1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Getting a new evo this week (loose charging port problem)

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by jeremy.glenn87, May 30, 2011.

  1. jeremy.glenn87

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    37
    Joined:
    May 19, 2010

    May 19, 2010
    37
    2
    16
    So, Im getting a new evo because of the dreaded charging port problem that finally got me. I have a few questions...

    I assume when I boot it for the first time, I will have to root it like I did the evo I have now(unrevoked),
    but what were to happen with all of my apps, media, etc if i were to just swap my old sd card into the new evo... Would it work with all of the files and folders from the old sd card or would it create problems?

    If I try and load titanium backup will it be able to restore my apps and data?

    And would it be able to load a nandroid backup of my rom and kernel that I have loaded right now?

    I dont figure most of it will work, but im just checking here first to see if anyone has any experience with this...


    Thanks guys. :thinking:
     

    Advertisement

  2. ocnbrze

    ocnbrze DON'T PANIC!!!!!!!!!
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,923
    Posts:
    23,585
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    23,585
    14,428
    1,923
    Male
    being a flashaholic sponsor, helping others gettin
    los angeles
    I had to replace my evo because it would randomly reboot. as soon as i received my new evo (refurbished), i rooted it. i also originally took my old card out before handing it in and put it into the new (refurbished) evo. i used tb to restore all my apps and all was good. just make sure not to restore any system apps or data.

    as far as your old nandroids they will not work with your new phone as far as i know.
     
  3. uminchu

    uminchu Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    520
    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2009

    Oct 14, 2009
    520
    130
    93
    I got a replacement Evo last week (same problem as OP, dead USB), put the old card in, restored a Kings GB nandroid and all is well. Settings were all there, even the widgets worked. Didn't need to touch TB.
     
  4. evomattnc

    evomattnc Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    3,234
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011

    Feb 10, 2011
    3,234
    536
    213
    Mechanical Engineer for GE Nuclear
    NC
    We can probably get the old androids to work but you have to pull them apart because you can only restore certain parts. For instance we can't restore WiMAX etc. You have to be pretty comfortable to do this with terminal and your phone in general. It is generally considered not worth the hassle. Apps and media will transfer just fine though as everyone else outlined.
     
  5. TB question..i flash quite often and am always restoring with TB..i always use the batch option.but there were a couple occasions where it restored them all without having to hit install on each one..every other time i have to select install for each individual app...does anyone know what option is used to HANDSFREE RESTORE? lol "and laziness sets in".
     
  6. evomattnc

    evomattnc Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    3,234
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011

    Feb 10, 2011
    3,234
    536
    213
    Mechanical Engineer for GE Nuclear
    NC
    Need titanium pro for that...?
     
  7. jeremy.glenn87

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    37
    Joined:
    May 19, 2010

    May 19, 2010
    37
    2
    16
    So.. what would happen if i were to run a full batch restore all apps+data?
     
  8. ocnbrze

    ocnbrze DON'T PANIC!!!!!!!!!
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,923
    Posts:
    23,585
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    23,585
    14,428
    1,923
    Male
    being a flashaholic sponsor, helping others gettin
    los angeles
    should be ok, just do not restore system data. as it may contain old system data from your previous roms and your current rom will just get confused.
     
  9. Mr. Ed

    Mr. Ed Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    6,666
    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2010

    Jun 27, 2010
    6,666
    1,464
    313
    Phones
    Over Yonder
    batch without confirmation is only available with pro.

    as for the new phones..we will have to keep an eye out for what people are actually getting. as it was reported last week the new evos are shipping with 2.3.3 so we need to be very careful of what we suggest until we actually see what is on the phones out of the box


    now I assume these cases of phone replacement are refurb 003 or 004 hardware but who knows for sure what they are doing software wise.
     
  10. beastinbolts

    beastinbolts Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    822
    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2011

    Apr 16, 2011
    822
    92
    78
    not that this has any thing do with th op ? but I like mikekeso (aunt Jemima) also had flashed some roms where with out doing any thing my apps restored them self after just installing tb.????????????????? some of them I have to batch restore
     
  11. uminchu

    uminchu Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    520
    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2009

    Oct 14, 2009
    520
    130
    93
    My launch day HW002 Evo was replaced last Tues, 5/24, with HW004, HBoot 2.10 and Froyo.
     
  12. MizzouBrent

    MizzouBrent Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    2,852
    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2011

    Feb 13, 2011
    2,852
    2,518
    313
    Olathe, KS
    I am getting a replacement Evo thanks to rebooting issues. I'm keeping my fingers crossed for Froyo! Does anyone know if Gingerbread is shipping on all the new phones now?
     
  13. ocnbrze

    ocnbrze DON'T PANIC!!!!!!!!!
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,923
    Posts:
    23,585
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    23,585
    14,428
    1,923
    Male
    being a flashaholic sponsor, helping others gettin
    los angeles
    yeah i have heard from a few members here that they are starting to ship that way so cross your fingers that you are not one of them.
     
  14. MizzouBrent

    MizzouBrent Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    2,852
    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2011

    Feb 13, 2011
    2,852
    2,518
    313
    Olathe, KS
    Dang, well hopefully it will be Froyo. It's been right at a month since the initial release. I guess we'll see. I'll definitely report back.
     
  15. esthernrob

    esthernrob Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    133
    Posts:
    646
    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2011

    Feb 9, 2011
    646
    347
    133
    i deliver the nectar of the gods, BEER!
    Upstate, NY
    LOL - the avatar is "ANTOINE"... gotta do a youtube for antoine and watch his interview on the news... hilarious...

    :)
     
  16. botomgun

    botomgun Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    23
    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2010

    Jul 9, 2010
    23
    9
    16
    RI
    I recieved my replacement last week and it had GB (2.3.3) on it. I was pretty bummed about that for obvious reasons.

    But I once I loaded ADW on it, I was able to replicate my original phone almost perfectly! I can't make it look like any of the ROM's that I had installed and was using (and I was really liking MikG and CM7), nor can I remove the bloatware, but I can create an app drawer that has just the apps that I use. I do miss some of the root only apps. TB would have really been nice. I am not fond of having to replay Angry Birds and Slice It. I still have plenty of memory left and the phone is very snappy.

    That being said, I am still hoping for a root method in the future, but I don't think I will be as disappointed as I had originally thought I was going to be without one.
     
    ocnbrze likes this.
  17. MizzouBrent

    MizzouBrent Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    2,852
    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2011

    Feb 13, 2011
    2,852
    2,518
    313
    Olathe, KS
    Crap. I was really hoping for froyo. Oh well. I agree with you...using adw helps but I hope they find a root exploit soon.
     
  18. botomgun

    botomgun Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    23
    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2010

    Jul 9, 2010
    23
    9
    16
    RI
    I forgot to add that the mobile hot spot would really be nice to have back as well. That is a big plus of being rooted.
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...