the ringtone and "notification" tones via zedge app

    But the notification one just seems to be for emails...

    Appreciate any help
     

    Advertisement

  2. Abird!

    Abird! Well-Known Member
    63

    Have you tried changing the notification while in messages? I usual change my text notification from there
     
    sikclown, marctronixx and kylecummins like this.
  3. kylecummins

    kylecummins Well-Known Member
    93

    Dec 11, 2011
    841
    160
    93
    Union Member
    Canada
    Thanks, never thought to check in settings!
     
  4. wildruler

    wildruler New Member
    5

    May 2, 2013
    1
    0
    5
    How do you turn off autocorrect on the HTC One?
     
  5. marctronixx

    Moderator
    623

    Oct 12, 2009
    5,721
    3,546
    623
    34.0522° N, 118.2437° W
    Settings /language and keyboard / htc sense input settings.

    This is also in the htc manual on your device also. :)
     
  6. wayneholbrook

    wayneholbrook Well-Known Member
    16

    Aug 2, 2010
    66
    1
    16
    LAW
    Miami Beach Florida
    Does the One have an LED Notification light?
     
  7. ScandaLeX

    ScandaLeX Wasn't Me
    223

    May 4, 2010
    3,829
    965
    223
    Female
    PhiLLy
    Yes it does.
     
  8. busted bones

    busted bones Well-Known Member
    78

    Dec 19, 2010
    515
    74
    78
    Shipping and Receiving Manager
    Alright, I've been around Android since the OG EVO came out and am looking to upgrade to the H1 in June from a Photon 4G. I was wondering about the charging though. I noticed it's MHL and doesn't have a micro USB port. If I upgrade does this mean all my old chargers are now useless? I've got a few different ones for work, home and travel and it would be a bit of a PITA to have to change them all out. If they don't work, is there an adapter I can use?

    I apologize in advance if these have been answered before and I didn't see it. I've just never had a MHL device. Thanks for any help in advance.
     
  9. marctronixx

    Moderator
    623

    Oct 12, 2009
    5,721
    3,546
    623
    34.0522° N, 118.2437° W
    EarlyMon and Rxpert83 like this.
  10. emf1138

    emf1138 Well-Known Member
    43

    Sep 8, 2012
    70
    35
    43
    Los Angeles
    So, my wall charger seems to have disappeared. Can I use any USB -> A/C charger or does it have to be the HTC branded version. Can I use an old iphone charger?
     
  11. marctronixx

    Moderator
    623

    Oct 12, 2009
    5,721
    3,546
    623
    34.0522° N, 118.2437° W
    i have a spare logitech usb AC charger at the job for the htc one, so you can use any similar charger...
     
    emf1138 and EarlyMon like this.
  12. rottonj

    rottonj Well-Known Member
    53

    Jun 12, 2010
    113
    48
    53
    Male
    Manager
    USA, Connecticut
    Is this phone capable of multi color led and has anyone tried the various apps with positive results on the One? Thanks
     
  13. GuitarG20

    GuitarG20 Clueless Senior Member
    253

    Jun 23, 2012
    2,067
    972
    253
    Male
    Texas
    I believe the LED will only do green and amber. I could be wrong though.
     
  14. marctronixx

    Moderator
    623

    Oct 12, 2009
    5,721
    3,546
    623
    34.0522° N, 118.2437° W
    NO the one's notification lamp does not take advantage of those types of settings in its stock configuration.



     
  15. Rhyan

    Rhyan Well-Known Member
    18

    Apr 24, 2012
    71
    14
    18
    The only way I can think of achieving your end goal of both devices being able to download the emails without preventing the other (i.e. because the server says they've already been downloaded) is to set the accounts up in Outlook and on your phone as IMAP accounts, instead of POP3 accounts (assuming your accounts can be set up as IMAP accounts - not all can).

    With IMAP accounts, the server becomes the main source, and each computer/phone keeps a synced copy of the server locally. Changes (clearing read flag, deleting, receiving) made on any device are reflected on all of the others.

    This is how I've set up my accounts in Outlook, on my HTC One X and Nexus 7.

    Rhyan
     
  16. PilotBob

    PilotBob Well-Known Member
    38

    Jul 18, 2012
    149
    21
    38
    Male
    Tampa, FL
    Ordered the factory unlocked HTC One from HTC directly. A few questions.

    Does this have the same radio's as buying it from T-Mobile or AT&T? Or are there different hard ware versions for different carriers? Which version am I getting.

    How would updates for the phone get pushed. Would they come directly from HTC? Don't the carriers usually put out the ROM/Android updates?

    Is the factory unlock a hardware or software thing? In other words, if I flash a ROM to this is it still carrier unlocked?

    thanks,
    BOb
     
  17. GuitarG20

    GuitarG20 Clueless Senior Member
    253

    Jun 23, 2012
    2,067
    972
    253
    Male
    Texas
    I can't speak to the radios. However, if you get a phone unlocked from the factory, it won't come with any carrier bloatware, and you will get your updates pushed directly from the manufacturer as they don't have to get it approved through the carriers (slow) update approval process.

    Most ROMs are carrier unlocked by default. Flashing a ROM shouldn't lock your phone to any particular carrier, and if it does you should be able to go back to being unlocked just by moving off the ROM in question.
     
    PilotBob likes this.
  18. EarlyMon

    EarlyMon The PearlyMon
    5,218

    Jun 10, 2010
    57,631
    70,396
    5,218
    New Mexico, USA
    Please check the FAQ sticky for radio version details of the other models.
     
    marctronixx likes this.
  19. PilotBob

    PilotBob Well-Known Member
    38

    Jul 18, 2012
    149
    21
    38
    Male
    Tampa, FL
    so am I to assume I am getting the MDM9215 shown on that chart?

    BOb
     
    EarlyMon likes this.
  20. EarlyMon

    EarlyMon The PearlyMon
    5,218

    Jun 10, 2010
    57,631
    70,396
    5,218
    New Mexico, USA
    Yes, and the radio transceivers have been upgraded, it appears to give more flexibility for T-Mobile and ATT use.

    I just added the frequency comparison for the Developer Edition just after the chart, thought I'd done that before, sorry about that. :eek:

    For best results, do ensure that you're flashing roms (and especially kernels) intended for your model. Roms tie to kernels, kernels tie to hardware. Follow that rule and you'll be ok.
     
    GuitarG20, KOLIO and marctronixx like this.
  21. PilotBob

    PilotBob Well-Known Member
    38

    Jul 18, 2012
    149
    21
    38
    Male
    Tampa, FL
    I'm not 100% sure what you are trying to do? You want to be able to access your email from multiple devices? If yes...

    What email server are you using? POP really doesn't work when you want to do this.

    If you have an email address that goes to a POP server I would suggest getting a gmail.com (probably best with an android phone) or outlook.com account (better for Outlook on PCs) and setting it up to retrieve email from your POP server. This way you can access your email using IMAP. With IMAP the mail stays on the server so your device clients can access it, change read flags, move stuff to folders/tags etc and all stay in sync.

    You can configure both outlook.com and gmail.com to send through your ISPs email servers so the email looks correctly that it is coming from that account.

    BOb
     
    GuitarG20 likes this.
  22. whiteguy00

    whiteguy00 New Member
    5

    May 8, 2013
    2
    0
    5
    I just got the HTC One and was curious how you change the SMS Notification tone, I just realized that Notification Tone alone doesn't change when you get a SMS I am tired of this old tone already.
     
  23. PilotBob

    PilotBob Well-Known Member
    38

    Jul 18, 2012
    149
    21
    38
    Male
    Tampa, FL
    system Settings, Sounds should let you set ringtone and notification tone. Also, most apps let you specify the notification tone either to default or to a specific tone for that app.

    BOb
     
  24. GuitarG20

    GuitarG20 Clueless Senior Member
    253

    Jun 23, 2012
    2,067
    972
    253
    Male
    Texas
    I believe the setting for SMS ringtone is in settings in the SMS app itself.
     
  25. sikclown

    sikclown Well-Known Member
    213

    Nov 21, 2009
    1,910
    965
    213
    Male
    Business Owner
    New Orleans, LA
    Go to Messaging App then the 3 dots in the Upper right hand corner then Settings then Notifications and then Notification Sound.
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...