1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root "Generic network failure."

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by icrazy2u, Jun 3, 2011.

  1. icrazy2u

    icrazy2u Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    189
    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2010

    Aug 1, 2010
    189
    13
    38
    My phone has been coming up with that message for a while. Saying "Message not downloaded" and take my pictures a while to send to people. Also, I can receive photos sometimes, but most the time it just comes up with this message. I've tried some ways to fix it, but my phone is rooted w/ Magnolia 1.3.2 and the kernel is HeyItsLou... #1. I can send and receive text fine. Is there a good solution to this?
     

    Advertisement

  2. sdrawkcab25

    sdrawkcab25 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    423
    Posts:
    5,589
    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2010

    Aug 5, 2010
    5,589
    2,005
    423
    Male
    PA
    Had you changed anything when you started receiving the message?
     
  3. icrazy2u

    icrazy2u Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    189
    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2010

    Aug 1, 2010
    189
    13
    38
    Nope.
     
  4. icrazy2u

    icrazy2u Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    189
    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2010

    Aug 1, 2010
    189
    13
    38
    Nevermind, problem solved. I just installed a widget from CurveFish, and on that widget I went into menu and reset to default and it worked once I rebooted phone. At least it works for now. iPhone users tend to **** up my phone when they send me messages.
     
  5. sdrawkcab25

    sdrawkcab25 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    423
    Posts:
    5,589
    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2010

    Aug 5, 2010
    5,589
    2,005
    423
    Male
    PA
    so you did make changes.... those widgets from them can affect your apns which allow you to receive text messages.
     
  6. icrazy2u

    icrazy2u Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    189
    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2010

    Aug 1, 2010
    189
    13
    38
    That was my first time using that app. Read something on here that said installing it and reseting to default would help.
     
  7. wesleypipesyo

    wesleypipesyo Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    42
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    42
    3
    16
    Technical Director
    Maryland
    Which app did you use?
     
  8. icrazy2u

    icrazy2u Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    189
    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2010

    Aug 1, 2010
    189
    13
    38
    In the market it says "APN OnOff" and under it says "CurveFish". It's a free app. Just search Curvefish and you'll find it.
     
    wesleypipesyo likes this.
  9. wesleypipesyo

    wesleypipesyo Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    42
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    42
    3
    16
    Technical Director
    Maryland

    Yupers, found it around 3am. It works again. The phone is still a bit twitchy for my liking. I am going to wipe it. But not for a while. All my free time is worked up in fixing a $500 truck I bought last week. Go figure it has some slight issues.
     
  10. BabyBlues

    BabyBlues Trouble Just Finds Me!
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,333
    Posts:
    13,125
    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2010

    Jun 3, 2010
    13,125
    9,766
    1,333
    Female
    Masquerading as a responsible adult
    Jersey - born & bred
    I have not rooted my phone but saw this thread and just had to drop a quick note that I was getting the same message this week. It seems to be intermittent but irritating anyway.
     
  11. icrazy2u

    icrazy2u Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    189
    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2010

    Aug 1, 2010
    189
    13
    38
    Theres a thread on here that says it's caused by pressing something in the Quick Settings app.
     

Share This Page

Loading...