1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

General getting ready

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Firebat138, May 18, 2010.

  1. Firebat138

    Firebat138 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    16
    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010

    Mar 26, 2010
    16
    0
    15
    so i am gonna take the plunge... 2.1 that is...

    I have my sms messages backed up and my contacts through google... gonna do the factory reset after the OTA... Anything else I should worry bout...

    Thanx

    Camper
     

    Advertisement

  2. Flyphoenix

    Flyphoenix Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    135
    Joined:
    May 14, 2010

    May 14, 2010
    135
    5
    56
    Nope everything else will be fine the thing I was confused about was when I my phone restarted after installing the upgrade a window popped up with my youtube account asking for the password that didn't work so I deleted it. It didn't understand why they made a youtube account log in.
     
  3. Frisco

    Frisco =Luceat Lux Vestra=
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,343
    Posts:
    22,479
    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010

  4. Firebat138

    Firebat138 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    16
    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010

    Mar 26, 2010
    16
    0
    15
    ok... how do i reload my contacts from google again
     
  5. mc48

    mc48 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    480
    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010

    Jan 17, 2010
    480
    36
    43
    so. east, usa
    settings>accounts&sync>google. Or you can sync all your accounts..fb, flickr, google, twitter, weather.
     
  6. Firebat138

    Firebat138 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    16
    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010

    Mar 26, 2010
    16
    0
    15
    oops... i mean sms backup.. i used it to back them up, but how do i get them back in
     
  7. cableguynoe

    cableguynoe Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    2,030
    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2010

    Mar 30, 2010
    2,030
    264
    163
    I'm a cableguy....really
    Monterey, CA
    I believe they also sync just like your contacts. They will just reapper after a sync.
     
  8. xx_bishop_xx

    xx_bishop_xx Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,311
    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009

    Dec 18, 2009
    1,311
    173
    163
    Texas
    This should happen automatically when your phone initializes. In theory, of course.
     
  9. Firebat138

    Firebat138 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    16
    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010

    Mar 26, 2010
    16
    0
    15
    do i have to use htc sync.. i have xp 64 and it is not compatible
     
  10. xx_bishop_xx

    xx_bishop_xx Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,311
    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009

    Dec 18, 2009
    1,311
    173
    163
    Texas

    Sorry, didn't catch the "SMS backup" part. I don't use that application, but, the backup should be stored on your memory card; perhaps you gave the backup file a name. There should be a "Restore" option. Then point to the file on your card.

    The backup is stored in the SMSBackupRestore folder of the SD Card (/sdcard/SMSBackupRestore).
     
  11. Firebat138

    Firebat138 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    16
    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010

    Mar 26, 2010
    16
    0
    15
    nope... cant find a restore option anywhere... i have them ALL in my gmail acct. anyone know how to get them off and on the phone...thanx
     
  12. cableguynoe

    cableguynoe Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    2,030
    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2010

    Mar 30, 2010
    2,030
    264
    163
    I'm a cableguy....really
    Monterey, CA
    In your SMSbackup settings,
    do your have your gmail address and password entered?

    I recently flashed a new rom, and shortly after my text messages loaded automatically... i didn't have to do anything.
     
  13. Firebat138

    Firebat138 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    16
    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010

    Mar 26, 2010
    16
    0
    15
    yup... and now on another not, when I go to call someone I have two numbers for everyone... lol
     
  14. cableguynoe

    cableguynoe Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    2,030
    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2010

    Mar 30, 2010
    2,030
    264
    163
    I'm a cableguy....really
    Monterey, CA
    That happened to me also.
    I believe it's a glitch between google contacts and your backup app.
    Whenever doing a restore from your backup app, don't restore contacts... and they will be restored after your phone syncs to Google.

    I think the only fix if going through them one by one. Unless someone knows of an easier fix.

    I did in my gmal-contact, on my computer.
     

Share This Page

Loading...