1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Get optimus M into Recovery Mode

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by santia213, Sep 9, 2011.

  1. santia213

    santia213 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    111
    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2011

    Aug 11, 2011
    111
    52
    53
    well i wanted to flash a rom on my optimus but cant get into recovery mode
    i copied the flash img and the custom recovery into my sd card
    phone is rooted
    2.2
    i turned off phone
    pressed
    power + vdown + home until lg pops up
    and it show android and package streaming but then it goes and does a factory reset
    same goes when i try quickboot
     

    Advertisement

  2. new optimus

    new optimus Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    413
    Posts:
    4,205
    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2011

    Mar 10, 2011
    4,205
    1,459
    413
    Jax Fl
    Stock optimus has no real recovery, that just factory wipes it as you found out
    to put custom recovery on you need to use adb, from your computer, or terminal emulator from market.
     
  3. santia213

    santia213 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    111
    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2011

    Aug 11, 2011
    111
    52
    53
    ooh ok thanks are both easy to use or should i use one vs the other?
     
  4. new optimus

    new optimus Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    413
    Posts:
    4,205
    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2011

    Mar 10, 2011
    4,205
    1,459
    413
    Jax Fl
    adb is slightly easier as you can copy paste everything
    but you have to get it set up first.

    here is adb just unrar and it is in a folder ready to go.

    if your running vista or win7 just open the folder hold the shift key and right click and when the menu opens choose open command prompt here.

    http://localserver.no-ip.biz/Public/adb.rar
     
    santia213 likes this.
  5. santia213

    santia213 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    111
    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2011

    Aug 11, 2011
    111
    52
    53
    thank yeah im downloading it right now to do it via pc
     
  6. new optimus

    new optimus Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    413
    Posts:
    4,205
    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2011

    Mar 10, 2011
    4,205
    1,459
    413
    Jax Fl
    check my previous post I added the adb so you dont have to go through android sdk
     
  7. santia213

    santia213 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    111
    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2011

    Aug 11, 2011
    111
    52
    53
    thanks i was trying to figure out the sdk but got lost i will try your method
     
  8. new optimus

    new optimus Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    413
    Posts:
    4,205
    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2011

    Mar 10, 2011
    4,205
    1,459
    413
    Jax Fl
    do these commands one at a time, they have been altered to work with optimus M

    from the getitnow all in one recovery. so you dont have to type things out.

     
  9. santia213

    santia213 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    111
    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2011

    Aug 11, 2011
    111
    52
    53
    i get mount is not recognizeable command phone just has to be plugged in correct? and debugging enabled?
     
  10. new optimus

    new optimus Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    413
    Posts:
    4,205
    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2011

    Mar 10, 2011
    4,205
    1,459
    413
    Jax Fl
    yes usb debugging needs to be enabled
    and phone has to be connected, and you have to have the flash_image and the recovery image on your sd.

    when you download flash image it is zipped, that has to be unzipped.
     
  11. santia213

    santia213 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    111
    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2011

    Aug 11, 2011
    111
    52
    53
    both flash_image and recovery image are in sd card does the sd card need to formatted?

    usb storage should be off correct?
     
  12. new optimus

    new optimus Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    413
    Posts:
    4,205
    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2011

    Mar 10, 2011
    4,205
    1,459
    413
    Jax Fl
    usb storage should be off, and no dont format the sd card, it already is,
     
  13. new optimus

    new optimus Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    413
    Posts:
    4,205
    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2011

    Mar 10, 2011
    4,205
    1,459
    413
    Jax Fl
    you need to open adb, type in adb shell
    then when you have the
    $ you type
    $su
    on your phone you will get superuser pop up asking to allow

    then you will get
    #

    if you dont have # none of the other commands will work
     
  14. santia213

    santia213 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    111
    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2011

    Aug 11, 2011
    111
    52
    53
    i got this far but i have a different recovery img
     
  15. new optimus

    new optimus Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    413
    Posts:
    4,205
    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2011

    Mar 10, 2011
    4,205
    1,459
    413
    Jax Fl
    which image do you have?
     
  16. santia213

    santia213 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    111
    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2011

    Aug 11, 2011
    111
    52
    53
    recovery-thunderc-m-v1.2.0-GNM.img do you have link for the img in your code?

    im running android 2.2 if it matters?
     
  17. new optimus

    new optimus Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    413
    Posts:
    4,205
    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2011

    Mar 10, 2011
    4,205
    1,459
    413
    Jax Fl
    ok I got a link one sec.

    this is an all in one recovery it will work.
     
  18. new optimus

    new optimus Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    413
    Posts:
    4,205
    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2011

    Mar 10, 2011
    4,205
    1,459
    413
    Jax Fl
    santia213 likes this.
  19. santia213

    santia213 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    111
    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2011

    Aug 11, 2011
    111
    52
    53
  20. new optimus

    new optimus Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    413
    Posts:
    4,205
    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2011

    Mar 10, 2011
    4,205
    1,459
    413
    Jax Fl
  21. santia213

    santia213 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    111
    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2011

    Aug 11, 2011
    111
    52
    53
    doing a nandroid backup now so i can flash rom which do you recommend? you should do a quick tutorial! your directions were so much easier and helpful for a noob like me! lol
     
  22. new optimus

    new optimus Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    413
    Posts:
    4,205
    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2011

    Mar 10, 2011
    4,205
    1,459
    413
    Jax Fl
    lol my grammer sucks so bad I hate writing. and my spelling isnt much better, but thanks to spelling correction software its not so bad.

    I use teamchickeneater, its very stock like appearance, but fast.

    some like sense rom, its cool themed and all the goodies under the hood.

    then there is the cm7, gingerbread, few bugs but they are working on it and its pretty good.
     
  23. santia213

    santia213 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    111
    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2011

    Aug 11, 2011
    111
    52
    53
    well you certainly helped me! your directions were super easy to follow

    i gave sense rom a go just cuz i used to have an htc before! err its seeems stuck at the android logo
     
  24. new optimus

    new optimus Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    413
    Posts:
    4,205
    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2011

    Mar 10, 2011
    4,205
    1,459
    413
    Jax Fl
    couple things about sense rom it works best if you have your sd card partitioned for ext3 extended partition, as well as fat 32 for storage,
    and second you need to do a full wipe factory reset in recovery.
     
  25. santia213

    santia213 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    111
    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2011

    Aug 11, 2011
    111
    52
    53
    did a nand restore for now will give flashing a ago again once i get outta work and home

    edit: did a wipe and reflashed sense and it worked
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...