1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Geo tag

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by cyxs, May 5, 2012.

  1. cyxs

    cyxs Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    May 5, 2012

    May 5, 2012
    1
    0
    5
    When a photo is taken using GPS feature, how come when trying to find the location of the photo on maps the closest highway is shown and not the location of the photo.
     

    Advertisement

  2. 9to5cynic

    9to5cynic Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    633
    Posts:
    4,873
    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2011

    Feb 20, 2011
    4,873
    1,766
    633
    /home/
    Hello cyxs,
    That's a good question. I would guess that maybe the GPS wasn't fully locked in. I know with mine, sometimes it says something like "Accurate up to 300m", and other times it says "Accurate up to 2m"....

    That *might* be it.

    I hope that helps, and I thought I'd take this time to also welcome you to the forums!
     
  3. Harry2

    Harry2 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    5,181
    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2010

    Jun 3, 2010
    5,181
    1,341
    323
    Black Forest
    Try this in the Maps text box. Type "loc:" without space in front of the coordinates.

    So Maps will show you the "true" location of the GPS coordinates and not the nearest road close to the location.

    Harry
     
  4. Jon_LTD

    Jon_LTD Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    786
    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2011

    Sep 6, 2011
    786
    84
    98
    Male
    Uk
    Basically this. You need to enable the gps section under Menu > Settings > Location & Security. Otherwise it will determine your location either via your signal or, if enabled and connected, your wifi.
     
  5. BarnumC

    BarnumC Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    82
    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2010

    Aug 30, 2010
    82
    6
    16
    photo processing
    Cambs
    I go geocaching and have noticed that the phone is as accurate as the Garmin I use, saying that the Garmin suffers when theres thick cloud cover, so atmospherics 'might' have played a part in it
     
  6. chilvenlee

    chilvenlee Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2012

    Jun 14, 2012
    4
    0
    5
    It could be taking GPS from your cell network instead of your GPS unit. Try this one which worked well for me, and it has facebook connectivity:

    https://play.google.com/store/apps/...51bGwsMSwyLDEsIm1ldG9jb21wLmltYWdldHRhZ2VyIl0.


     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...