1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support General/random questions thread Version 1

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Guvner, Apr 24, 2013.

  1. Guvner

    Guvner Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2013

    Apr 24, 2013
    1
    0
    5
    It looks like the word "History" is small and fuzzed out at the beginning of the word for whatever reason making me look a little harder for it when I am looking at the screen. I downloaded Rocketdial only to see it missing calls that came in on it's history list that are on the dialer that came with the phone's history list. Am I missing something?

    Thanks...

    G..
     

    Advertisement

  2. Wolfedude88

    Wolfedude88 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    2,756
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2010

    Jan 3, 2010
    2,756
    554
    313
    Male
    Jr. I.T. Support Tech @ Amazon
    Plainfield, Indiana
    I'm not sure about that but here is something you can try if the font is too small

    1. On the Sense dialer screen, press the 3-dot menu button where the key entries show up
    2. Select Full screen keypad
     
    flayzeraynx likes this.
  3. Androidcurious

    Androidcurious Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    324
    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2010

    Jul 6, 2010
    324
    111
    78
    So maybe someone can figure this one out:

    From day one, my One's shade notifications only contained the app messaging me (gmail, work, etc) and how many new messages I had.

    Suddenly, as of this morning, it shows snippets of the message body itself.

    Did I accidentally turn something on? Was something turned off previously? Am I insane?
     
  4. toad6386

    toad6386 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
     #257
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    361
    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010

    Apr 13, 2010
    361
    196
    88
    Male
    RFID FSE
    So Cen TX
    Probably not.
    Could be.
    Don't know you well enough to make an accurate assessment. :p (After all, how can the insane judge the sane? :D)

    My guess is that you're seeing the snippets because there is only a single message rather than multiple. I know my phone shows snippets ONLY when there's a single message of that sort. :)
     
  5. Androidcurious

    Androidcurious Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    324
    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2010

    Jul 6, 2010
    324
    111
    78
    Hmmm could be. I guess maybe that's the winning answer for now.

    Thanks for the help.
     
    marctronixx likes this.
  6. Androidcurious

    Androidcurious Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    324
    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2010

    Jul 6, 2010
    324
    111
    78
    So here's a weird issue I've encountered. The native keyboard keeps changing simple words to foreign/nonsense words.

    Anyone encounter this and have a fix?
     
  7. Abird!

    Abird! Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    119
    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2011

    Only time I encounter that is if my keyboard got switched from English to another language.
     
    marctronixx likes this.
  8. sean76

    sean76 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    4,460
    Joined:
    May 5, 2010

    May 5, 2010
    4,460
    779
    213
    THE BOSS
    NYC
    I noticed this right away, like within 15min...lol!
    The auto correct will just ish up some simple words and sentences.
     
    marctronixx likes this.
  9. Androidcurious

    Androidcurious Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    324
    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2010

    Jul 6, 2010
    324
    111
    78
    Found the issue -go into your HTC keyboard settings. I had other languages chosen along with English, unbeknownst to me. Unselect them. Fixed with no problem. :)
     
    marctronixx likes this.
  10. SolApathy

    SolApathy Just another robot
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #85
    Points:
    333
    Posts:
    1,830
    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2010

    Jun 1, 2010
    1,830
    1,453
    333
    Male
    IT
    Ohio
    So it seems when I am writing an email in the default mail app it is not auto spacing when either composing a new message or replying to an old one. It works fine in texting app and Whatsapp. Even checked the settings to verify it was enabled.


    When a word is finished it highlights it in blue like it's waiting for me to possibly correct it. Even if I choose one of the other available words it still does not auto-space


    Reset the mail application, reset the phone and I am having the same issue.
     
  11. marctronixx

    Moderator
    Rank:
     #38
    Points:
    643
    Posts:
    5,900
    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2009

    Oct 12, 2009
    5,900
    3,629
    643
    34.0522° N, 118.2437° W
    thank you for posting.

    open a ticket (if you have not already) with HTC. perhaps if enough people submit tickets on this they can include an update.

    i use swiftkey exclusively so no issues with that keyboard.
     
  12. SolApathy

    SolApathy Just another robot
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #85
    Points:
    333
    Posts:
    1,830
    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2010

    Jun 1, 2010
    1,830
    1,453
    333
    Male
    IT
    Ohio
    Already did, just seeing if I am the only one experiencing this issue with the mail application.
     
    marctronixx likes this.
  13. toad6386

    toad6386 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
     #257
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    361
    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010

    Apr 13, 2010
    361
    196
    88
    Male
    RFID FSE
    So Cen TX
    Yes, I am as well, but I normally use the G mail app. So I set it up to test, and find it to be so. Kinda weird. Keep us posted.
     
    marctronixx likes this.
  14. Abird!

    Abird! Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    119
    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2011

    Yeah mine does that too, weird it'll space in the subject portion but not in the body.
     
    marctronixx likes this.
  15. sean76

    sean76 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    4,460
    Joined:
    May 5, 2010

    May 5, 2010
    4,460
    779
    213
    THE BOSS
    NYC
    I have the issue as well...kind of frustrating.
     
  16. Abird!

    Abird! Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    119
    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2011

    I don't email much from my phone, more send links/check email...so doesn't bother me too much. BUT it's still not acceptable. I wonder if it's just the One's version of swype?
     
  17. Regar93

    Regar93 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2011

    Mar 6, 2011
    4
    0
    5
    I'm hoping someone can help me on this issue. Apparently during a call if I pull the phone away from my ear/cheek and then put it back, the person on the other end can hear what they said sounds like the keyboard tone. Just like if you push a number on your keypad. Weird thing is 1) I cant hear this tone on my end and 2) the keyboard isn't even activated.

    (This is on my HTC One on Sprint... need to change my device to HTC One)

    thanks!
     
  18. marctronixx

    Moderator
    Rank:
     #38
    Points:
    643
    Posts:
    5,900
    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2009

    Oct 12, 2009
    5,900
    3,629
    643
    34.0522° N, 118.2437° W
    what is "keyboard tone"?

    do you mean the alphabet keyboard like swype or the "qwerty" keyboard or do you mean the phone dial pad?

    does this happen to other callers or just one caller?

    is your screen ON when this happens? does your screen turn on and off when you move away/to it? (the sensor makes this happen)

    do you use a screen protector? is it in a case?

    maybe some silly questions but need to get a good idea on your setup since we can seee it.
     
  19. Granite1

    Granite1 Zercron Encrusted Tweezer
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    833
    Posts:
    7,159
    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2010

    Dec 27, 2010
    7,159
    7,180
    833
    Male
    Highway Construction Inspection
    Pittsburgh, PA
    Sounds like a cheek dial to me Marc. Maybe the proximity sensor isn't turning the screen off fast enough when the phone is brought back to their face?

    I know on my phone when the dialer is in landscape the proximity sensors don't work at all. I'll cheek dial like crazy.

    Does the stock One have landscape dialer capability?
     
  20. PyroSporker

    PyroSporker Android Expert
    Rank:
     #89
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    1,778
    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2010

    Apr 3, 2010
    1,778
    1,285
    323
    Welcome to the forum Regar
    This is normal behavior. My ears have observed this as a caller and as a person taking a call on prior HTC phones. Has happened for me as far back as a Samsung flip phone about 8 years ago. (Sprint network as well)

    When the screen is re-activated (either through proximity sensor/ambient light sensor or hardware key), with a call connected, there can be a momentary blip of RF interference across the call for some reason.

    No relation to the keyboard, except that maybe the interference has a frequency that can maybe sound a little bit like a touch tone to the person on the other end of the call. This frequency could sound different for different phones, whether the noise can be heard could also depend on the network band of both phones.

    My old Samsung flip, I used to be able to send/receive texts with other people while on a call. If you sent a text whilst on a call it created an RF blip across the live line as well, and would make the person you are on the call with wonder what in the world was going on.

    I suppose the One could be different, and maybe it actually does send a real tone across and it is not just RF Interference, but the only way to test the theory is to experiment. :)
     
  21. Regar93

    Regar93 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2011

    Mar 6, 2011
    4
    0
    5
    other thing to add... per the other response, I have had 2 other HTC phones, the Hero and Evo, and neither did this.

    Thanks
     
  22. marctronixx

    Moderator
    Rank:
     #38
    Points:
    643
    Posts:
    5,900
    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2009

    Oct 12, 2009
    5,900
    3,629
    643
    34.0522° N, 118.2437° W
    Strange behavior indeed. I mean if the caller hears the tone then you should hear the tone also, if we are talking about the phone dialer.

    Also, as suggested, if your sensor is working then the screen is turning off and no touch tone sounds should be output.

    Verify your screen is actually off and see if the tones present themselves again...
     
  23. Regar93

    Regar93 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2011

    Mar 6, 2011
    4
    0
    5
    Marc,

    A little more info as I have been playing around. I'm wondering if its not an issue with my Airave from Sprint. My wife is home as well so I called her phone. That means I placed the call and she answered through our Airave at home. I moved it around and she heard no beeps/tones/etc.

    I then called a friend who is not here (and of course not on my Airave) and he can hear the tones. He said it "beeps" twice with a sound like the tones on the dial pad the moment I pull the phone from my cheek. I confirmed also that my phone seems to act normally when I put the phone to my cheek (screen shuts off) and comes back on when I pull it away with the person I'm talking to's name and phone number showing.
     
  24. rickiwithani

    rickiwithani Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    13
    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009

    Nov 8, 2009
    13
    1
    16
    Is there anyway to get the gs4 keyboard.apk or anything similar with the row of numbers at the top without rooting?

    also are there any really good apps for creating folders and being able to change the icon or look of them. im normally not that superficial but i like to have my phone icon open up a folder with the phone icon and contacts and htcs folders look really dumb when there are less than four icons in a folder
     
  25. EarlyMon

    EarlyMon The PearlyMon
    Rank:
     #1
    Points:
    5,218
    Posts:
    57,632
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010

    Jun 10, 2010
    57,632
    70,418
    5,218
    New Mexico, USA
    From Samsung Galaxy S4 Review (Video) | MobileSyrup.com

    I use SwiftKey, you can try before you buy - https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.touchtype.swiftkey.phone.trial

    I also use Hackers Keyboard, it's free - https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=org.pocketworkstation.pckeyboard

    Neither requires root.

    If you really want to go to town on folders and icons, and don't mind losing Blinkfeed and your HTC widgets, go with Nova launcher - root not required.

    You can theme and change your entire icon setup, there are lots of free and paid options on that. Search the Play Store for Nova and you'll find the launcher and endless pages of add-ons.
     
    KOLIO likes this.
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...