1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Get .apk files off the phones internal memory?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by d.knight99, Sep 7, 2010.

  1. d.knight99

    d.knight99 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    265
    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010

    Apr 9, 2010
    265
    38
    63
    Student
    Bournemouth, UK
    Once I've downloaded an app from the market, Handcent for example, is there a way of getting the .apk off the phone and onto my computer?

    Cheers!
     

    Advertisement

  2. teppic74

    teppic74 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    441
    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2010

    Aug 7, 2010
    441
    146
    68
    Yes, but you need the Android sdk tools (adb, specifically).
     
    d.knight99 likes this.
  3. SUroot

    SUroot Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,123
    Posts:
    23,925
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    23,925
    5,305
    1,123
    UK Technical Lead; Desktop Support
    Riddlesden, West Yorkshire, UK
    Back it up with Astro and then transfer it from your sd card to your PC
     
    d.knight99 likes this.
  4. d.knight99

    d.knight99 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    265
    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010

    Apr 9, 2010
    265
    38
    63
    Student
    Bournemouth, UK
    Ah yeah that makes sense, cheers Dan.

    Teppic, I have the android SDK tools but I can't actually figure out how to use them to access the phone? Any pointers?
     
  5. teppic74

    teppic74 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    441
    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2010

    Aug 7, 2010
    441
    146
    68
    You need to run them at a command prompt (cmd.exe in Windows).
     
    d.knight99 likes this.
  6. SUroot

    SUroot Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,123
    Posts:
    23,925
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    23,925
    5,305
    1,123
    UK Technical Lead; Desktop Support
    Riddlesden, West Yorkshire, UK
    You have to open the command prompt at C:\Android-sdk-windows\tools then run adb shell
     
    d.knight99 likes this.
  7. d.knight99

    d.knight99 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    265
    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010

    Apr 9, 2010
    265
    38
    63
    Student
    Bournemouth, UK
    Thanks, got it working!
     
  8. sixtythree

    sixtythree Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    75
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2010

    Nov 13, 2010
    75
    2
    36
    There is a dir on my phone >am< it has all the apk files that I have downloaded over time. can i reinstall from this dir back on my phone?
     
  9. ianb11

    ianb11 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    513
    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2010

    Aug 29, 2010
    513
    13
    63
    How do you do that?
     
  10. SUroot

    SUroot Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,123
    Posts:
    23,925
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    23,925
    5,305
    1,123
    UK Technical Lead; Desktop Support
    Riddlesden, West Yorkshire, UK
    In Astro...
    Menu>tools>application manager
     
    ianb11 likes this.
  11. Rastaman-FB

    Rastaman-FB Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    6,113
    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2009

    Sep 11, 2009
    6,113
    1,010
    313
    UK
    you uninstall astro for being a cheeky sod adding adds when it came out of beta

    you install estrongs file explorer and love how you can also use lan for transfering files in shares

    you also press menu and application manager
     
  12. SUroot

    SUroot Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,123
    Posts:
    23,925
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    23,925
    5,305
    1,123
    UK Technical Lead; Desktop Support
    Riddlesden, West Yorkshire, UK

    yeah spose so. I used Astro in this exampl,e, as that's what I replied back then.

    Never used estrongs. Like astro as I know my way around it. Plus I block ads via hosts anyway, so dont get adds.

    I do hear estrong is good though and no extra module for network storage browsing.
     
  13. Rastaman-FB

    Rastaman-FB Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    6,113
    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2009

    Sep 11, 2009
    6,113
    1,010
    313
    UK
    i wont go back to astro
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...