1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

== Getting Started == Moving from Nokia to Samsung

Discussion in 'Android Lounge' started by ronnie_ronnie, Sep 27, 2011.

1. ronnie_ronnie

ronnie_ronnie Lurker
    None

Sep 27, 2011
    Hyderabad - India
    Hello All...
    I had been using Nokia E61i for 4 years now and moving to Samsung Galaxy Pro .. (Pls dont diss Gal Pro as its a gift).. Though I got the new phone a week ago, am yet to get started and hence need expert opinion/help. Please be aware, I dont understand hitech-lingos and steps. So help me with simpler ways :) ..

1. Transfering Contacts: All my contacts are currently saved on 512mb MicroSD card on Nokia. How do I transfer them to 2GB MicroSD of Galaxy Pro

2. Text Messages:I have some 2000 texts messages which are very special. How do I transfer them from 512mb MicroSD card on Nokia to 2GB MicroSD of Galaxy Pro

3. Rooting: I read a bit about 'rooting' on this forum. As much as I understood, I guess it applies to those handsets which is under contract with a specific Telecom company. But here in India, such thing doesnt exist. Do I still need to 'Root'. If Yes, then Why and How

4. Transfering Pictures/Videos: I hav e some 3 videos and 4 music files. How do I transfer them from 512mb MicroSD card on Nokia to 2GB MicroSD of Galaxy

5. How to get started with Apps: You can figure, I know very little about apps. So need help here.. But first of all, I assume, an app for Facebook or Twitter primarily means I need not keep on refreshing it like I do on Nokia through GPRS and all notifications, tweets gets updated by itself periodically.. Am I correct..?

What I wanna know is
    (a) Twitter : Currently on my Nokia, I cant 'Reply All', Edit/add something when I Retweet. On Samsung, is it possible, If Yes, then how
    (b) Facebook : How do I get a Facebook application where the notidicarions pop-up by itself like it happens on laptop