1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Gin-Sen-Tazz: a Gingerbread, Sense ROM

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by doogald, May 19, 2011.

  1. doogald

    doogald Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #47
    Points:
    483
    Posts:
    6,699
    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010

    Jan 7, 2010
    6,699
    1,930
    483
    Tazzpatriot is working on a Gingerbread based port of a Hero ROM (which was itself a port of an HTC Magic/G1 port of an HTC Wildfire S build) with the full Sense launcher. As of this morning, a lot seems to work: the camera included!

    I haven't tried it yet, because I need to have WiFi (that's one of the things that does not work). Has anybody else?

    (WIP) Gin-Sen-Tazz beta-2-5/18/11-GINGER SENSE -camera fixed !! - xda-developers

    (Good screenshots are here, in the Magic thread: [Rom][32A][6.35] sfm 1.0 (New HTC LockScreen) (HTC Android 2.3.3) (12 May 2011) - xda-developers )
     

    Advertisement

  2. jhewit22

    jhewit22 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    223
    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2010

    Mar 15, 2010
    223
    4
    56
    Graphic Designer
    Erie, PA
    What are the major advantages of using a Sense GB rom over something like GSB 3.3 or any other GB rom??
     
  3. doogald

    doogald Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #47
    Points:
    483
    Posts:
    6,699
    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010

    Jan 7, 2010
    6,699
    1,930
    483
    Remember that the Eris was designed to run Sense. It may be that some features will be more compatible with Sense. Again, I haven't tried this ROM, but with stock, when you dial *228 you get a button that can open the keypad, for pressing 1 or 2 to activate or update PRLs. You can program the phone with ##PST. You can wake the phone in a speakerphone or BT call with a press of the trackball rather than having to hold VolUp while you press Send. Many people prefer the Sense launcher to stock Android, and the Sense dialer as well.

    If you don't like Sense, this won't be for you. And it is a port, rather than being written for the Eris, so there may be some things that never work. That's how it was with 2.2 based Sense ROMs, at least so far.
     
  4. jhewit22

    jhewit22 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    223
    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2010

    Mar 15, 2010
    223
    4
    56
    Graphic Designer
    Erie, PA
    I liked having Sense on my Eris until I rooted! :) Don't think I'll go back at this point..maybe I'll try it for fun though!
     
  5. metlcat

    metlcat Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    547
    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2010

    Oct 24, 2010
    547
    221
    93
    Law School Student
    I might give this a try next week now that my finals are over(beer takes priority right now). I doubt I'll keep it, but it would be fun to play around with it.
     
  6. scotty85

    scotty85 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,413
    Posts:
    11,139
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010

    Jul 25, 2010
    11,139
    7,418
    1,413
    ill be downloading as soon as i get home. :D this lookz to be the rom/port we were discussing on the condemned thread.
     
  7. Bob Cat

    Bob Cat Careful, They're sharp!!
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    513
    Posts:
    7,046
    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2010

    Nov 17, 2010
    7,046
    4,288
    513
    Midland's, South Carolina
    Ill be giving her a go too. :D
     
  8. scotty85

    scotty85 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,413
    Posts:
    11,139
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010

    Jul 25, 2010
    11,139
    7,418
    1,413
    downloading now :D
     
  9. scotty85

    scotty85 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,413
    Posts:
    11,139
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010

    Jul 25, 2010
    11,139
    7,418
    1,413
    dammit! in my excitement i forgot to do any wipes :eek:

    wiped,and reflashing :D

    edit:
    well,it runs :D

    actually seems pretty smooth. app drawer opens and closes ok,the pull down is smooth and you can pick notifications or quick settings. the personalize button works,and both of the skins that are there work. camera does in fact work :cool:

    i cant test much else until wifi gets fixed so i can sign into my account :(

    you sense fans definately need to keep your eyeballs peeled on this one. if he can get everything fixed thats broken,and it remain fairly smooth,this will be an impressive rom.
     
  10. cmajpwc

    cmajpwc Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    269
    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2010

    Apr 22, 2010
    269
    4
    36
    This is very cool. I was missing Sense and wanted to try something a bit different from GSB, so this looks like it's gonna be what I'm running for a while. It seems very smooth, especially for a beta release. I have a data plan, though, so I won't be needing WiFi for this rom to work for me.
     
  11. doogald

    doogald Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #47
    Points:
    483
    Posts:
    6,699
    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010

    Jan 7, 2010
    6,699
    1,930
    483
    I have a data plan, too, but crappy, battery-sucking 3G service at home. WiFi is a must.

    I'm fairly patient, though. Hopefully Tazz will get these small issue worked out soon.
     
  12. scotty85

    scotty85 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,413
    Posts:
    11,139
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010

    Jul 25, 2010
    11,139
    7,418
    1,413
    ive also got a data plan. but i need wifi to play with it cause my lil buddy isnt my active phone :eek: i was almost curious enuff to switch service back to it to check it out a little more indepth. if wifi worked it seemed smooth enuff to use daily to me... if it doesnt start slowing down over time as it seems alot of sense roms do.

    the hero guys are devoted,fo sho. :) there isnt anything like this rom for the incredible yet... i think its pretty sweet it works as well as it does. :cool:
     
  13. doogald

    doogald Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #47
    Points:
    483
    Posts:
    6,699
    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010

    Jan 7, 2010
    6,699
    1,930
    483
    Beta 3 is out with working WiFi. I'll probably flash this in the next day or two.
     
  14. scotty85

    scotty85 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,413
    Posts:
    11,139
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010

    Jul 25, 2010
    11,139
    7,418
    1,413
    awsome! it figures... ive prolly checked it no less than 5 times since early this morning. :eek:

    downloading now :cool:
     
  15. scotty85

    scotty85 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,413
    Posts:
    11,139
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010

    Jul 25, 2010
    11,139
    7,418
    1,413
    up and running,wifi is indeed working. it was extemely sluggish while it synced,but does seem to be smoothing out. its done with the sycn and market app download,im in the process of manually downloading some others so i can restore the others and see how it works.

    the 3.0 lockscreen is working,and is effin sweet :cool: quick settings tab in the pulldown is also workin,and pretty slick.

    will report more wen ive had a chance to set it up and test some other stuff.

    like i said,if it remains fairly smooth,you sense fans are gonna love it :D
     
  16. doogald

    doogald Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #47
    Points:
    483
    Posts:
    6,699
    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010

    Jan 7, 2010
    6,699
    1,930
    483
    One of the reasons that I have been running xtrSENSE so much lately is to see whether I can happily upgrade to a stock* Sense build for my next phone - say, the DInc 2 (or even the TBolt.) And, based on the last week or two, yes, I know I can. Right now I am back to CSCM7v7 (with a V8 on the todo list to flash) for either the next week or until I try out this one for a bit.

    * - Note sure if y'all caught the news that the new Android movie rental service will not be available for rooted phone. Google will block any phone that has root. This isn't a big deal to me, really, but I wonder if we will see more of stuff like this going forward?
     
  17. scotty85

    scotty85 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,413
    Posts:
    11,139
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010

    Jul 25, 2010
    11,139
    7,418
    1,413
    Hmm... That's interestng. Id be willing to bet that it will get hacked just like anything else... It defnately makes me sad to think things are becoming less developer friendly. :(

    But as far as the movie rental... Yes,I can live without that. ;)
     
  18. doogald

    doogald Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #47
    Points:
    483
    Posts:
    6,699
    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010

    Jan 7, 2010
    6,699
    1,930
    483
    I'll take a trade - give me a phone that is locked and unrooted but without the carrier-loaded garbage apps, or at least the ability to remove them, and I definitely won't root the phone. You do that with the iPhone, Verizon Wireless .... just give us the choice.

    (To be honest, I'm hoping that I don't have to root my next phone.)

    I understand the movie thing - they know that a rooted device would be a cinch to get whatever DRM encryption key that they use to decrypt the movie file as it is played on the device.
     
    Bob Cat likes this.
  19. Bob Cat

    Bob Cat Careful, They're sharp!!
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    513
    Posts:
    7,046
    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2010

    Nov 17, 2010
    7,046
    4,288
    513
    Midland's, South Carolina
    If I want to watch a movie it won't be on a 4.3in screen it'll be on a 60in big screen. :D
    Also I'll wait for my next phone to be rooted with CM before I buy it. After having my Eris rooted for so long it was just a day or two before rooting the Dinc I have now. After having CM for so long I just couldn't personally deal with stock sense.
     
  20. scotty85

    scotty85 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,413
    Posts:
    11,139
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010

    Jul 25, 2010
    11,139
    7,418
    1,413
    yeah i can understand they dont want people to be able to take the movies for free and not legitimately rent them. im 100% fine with that,hopefully thats where it ends. thats what i love about android and hate about apple-open source. i like that developers are free to take the published source code and do what they will with it.

    BC its really cool being on board with a device from its release. it was a thrill when the root exploits were first discovered,and i like that i have posts on the very first page of the TB all things root forum. nothing wrong with running a stock device if it meets your needs and rooting/roming isnt a hobby. i by no means needed to root my TB to make it work acceptably. but i enjoy it. and it will let me run my choice of software on it(cm7)

    i kind of enjoy sense roms when i only have to run them for a couple days at a time :D but with no AOSP to go back to,it is a lil fustrating. ive started using handcent to make my mms look like AOSP,i use either swiftkey or the GB keyboard. i run ADW launcher. with the exception of contacts and email, and the "pretty" icons(like people instead of contacs) my phone looks kinda AOSPy,but its still not the same. at least the leak gave me GB. :cool:

    i cant wait until they get the RIL figured out so that the TB will have nightly builds. right now it runs,but its kind of hacked and full of workarounds to try and hold people over. i run it every few days for a day or 2,but it drinks the battery like you wouldnt believe :eek:

    BC,i wouldnt wait until your device has working CM7. while the lack of it is a lil fustrating,it will come. waiting to get the device isnt gonna make it come any faster ;) its gonna be another big rush for me when nightlys start rollin. flashin the newest nightly was always the highlight of my day on the inc,lol

    its my understanding that slayher is pretty much the only one workin on it,so its goin a little slow.its hard,but im bein patiend because i 100% appreciate his efforts. the work hes doing should make it go much faster for 4g phones in the future :cool:
     
  21. doogald

    doogald Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #47
    Points:
    483
    Posts:
    6,699
    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010

    Jan 7, 2010
    6,699
    1,930
    483
    I chose not to log in during setup (on my third try) and that made things much, much easier. In fact, the stupid market was restoring apps that I uninstalled ages ago. What a pain in the butt.

    Right now I have TiBu restoring most of my apps. I should be up and running in about 45 minutes or so, with all settings pages visited, SetCPU set up (haven't used that in a while.)

    That I do not like. It's too quirky. The Froyo Nexus tab has always been my favorite unlocker.
     
  22. scotty85

    scotty85 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,413
    Posts:
    11,139
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010

    Jul 25, 2010
    11,139
    7,418
    1,413
    over all its fairly smooth when scrolling the home screens,the pulldown,and opening/closing the app drawer. it switches from notifications to quick settings fairly quickly,and to most frequented,and downloaded in the app drawer.

    however...

    it sometimes takes a few seconds to load the launcher and homescreen icons back in when you wake it up. i even bumped up my min to 480 to see if it would help any.

    longpressing the screen takes forever for the add menu to appear so you can select a shortcut or widget. most apps run pretty smooth,but take a few seconds to open. the htc keyboard is a lil laggy,but not bad,and i havent tried swiftkey yet.

    it is daily driveable if you dont mind the lag,but if your picky it might not be for you just yet.

    overall im still really impressed... this is a port of a port of a really complex rom that i never thot the lil eris would run. i hope he can get it running super smooth and really polished up :cool:
     
  23. doogald

    doogald Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #47
    Points:
    483
    Posts:
    6,699
    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010

    Jan 7, 2010
    6,699
    1,930
    483
    I pulled it until I can spend enough time figuring out how to keep the launcher from restarting. Apparently it can be done with this (though see this and this for some more info.)

    Swiftkey I tried just briefly and it was fine. Adding items to homescreens is a lot faster if you use the paintbrush icon in the lower right of the taskbar.
     
  24. tazzpatriot

    tazzpatriot Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2010

    Sep 14, 2010
    4
    4
    6
    guys if u run this rom,,, formatt ur card,, seems to help ,, also,, there is something called supercharger i think,, people are running itr and they say it helps with the sense resetting
     
    scotty85 and doogald like this.
  25. doogald

    doogald Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #47
    Points:
    483
    Posts:
    6,699
    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010

    Jan 7, 2010
    6,699
    1,930
    483
    Yeah, I am planning to restore this tonight, apply the supercharge scripts (those are the links in my post above yours), and try going through the day tomorrow.

    I've also seen in the xda thread that installing the Verizon Messages app https://market.android.com/details?id=com.verizon.messaging.vzmsgs&feature=search_result and sending a single message seems to fix MMS issues as well. Apparently you can uninstall the app after sending a message.

    Thanks.
     

Share This Page

Loading...