1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Ghost Alarm Clock

Discussion in 'Android Apps & Games' started by DenverEric, Oct 25, 2011.

  1. DenverEric

    DenverEric Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    25
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2011

    Oct 25, 2011
    6
    0
    25
    Denver, Colorado
    Hi All,
    I just spent the last half hour reading through alarm clock issues and none were like mine. I am annoyed and perplexed by what is going on and would appreciate help if anyone has any ideas.

    Problem:

    I used to use the standard Android alarm clock app for my alarm. I had an alarm set for 6:00am M-F. I deleted that alarm when I installed a better alarm clock app.

    Even though the alarm is deleted (there are no alarms set in the standard android alarm), the alarm icon shows up in my status bar and the alarm goes off on its own. It is like I didn't delete it. It goes off M-F at 6:00am, even when I am on vacation. :mad:

    If I open the app, the alarm icon goes away for a few minutes but inevitably comes back on its own. :thinking:

    How can I kill my old alarm?

    Thanks,
    Eric
    Motorola Droid 2 with Android Version 2.3.3
     

    Advertisement

  2. Petrah

    Petrah Psychotic Female
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    333
    Posts:
    4,085
    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2011

    Jun 13, 2011
    4,085
    1,466
    333
    Female
    Annoying my X-Husband
    Hanover Park, IL
    Did you try reinstalling the old alarm app, deleting the alarm, and uninstalling again?

    No clue otherwise. :(
     
  3. DenverEric

    DenverEric Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    25
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2011

    Oct 25, 2011
    6
    0
    25
    Denver, Colorado
    The problem is in the default Android alarm app, so I can't uninstall it without rooting my phone, which I have not done.
     
  4. AngryHatter

    AngryHatter Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    973
    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2011

    Jan 21, 2011
    973
    92
    78
    QA Admin
    SoCal
    Clear cache and data?
     
  5. DenverEric

    DenverEric Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    25
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2011

    Oct 25, 2011
    6
    0
    25
    Denver, Colorado
    The clear cache button was greyed out but I was able to clear data. So far it looks like it might have worked. I'll know at 6:00am tomorrow.

    Thanks!
     
  6. DenverEric

    DenverEric Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    25
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2011

    Oct 25, 2011
    6
    0
    25
    Denver, Colorado
    Didn't work. The alarm came back on and went off this morning at 6:00am as usual even though it is not on the alarm list and I cleared the app data.
     
  7. 2manyPHONES

    2manyPHONES Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,820
    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2010

    Jul 26, 2010
    1,820
    326
    163
    NY & TX
    Have you tried a battery pull? Or readding the alarm and deleting it again?

    This is a strange issue. I don't want to suggest a reset cause thats just a pain and im not 100% sure that will fix it.
     
  8. DenverEric

    DenverEric Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    25
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2011

    Oct 25, 2011
    6
    0
    25
    Denver, Colorado
    Yes, I have tried both. Battery pull did not do anything.

    Adding and removing the alarm makes the icon go away in the status bar (like there are no scheduled alarms). However, after a few minutes it just shows back up.

     

Share This Page

Loading...