1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Get 1.5 Without Rooting, Using UK Version

Discussion in 'Android Lounge' started by Superatim, May 18, 2009.

  1. Superatim

    Superatim Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    17
    Joined:
    May 12, 2009

    May 12, 2009
    17
    1
    16

    Advertisement

  2. ryanyo88

    ryanyo88 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    May 18, 2009

    May 18, 2009
    3
    0
    5
    I'm doing this now. I absolutely cannot wait any longer for cupcake. It was hard enough forcing myself to wait this long, only to wake up to it being pushed back.

    Thanks for the tip!
     
  3. ChicagoPete

    ChicagoPete Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2008

    Dec 20, 2008
    7
    1
    6
    Chicago
    It worked for me too. I tested A2DP, auto-rotate, VK, video recording...it all works!
     
  4. sidkapur30

    sidkapur30 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    48
    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2008

    Nov 28, 2008
    48
    1
    36
    Got it and loving it :)

    Cupcake is sweet
     
  5. Scholesville

    Scholesville Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    May 12, 2009

    May 12, 2009
    10
    0
    15
    Hi, will this work on a RC8 version?
     
  6. sidkapur30

    sidkapur30 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    48
    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2008

    Nov 28, 2008
    48
    1
    36
    it is originally meant to work on RC8.. luckily it's working on RC 33 too :D
     
  7. Moxymo69

    Moxymo69 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    41
    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2008

    Oct 27, 2008
    41
    0
    15
    works great and very easy, but what happens when the update comes out next week? will wee still get it? or do we have to do some sort of update ourselves?
     
  8. sidkapur30

    sidkapur30 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    48
    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2008

    Nov 28, 2008
    48
    1
    36
    Considering it is an official 1.5 UK update, the system will recognize you as already updated. You have two options.
    1 when the update is out, you go back to rc33 and update to the US 1.5
    2 wait for a week after the official US 1.5 update and someone will post the update.zip file for the same... just download and do what you just did!!!

    Cheers
    Sid
     
  9. GeoUSA

    GeoUSA Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    324
    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2008

    Dec 9, 2008
    324
    32
    43
    Director of IT
    Anyone else notice their Contacts are empty after the update to UK 1.5? I was hoping a reboot would solve, but it has not.

    I should have waited a bit longer for others to discover this potential issue... :cool:

    Factory reset did eventually restore contacts. Perhaps that takes a bit longer to sync and would have eventually appeared without intervention. Note: Before the factory reset I was seeing a "Business Contacts is Empty" message.

    Geo
     
  10. brybam

    brybam Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2008

    Oct 6, 2008
    4
    0
    5
    you're fine just wait for the sync. same thing happened to me.
     
  11. newsoltsc

    newsoltsc Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    17
    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2008

    Nov 9, 2008
    17
    0
    15
    Works fine! Love it! <3!

    NOMnom
     
  12. cred05

    cred05 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    178
    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008

    Oct 17, 2008
    178
    3
    56
    Ohio
    Awesome! Works great, I had to wait about 20 minutes before it automatically synced my contacts.
     
  13. Ryno202

    Ryno202 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    May 20, 2009

    May 20, 2009
    3
    0
    5
    popcorn shoveler
    Michigan
    working fine here.

    to get your stuff to sync right away...

    menu>settings>Data Synchronization
    uncheck/check your auto sync
    or uncheck/check individual entities at the bottom.
    worked right away for all of my stuff. No waiting

    i love the aesthetic stuff. the notification pane looks nice, the main app menu slider looks nice. and the smallest thing, is huge for me...the new 'Browser' icon. that old thing just bugged me. hah

    hope i/we have no issues with this. i've received emails fine so far. no calls or texts though have been tried.

    had a ton of apps to update. and the new 'Toggle Settings' for cupcake is trick. my 'power manager' wont work though. i didnt use that much anymore anyways. toggle has all the same stuff.

    i love the keyboard and predictive text stuff with the keyboard, but the std messaging thing is so ugly and i can barely tell the sent/received messages apart. that needs an appearance upgrade badly. im torn between chomp and std now. guess ill use std when i need to use the onscreen for some reason, and chomp the most cuz the full keyboard is fine.
     
  14. stomper4x4

    stomper4x4 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2009

    Apr 19, 2009
    7
    2
    6
    Not sure, but it seems my chomp is using the cupcake keyboard now. After I updated chomp the keyboard changed, complete with the predictive text and all.
    So far, text, calls and emails work fine. Browser works, app store works. Camera seems speedier, with an on screen shutter trigger now which I like.

    Will test more tomorrow but so far it's been flawless.
     
  15. yakult

    yakult Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    May 18, 2009

    May 18, 2009
    8
    0
    5
    i don't know about you guys, but my UK 1.5 doesn't have IM & Amazon MP3, not even in the Market. For now, I have to use Palringo as my main IM software
     
  16. GeoUSA

    GeoUSA Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    324
    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2008

    Dec 9, 2008
    324
    32
    43
    Director of IT
    Yes, people reported that earlier in this thread. While UK 1.5 doesn't have the multi-provider IM app we have in the USA, note that you can find Google Talk in the screen of all programs and place it on your desktop. I tried eBuddy but had some periodic crashes of that app and just pefer the simplicity of Google Talk anyway.
     
  17. Ryno202

    Ryno202 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    May 20, 2009

    May 20, 2009
    3
    0
    5
    popcorn shoveler
    Michigan
    yes, i didnt even try that last night, thanks.

    my 'scoreboard' app doesnt work correctly now. it works fine, but just a small hiccup somehow in the formating of stuff, it doesnt fit right and its all spaced out. oh well. few other apps are unreliable and stuff, they will all just need 1.5 updates or replacements. im diggin it though
     
  18. brybam

    brybam Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2008

    Oct 6, 2008
    4
    0
    5
    I'd recommend using Meebo IM (since this update erases the USA standard multi IM client app) they just updated it and it's now probably my personal favorite IM tool. even better than ebuddy
     
  19. Superatim

    Superatim Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    17
    Joined:
    May 12, 2009

    May 12, 2009
    17
    1
    16
    I've mirrored the link here:
    Superatim

    Feel free to download it from there as it should download faster.
     
  20. theevilone

    theevilone Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    34
    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2008

    Aug 30, 2008
    34
    3
    16
    works great, mp3 go to the amazon web site download downloader on computer, once songs downloaded move them to your sd card.

    yes I am dumb, someone on another forum sent me to the site to download the amazon app. much better.

    forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=514038
     
  21. cred05

    cred05 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    178
    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008

    Oct 17, 2008
    178
    3
    56
    Ohio
    I just got a system update...

    Firmware: 1.5

    Kernel version: 2.6.27-00393-g6607056 san@sandroid #1

    Build number: CRB43
     
  22. theevilone

    theevilone Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    34
    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2008

    Aug 30, 2008
    34
    3
    16
    Got mine also today. downloaded over the UK version so now I have a US/UK phone. No google voice search but the thing never could understand what I was saying. Still have web and walk, like that.

    Now waiting for apple fritter and 3.0 for my iphone.:D
     
  23. jfuanito

    jfuanito Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    May 29, 2009

    May 29, 2009
    1
    0
    5
    Hi, i want to know i it works on a unlock G1, im a mexican owner...

    TKS
     

Share This Page

Loading...